We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #12 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our week at The Betsy was just perfect. Centrally located on Ocean Drive, but thankfully not right in the bustle. Beautiful hotel, very helpful concierge service and excellent spa staff (spa located on the roof top not optimal in bad weather, but all the nicer when the sun shines). Fantastic food, but most of the waiters/waitresses not too attentive and friendly, that's the only negative we can possibly find to mention. Overall totally worth the money, which isn't always the case in South Beach... We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 2,683 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Betsy Hotel is a perfect haven of tranquillity in the heart of Southbeach, beautifully located to appreciate all the Art Deco beauty of the area, as well as being a stone's throw from the beach. The hotel's chic colonial style is complemented by the fabulous, friendly service of the staff and the fact that it is a boutique hotel gives it a personal quality so lacking in sprawling resort-type hotels. Our room was cool, quiet and well-appointed, the public areas are inviting (if a little over air-conditioned) and we particularly enjoyed the roof deck, which has sun loungers and a bar with beautiful views over the palm trees to the beach. The BLT restaurant is very good and I feel compelled to mention the popovers, whichare a specialty of the house and are utterly delicious! A special mention must go to the concierge team at the Betsy: Paul, Margot and Adam, who were more than helpful and helped make our stay a gastromonic delight. Eating out in Miami is one of its greatest attractions. We wouldn't hestitate in staying at the Betsy again if we return to Miami. Just gorgeous.

Room Tip: Do ask for a quiet room, as footfall on the stairwell seems to echo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

INCREDIBLY happy with this hotel. Everything about it. Location is right where you want to be. Spacious, unique, comfortable rooms. Modern touch with vintage feel. I have nothing bad to say.

Emmanuel Mercado -- the front desk person with whom I had the most interaction -- was particularly helpful. Took lots of time to help set us up with everything we needed and more. Exceeded expectations and is a prototype of what customer service really should be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKN720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I spent a weekend in Miami with a friend to escape the chill of New York. I was impressed with the beautiful rooms, delicious food in the restaurant, rooftop bar and perfect location. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCAfricaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spend three days at The Betsy's and loved the place. Especially the atmosphere of the hotel, the central location, the nice staff and the good food are the bonus points of the hotel. Having a drink at the bar with live music, meeting international or local guests, is something that make this hotel worth a visit. The BLT is a very good restaurant that you should definitely consider visiting, also when you are not a resident of the hotel.
The rooms are nice, but too small and without a view. This would be acceptable for a normal price, but if you pay up to 750 euro a night, this becomes highly questionable. Even the bell boy noticed as he, without being asked, apologized on the first day.

Room Tip: Sorry, no helpful info here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pptt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our second stay at The Betsy and it was still incredible as far as we are concerned. Yes, it is expensive but you are paying for an incredible degree of hospitality and position on Ocean Drive and walking distance to Lincoln Road. We had an unexplained noise in our room which kept us awake the first night. Our situation was dealt with very sympathetically and promptly by Margie and The Manager Ed and we were upgraded to a lovely suite. Food at BLT was good and beach services excellent. Reception staff Margie, Ashleigh and Christophe very friendly and helpful.
Doormen and Room Staff always smiling and attentive.
Suggest a room poolside (pool heated and very nice). We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the swimming pool. Suites are fabulous but the smaller bedrooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveBirdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear LoveBirdies,

...and we can't wait for you to return, either! Our many return Guests are among our most cherished - please reach out to us directly for the best rates and options when you do come back! We will be here for you!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel has a great location, right across the street from the beach in South Beach, on the north end of Ocean Drive. It is a small hotel, and the rooms are quite small. Staff is friendly, they have a very good restaurant, BLT Steak. They provide beach chairs for you out on the beach. It is quaint

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvaz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear pvaz2000.

Thank you for your visit, and your review. The Betsy has a wide variety of rooms and suites for all travelers - from affordable to lavish - and we always put our return Guests at the top of our upgrade lists so that hopefully on your next visit, you can experience one of our beautiful oceanfront or pool view suites. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,696 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,051 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,472 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,454 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £214 - £858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing