We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living up to the expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Living up to the expectations”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Not so much to say about the well-respected Betsy:

Pros:
The atmosphere of the Betsy is priceless and you will really feel at home very quickly but to illustrate the feeling:
-over the top service at the BLT, good food even for the breakfast (best madeleines ever on Sobe!!)
-very very accommodating staff of the Hotel, super concierge (I got an unexpected jet ski tour from them… really unexpected!),
-free fast wi-fi,
-small but intimate swimming pool,
-fantastic roof-top,
-awesome wine and cocktails selection at the bar,
-books at the bar and in rooms give it away… this hotel is for savvy and open minded people
-nice rooms although quite small.

Cons:
-Expensive but when you think though its pricing its quite cheap compared to its competitiors in standing (Ritz, Setai, Delano…) which are consistently more expensive and much less sophisticated

In a nutshell TOP NOTCH hotel on Ocean Drive one block away from its craziness.

Pricey but if you strike a good deal it is a MUST – if you cannot afford it there is numerous fall back options but try to stay at Betsy one night you might fall in love ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WetWillie_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    476
    148
    59
    29
See reviews for
492
1,192
96
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I went to the Betsy with my mother for two nights in October. It was a wonderful hotel - the service was great, and the hotel was very elegant and had a lovely atmosphere. Our room was a classic double - clean, super comfortable beds and just enough space. The location was great and only a short walk from Lincoln Road, Collins Avenue etc. However, I feel that it wasn't worth the money. I'm not a fussy traveller at all, but compared to other hotels in the same area that are cheaper and, in my opinion, just as good or even better, it cost a lot more than it should have. Also, when we booked the hotel the price was about $500 (for two nights), but when we arrived we were told that the full price of our stay was nearly $1000 - twice the price we first were told it would be! We agreed to pay anyway, but it definitely cost more than it was worth - at least to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Betsy and just wish we could have stayed longer. Brilliant location, very helpful friendly staff, roof terrace is lovely.

A very calm hotel in the middle of manic South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

So far our stay at the Betsy has been great. On-line the rooms look a lot bigger but overall the hotel is nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The BLT restaurant was great but again pricey. You cant beat the location, right across from the beach. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel is the discerning travels best choice in South Beach. In the midst of brash it is an oasis of class and service. The lobby bar and restaurant are out of architectural digest and the food at their BLT restaurant is innovative yet classic. Don't miss their famous popovers with a cut of Kobe beef. Ideally situated right on the ocean for swimming The Betsy has a rooftop zen-like garden with a view of the ocean and comfortable chaise lounges to sun yourself. The service is top notch with competence and warmth. After a night out dancing and drinking with the hordes it is heaven to go home to the safety and luxury of The Betsy.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCanadian144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just got back from a great 5 day visit to The Betsy. It is in a fabulous location at the end of Ocean Drive just far enough away (abt. 1 block) from the craziness of the rest of the road. It's just across the street from the beach, and I loved having access to a beach chair and umbrella. The staff was amazing and friendly and they even brought me a little treat to enjoy as I had mentioned I was there celebrating my birthday. I loved the evening music in the lobby each night and the roof top deck had plenty of space to sit back and relax with a pre-dinner drink. I'm definitely looking forward to my return trip in the fall!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper like me be sure and ask for a room not located along the alley way. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasfight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great location, great staff, cool roof terrace, nice vibe. Really good spot at the end of Art Deco drive. Fantastic photo exhibition of rare Rolling Stones and Beatles prints. Great little library which was useful as I had a night flight out and needed somewhere to hang out.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the pool which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Houghmeister2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,306 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,579 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
3,393 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,862 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing