We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Betsy - South Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$496
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
W South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$427
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SLS South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,888)
Filter reviews
2,888 results
Traveller rating
2,009
577
186
71
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,009
577
186
71
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbltpopoversrolling stonesocean drivetv in the mirrorcolonial stylesouth beachrooftop deckboutique hotelboucher brothersart decobeautiful hotelpool viewturn down servicelobby barsmall hotelpeople watching
Filter
Updating list...
1,467 - 1,472 of 2,888 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our second stay at The Betsy and it was still incredible as far as we are concerned. Yes, it is expensive but you are paying for an incredible degree of hospitality and position on Ocean Drive and walking distance to Lincoln Road. We had an unexplained noise in our room which kept us awake the first night. Our situation was dealt with very sympathetically and promptly by Margie and The Manager Ed and we were upgraded to a lovely suite. Food at BLT was good and beach services excellent. Reception staff Margie, Ashleigh and Christophe very friendly and helpful.
Doormen and Room Staff always smiling and attentive.
Suggest a room poolside (pool heated and very nice). We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the swimming pool. Suites are fabulous but the smaller bedrooms are very good as well.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveBirdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear LoveBirdies,

...and we can't wait for you to return, either! Our many return Guests are among our most cherished - please reach out to us directly for the best rates and options when you do come back! We will be here for you!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel has a great location, right across the street from the beach in South Beach, on the north end of Ocean Drive. It is a small hotel, and the rooms are quite small. Staff is friendly, they have a very good restaurant, BLT Steak. They provide beach chairs for you out on the beach. It is quaint

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvaz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear pvaz2000.

Thank you for your visit, and your review. The Betsy has a wide variety of rooms and suites for all travelers - from affordable to lavish - and we always put our return Guests at the top of our upgrade lists so that hopefully on your next visit, you can experience one of our beautiful oceanfront or pool view suites. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Helpful, friendly staff, nicely appointed rooms, great location and efficient use of space. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go (most importantly right across the street to the beach). The concierge staff was very helpful, as were the front desk staff.

We loved the rooftop deck and also enjoyed sitting around the pool. The BLT restaurant was a nice amenity, and the lobby area and bar were attractive. There is a spa on the roof deck, but the pedicures, at least, were not very "spa"--I was glad to get color on my toes but this is certainly not a destination spa.

We had a "deluxe oceanfront room" with two double beds. The room was small but clean and attractive, and the bathroom was the same. I would not want to have four people in the room but two would be comfortable. I was worried that the noise from the street would be too loud, but the a/c nicely drowned it out. The housekeeping staff came in twice a day to tidy up.

I would not bring my children to this hotel--it is not really set up for them. The pool is good for a dip but not for extended splashing around and playing. There are larger hotels down the street that would be better for families.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The elevator (only one) is quite slow and it is faster to take the stairs, so if you don't like climbing stairs, choose the second floor!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maybeinerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Maybeinerror,

Thank you for your visit with us, and for taking the time to write your review. I'm always happy to hear that our Guests will definitely return - anytime that the cold winter is getting you down, feel free to take a break in sunny south beach! We would love to see you again, and again...

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Recently returned from 5 day stay at the Betsy Hotel, South beach. We arrived at the hotel before ten am expecting to leave our cases and return at check in time of 2pm....however due to the very efficient and friendly reception staff our room was found to be available immediately! The suite we booked was spacious and clean with 3 t.vs (bedroom,lounge,bathroom) large walk in shower with ample toiletries,walk in wardrobe with safe,iron,ironing board and hair dryer, and a large lounge area looking onto the small pool. We ate at the restaurant on two occasions...one for breakfast,usual American breakfast, and one evening dinner,..we shared a porter house steak which was delicious. You are served two complimentary starters prior to your evening dinner... Pate and bread and then a huge Yorkshire pudding type thing...both lovely but very filling. Bar and restaurant prices slightly higher than many places on south beach but worth it considering the lovely Hotel and fabulous location. Would recommend this hotel and certainly intend to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Efc222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Efc222014,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. A five star comment such as yours is just what we need to keep us striving to do better! That Yorkshire pudding thing you refer to is BLT's famous popovers - a treat at luch and dinner, and a spectacle at our weekend brunch when stuffed with eggs, spinach Gruyere cheese and more. We look forward to yoru next visit almost as much as you do!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a teenager hotel!
Incredibly noisy, impossible to rest.
One could hear the upstairs neighbours jumping around, screaming and fighting day and night.
We were invited to leave by the guest director when we complained about it on one too many occasion it would seem!
One of the worst stay we've experienced anywhere in many many years...
Waste of money, but more importantly, of too rare vacation time...
Do not go there!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
14  Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Marco C,

I was so sorry to read your review. Of course I am aware of the situation that occurred with the Guests in the room above you, and I also regret both that we were unable to solve that problem quickly enough for your satisfaction, or that you chose not to move rooms when the problem with your neighbors first started. Some people really take the excitement of South Beach a bit too far! Although our Guests and our little boutique hotel tend to be much quieter than most in South Beach, I am sorry that your vacation was marred by this incident. I would be happy to make this up to you on a subsequent visit - please be sure to reach out to me personally and I will do all that I can to make sure that you experience the Betsy the way most of our Guests do, and leave with only fond memories!

Sincerely,,,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews