We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay, Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We booked this propery through SLH.com (Small Luxury Hotels). The location on Ocean Drive was excellent being right across from the beach and well within walking distance to Lincoln Road where many of the restaurants and boutique shops are situated. Our suite at the Betsy, although not overly spacious, was extremely clean and comfortable. The entire staff was genuinely warm, friendly and knowledgable.
We very much enjoyed the cozy lobby and porch area. Live music and great conversation with the diverse guests made our time there very enjoyable.
Consistent with many of our stays at boutique properties offered through SLH, the lobby and hallways at the Betsy are adorned with artwork which makes one feel as if they are wondering through an art gallery.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,852 - 1,858 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Most hotel's on Ocean suffer from noise from the constant Party that is Miami Beach from bars, bands and from noise from the street. This gem is on the North end Of Ocean provides all the location you would ever need. Faantastic lobby w live music on Thursday.... Very good restaurant in the form of BLT. Rooms are small, but clean and attractive. Pool area acceptable ( not well maintained w leaves in the water... And not heated... Upside is that nobody goes there)..... We will definately go back

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glengariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Betsy for 7 days in early November 2011 and on the whole had a great time there. We were in Miami because of work and so we weren't paying the bill which I suppose could affect this review, but I still hope to be as objective as possible.

I may as well get the downsides out of the way (of which there are few). Yes it's true, the rooms aren't the biggest nor are they the most modern. But the bed is so, so, sooooo comfy and the room is clean and more than adequate. Miami being the hot, vibrant city it is means that you don't need a huge room; you just want it to be comfortable and homely which it is.

Facilities at the hotel are pretty good. The pool is nice enough and the roof terrace is great; a lovely view to the beach, great background music, comfy beds and a decent bar service. Lovely! It would be just about perfect if the pool was on the roof terrace too, but the fact that it isn't is not the end of the world.

Service in the hotel was excellent. We didn't test the service too much (as in we didn't use the concierge etc), but we ate and drank there many times and found the food and drink service to be spot on . Special mention should go to Tony on the door who goes out of his way to help whilst also being a genuinely nice guy.

The food is also very good. Portion sizes are stupidly big, but I guess that's America for you. What you get however is tasty, though I suppose fairly simple.But that's the sort of food you want in a hotel, so it's perfect.

For me however, the best thing about the hotel is it's general vibe. It's a lovely, colonial building amongst a sea of art deco/neon tack. As a result, it's such a pleasure just being there! Sitting on the front terrace, grabbing some food or having a drink and watching the wackos of Miami beach drift by is such a pleasure and you start to notice that most people walking past the hotel look enviously at it as if they wished they were staying there. And I can't blame them, because it's a pretty great hotel in a great spot on SOBE. Don't be afraid to book here; it's a very good hotel.

Room Tip: We had a standard pool room which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yumyum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

All the other review's are very accurate,this is place is very classy . i keep asking myself why i didnt give it five star's ,maybe because the room's are a bit small (very nicely decorated,like the whole establishment) . we paid 300 dollars a night,this is a fair price,during off season can be cheaper thus a good deal,at peak season the price rockets,personally speaking would probably avoid then.

Hope this helps !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TERRY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

we went the first weekend of october. even thou it was raining the entire weekend everyone at the hotel was super nice and attentive. we had an excelent room. spacious. we had room service. food came quick and was really good. Adnan was very helpful at the front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tersa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear Tersa,

Thank you for your kind words - I would pass them along to Adnan at the Front Desk but most of our staff read Tripadvisor reviews regularly themselves, so I am sure he has already seen your comment! Our Guest reviews are so important, and we always appreciate your taking your own valuable time to post your impressions!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at The Betsy for 4 nights, and althugh the weather could have been better and we could have used more of the facilities - pool, beach etc it was still a very enjoyable experience. the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms very good - the only thing missing was a coffee maker, but not the end of the world.
Would definately recommend as the location is excellent.

Room Tip: they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for choosing The Betsy - South Beach for your recent getaway. We really appreciate you comments and we will share them with our staff.

I am sorry to read last week’s unseasonal rain prevented you from enjoying some of our best features including the roof deck and spa, our beach amenities and sidewalk dinning at BLT Steak. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travel plans include Miami Beach, so I can take personal care of your experience

Sincere Regards,
Ed Ponder
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

the betsy is a mew jem in town. the location is perfect, the colonial style nice (at least not another cold design hotel in miami). the room a little small, but cosy.
malin+goetz amenities in room, white marble bathroom. the breakfast was served on a patio facing ocean drive and was a rich meal. i enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,670 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,962 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,644 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,946 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £209 - £770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing