We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended option for South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #11 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Past experience proved to me that you can't expect to stay on South Beach, with any quality, on the cheap. The Betsy offered a mid range nightly rate (for South Beach prices), and did not disappoint in any way. Location is superb, at my preferred end of Ocean Drive. Hotel is impeccably appointed, and the room was delightfully furnished and immaculate. All the staff were exceptional. In particular, we had an issue caused my a miscommunication related to showering facilities after check-out. (If you want to take a shower after checking out, make sure you are absolutely clear as to what facilities are available). The Duty Manager was highly professional and resolved the situation effectively and with real concern (even though I did perhaps have to make a little bit more of a fuss than I should, and given that it was clearly a mistake made twice by front desk staff). We would go back to The Betsy tomorrow, and we are wondering if we may even return for 4 days over Christmas!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaoLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear JoaoLisbon,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review of your stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and I would be more than happy to personally make future arrangements for you for the holidays. Please always feel free to reach out to me directly, for the best possible options - our return Guests are our most cherished, and I always like to do what I can to reward your loyalty!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,389 of 2,732 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I are just back from a short stay at The Betsy. This really is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The room is quite small (it is a boutique hotel) but the location amenities and especially the service were really first rate. Everyone we met greeted us warmly (and often by name) nothing was too much trouble, every request was met with an immediate action and the whole feel of the hotel is high-end luxury.

The BLT restaurant was just superb, I can really recommend the Wagyu Skirt steak.

If you are thinking about booking then you really should

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear DorsetLynn,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and your comments. Exceeding expectations is the goal, and anytime I hear "best ever " in a review of our hotel it makes my day. We look forward to your next visit almost as much as you do!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I recommend the hotel ! Very nice location , nice ambience and a very good restaurant ! The staff are very nice too !
They could up grade the spa and the service at the concierge .
Don't leave the hotel without trying the menu of the restaurant , the bread is amazing , something i never tried before , like the Japanese dishes were also very good

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the back are noisy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Ariane C.,

Thank you for your recent visit, and your review! The bread in our restaurant, BLT, is our world famous popovers - indeed, not to be missed! I'm glad you enjoyed - we give out the receipe with every order - have you tried making them yet?

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great location on Ocean Drive - just a short walk to the beach. This is a really lovely hotel. It's beautiful from the outside with a great lobby and bar area. It feels very upmarket, but also very relaxing. The staff are all immaculately presented, very polite and professional, and willing to assist with whatever you need. The rooms are small, particularly the bathroom, however they are beautifully presented and styled. The wooden floors, four poster bed and marble finishes in the bathroom make the room feel very luxurious. The bed is quite comfortable and the room was very quiet. The house keeping staff do a great job as the room was exceptionally clean. Both the food from room service and in the restaurant is very good - couldn't fault it. I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Miami.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJA_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear DJA_SA,

Thank you for your review this week! You are correct, some of our rooms are cozy but well appointed, due mostly to the historic nature of our building. A third of our accomodations are now suites, though - perhaps next time you will be able to experience one of those - from Ocean View to Pool View, they are an even better Betsy experience!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was impressed by every aspect of this hotel. I first started coming to the betsy for business but this year i added an extra day with my family. the staff were extremely helpful switching me to a suite from a king, even calling me at the beach to let me know the room was ready early and we could move in. after we checked out, the manager called me to tell me that my daughter left her prescription glasses in the room, and helped arrange for us to get them quickly. i won't stay anywhere else in Miami.

Room Tip: The king size rooms are great for singles and couples, but the corner suites can easily sleep a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Gwen W.,

Thank you for your loyalty and your recent review! I'm always happy to see that we have made a client for life. Our goal is to continually exceed your expectations, and I was happy to read that so far we hav done that. Please feel free to reach out to me directly anytime your travels are bringing you back to the Betsy!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for our final night in Florida and was a great way to end the holiday.

Right at the top of Ocean Drive, it is a great location. Immediately greeted by staff and treated very well. Rooms and hotel are extremely clean and extremely modern, albeit perhaps a little small in the rooms but this was to be expected with it being a boutique hotel.

Could have no complaints about my stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeCrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear JakeCrowson,

Thank you for your recent visit - albeit brief, I am happy to read that you were able to experience the Betsy on your way back home. Perhaps next time you can work in a longer visit! We will be here at the ready for you, whenever your plans bring you back to sunny Miami Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just had four days at the Betsy. Was delighted by it's charm and history. Was over the moon to meet the photographer who was exhibiting at the time of our stay. Found the staff to be very welcoming and knowledgeable about whatever we asked of them. The food was wonderful although pricey. Fantastic Yorkshire puddings served before dinner so beware. Leave room for dinner! The bedrooms were average but ours was facing the side street and was very noisy. The use of the sun loungers on the beach was a bonus. Overall a great stay and would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,733 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,152 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,740 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
351 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#64 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £201 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing