We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SoBe Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #12 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SoBe Gem”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We enjoyed two exquisite nights at The Betsy. The reservation staff, all the way up to the General Manager, Mr. Lehman, confirmed and ensured our requested weekend arrival dates to celebrate my wife's birthday. There was a hand written card expressing the hotel's warm wishes, accompanied by a complimentary bottle of champagne. The hotel is beautiful. We enjoyed a suite, which was elegantly decorated. Accommodations, service, friendliness; all were first class!
The location was perfect. Everything within walking distance. Chairs and service was provided across the street on the beach. I would not stay anywhere else in the South Beach area. We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: We requested the 3rd floor location, which was quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    487
    151
    60
    32
See reviews for
500
1,210
97
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We loved the Besty! Great location, great rooms, great buzz. Breakfast on the terrace at the front of the hotel was cool. Great things to eat and to see as the world walks, jogs and runs past in various outfits and with various animals.

A colonial feel, muted shades and dark wood - for when you tire of the art deco colours and lights that South Beach is famous for.

Not all rooms can face the ocean - and we had a cute junior suite (upgrade free as SLH members) which had a decent - not large - bedroom and a great little dressing room / sitting room. All the amenities you would expect.

Very helpful staff - got my iPhone and iPad working with their wifi - no problems! Oh, yes FREE wifi!

BLT STEAK is the hotel restaurant - good food, simply presented and great service - just what you would expect. (BLT does not stand for bacon lettuce and tomato but in fact Bistro Laurent Tourondel!). http://www.zagat.com/r/blt-steak-miami-beach

Cab from airport a fixed city rate - well priced and quick.

We booked the hotel through the SLH web site with the lowest price guarantee. As it happens we saw a lower price a little later and SHL kept the guarantee and the hotel even discounted the room further as an apology. As we say above we even got the SLH upgrade too.

Recommend - book via SLH the guarantee is real.
http://www.slh.com/destinations/americas/usa/miami-beach/the-betsy-hotel/

Room Tip: Try a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We picked The Betsy for a stop-over night enroute to the Caribbean. The staff were amazing and very welcoming. The hotel is just a 20 - 25 minute taxi ride from the airport and is ideally situated so that even if you only have one evening to spare, you can enjoy the beach, stroll along Ocean Drive, enjoy the Art Deco of the neighbourhood, do some shopping and have some fabulous restaurants to choose from. We were made to feel so important that we contacted the front desk manager on our return through Miami and he was able to accomodate our one night request at a reasonable rate. We were made to feel like valued returning guests rather than another traveller looking for a good deal. On both occasions our rooms were great - one looking over a side street and one looking over the pool. We enjoyed a drink at the roof top bar and had one breakfast which was included in our room rate. The breakfast was not huge - pastries and fruit - but enough to get the day underway. Would definitely recommend the Betsy to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whistlertraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We've just returned to the UK after a week long stay at The Betsy. Overall our experience was great, everything we wanted in a relaxing holiday at a top class hotel and we've tried others in Miami in previous years. Highlights are the staff who are warm, welcoming, polite and friendly. We felt that our business was important to the hotel, not just another corporate guest or weekender passing through.
Our room was a second floor poolside suite. Very comfortable, quiet, well equipped and always immaculately serviced. On balanced, I think I would have preferred an ocean view, perhaps not as quiet but more to see.
We dined once in the restaurant in the evening. Food was very competent and reliable, service excellent. But for us it lacked a little imagination and relied heavily on its well sourced large protein dishes of steak and fish. Not much finesse but very well executed. Lunches were much more pleasurable with the sushi being top class, especially the coconut macadamia shrimp roll - delicious.
Staff and management are keen to ensure you are happy and well looked after. We could not fault their attention and the competence of all the staff.
If I could make a couple of constructive suggestions they would be:
- Make the bar much more lively and more of a destination point. With the exception of the chap from India, the bartenders were dull and lacking imagination. On our first night we were categorised as Brits who would want a white wine and a G&T - far from it!
- include a note with turn down showing the following day's weather, restaurant specials, spa offers, recommended trips, cultural opportunities etc.
- get the staff to know longer stay guests' names and use them. A personal touch is always appreciated.
- don't let the Concierge over promise and under deliver.
The above might sound negative, it's not meant to be - far from it. Overall we had a great stay and would not hesitate to return to the Betsy and recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Poolside are quiet but you can't see the sky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mags W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Two evenings of jazz, an afternoon recital of African-American traditional and Broadway spirituals written by Jewish composers on MLK day surrounded by newly discovered photos of the Beatles and Rolling Stones' early days in a beautifully designed tropical lobby/salon surpassed all expectations. This weekend will forever raise my standards for first class hotel destinations. Met Ms. Deborah Plutzik Briggs who curates the arts program and events - a brilliant differentiator to attract the discerning guest who seeks expansive cultural experiences during their travels. Doormen and staff were consistently welcoming, helpful and eager.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Fph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear FPH1,

Thank you for your visit last month, and for taking the time to write your review of the Betsy. In particular, it was great to read your response to our cultural programming - these aspects of the hotel are laboriously and lovingly curated - and we get great response to them, although not all the time in TripAdvisor. Stay tuned, more is coming, each and every month at the Betsy! If you are not already receiving our monthly Arts Email, please let me know and I will be happy to add you to the growing list!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I don't know about other hotels but Betsy was just awesome. The rooms were Higenenic, neat, well
prepared with readable books, and the staffs are very supportive. The hotel has a beautiful pool and extra service on the beach right in front of the hotel.Very convinently located in front of the south beach with coconut grooves in front and easy to get to the city airport . The restaurant has some amazing food options. The most interesting and distinctive aspect of Betsy is its consciousnesses towards mature art and culture. Art shows, presentations, performance, conferences makes it really different form the rest. Supporting young artists and giving them a chance to perform is another appreciative effort. Wishing Betsy Hotel and the Betsy Family with best wishes.

Room Tip: I din't try the SPA so I don't know how to rate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Unni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Unni K,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to see that you had a good time while at the Betsy, taking advantage of how much more we have to offer than many hotels, while retaining our intimate, friendly ambiance! We truly believe that the arts are a transformative force in the community, and support the existing and emerging arts world in Miami Beach quite strongly!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We have stayed at various hotels in South Beach including the Ritz and Loews. The Betsy is the absolute best and sets the standards for the others. The entire staff makes you feel like family. Thomas at curb reception stands out but all (Front Desk, House Keeping, Concierge, Deck Service, Wait Staff) are terrific. BLT is superb. The decor is just right. What could be better than The Betsy?

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear William C.,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review. I alway know when Guests have found the true power of the Betsy when they mention the staff by name, as you have. Our team here is very dedicated to the spirit of hospitality - and it is always good to hear when we have hit our desired mark! We look forward to your return visits in the future - our Repeat Guest list is growing and growing!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing