We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #10 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fab Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We didn't stay here, but did have lunch and it was FABULOUS! The drinks kept coming, the street ambience fun and the Cuban sandwich amazing! The interior was adorable and it seemed like a place I would want to return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    479
    148
    59
    29
See reviews for
494
1,194
96
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned home from 8 nights at the Betsy, our first stay at the South Beach. We chose it after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and after taking a look at the hotel's web site. We were not disappointed and had a wonderful and restful stay as the hotel is in a perfect location to walk in the morning, hit the beach in the afternoon and the restaurants in the evening. You can turn right out of the hotel and walk along the beach to South Pointe or left and along the board walk or to Lincoln Road and Collins were the restaurants are plentiful.
We had 2 dinners at the BLT, brunch and a couple of breakfasts and the food was good quality and good value. The steaks here are very good and tasty and well worth a try.

We knew most of the restaurants that we wanted to eat at but Margot (Concierge) suggested a couple not on the list which were fantastic picks and she arranged all reservations as it was very busy. We chose restaurants within walking distance and ate at, Pied a Terre, Ola, The Meat Market, Spiga, Osteria and the Fez. Not one bad meal amongst them and I have reviewed them separately if you want to take a look.

So why not excellent?

1) Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (just after the 4pm check in time) and whilst we were offered an alternative which we didn't want, and they did get us in within an hour. This is not what you expect paying these prices and having been travelling for 15 hours. Also, getting an extra couple of hours to check out when we left was a bit of a struggle but they agreed once I pointed this out.

2) The roof garden is a great place to relax, a real positive for this hotel but on 2 nights we couldn't use it because private parties had a booking. Again, disappointing when the rooms are small with no balcony etc.

3) I've mentioned the help we got from Margot, Thomas and Sean who helped with the luggage and were very friendly. Some of the other service was inconsistent and working on this would make the place perfect.

Overall, we would definitely recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: If you don't have a suite, go for the deluxe ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Betsy on South Beach. We arrived the day before Valentine's Day. The whole week and the stay at the Betsy was great. The location right on Ocean Drive could not be better. Everything we look for in a hotel was found in the Betsy, from the great staff, the room, comfort of the bed, the cleanliness, the lounge area and the roof top and the great view of the ocean. It was great. Paul, the concierge, was very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Aesthetically, The Betsy has everything going for it with charming good looks inside and out. It will easily meet the most discerning guest's romanticized ideal of a "boutique hotel". Those accustomed to 4 and 5 star treatment however, may find that the charm evaporates in the face of small missteps and sloppy service.

My wife and two girls (11 & 13) enjoyed four nights at The Betsy, and we really did enjoy it - there's so many good things about this hotel. The prime location, the amazing restaurant, the quiet pool, the hip, modern-plantation decor, the (mostly) outgoing service. Unfortunately, our stay was not without its share of little nuisances and these flaws simply became part of our expectation by the end of our trip.

Without going into too much detail, we had to switch rooms at 1am on our first night. The night manager claimed only to have a single king room available. I was insistent that this would not work for the four of us. She seemed hesitant and flustered, but after 20 some odd minutes of back and forth calls to the front desk, she suddenly had a two-room suite available. Why this was not offered immediately was beyond me. I was grateful for the upgraded room, but the way we came to it was anything but high-end. Our new room was very nice, but little things again... one of the televisions not working, a water-damaged ceiling in the washroom, used bottles of shampoo. Little things conspiring to remind us that this place was not so perfect as it first appeared.

Two other annoyances are worth noting. We did not find out until our last morning that breakfast was included with our stay. Since we didn't know, we paid for breakfast at the hotel on two days of our stay and two at Starbucks across the street on the other two days. Not a big deal, but a waste of two hundred dollars by my estimate. And anyway, I like that restaurant. I would have much preferred to eat there each morning. It would have been nice if we were told at check-in that "this is where you'll enjoy your included breakfast."

For our first breakfast at the hotel we were served by a lovely gentleman on the rooftop who had a broken foot. Needless to say, his movements were not quick and we waited a long time - too long. I begrudge him nothing, but maybe the hotel should keep him behind the bar and get him some help with serving, until his foot is fully healed. he did his best, but we shouldn't need to feel bad about asking for coffee.

I have a feeling that our experience at The Betsy probably isn't typical, and that a lot of guests do enjoy a perfect stay. I'm just disappointed that we didn't get to see The Betsy at it's best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ALFXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just come back from our third time at the Betsy. This was the best on; we were sorry to leave and we will be back next year. Location and room are great. The staff are incredibly nice and the food is excellent. Couldn't want for more!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger than the side ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Fantastic location on Ocean Boulevard up from all the touting restaurants & just south of all the big hotel names. Small intimate boutique hotel. Staff exceptionally friendly & helpful as well as knowledgeable. Breakfast really good & heaps of it. Private stretch of the beach offering sun beds, umbrella & towels included in the resort fee. We had one of the small rooms which was perfect for a few days stay. Lots of closet space, good bathroom with energizing shower & really comfy bed. Lots of amazing rock n roll photos (Rolling Stones) throughout the hotel. Great cocktails in the lobby bar. Rooftop bar a bit of a let down unfortunately. Would definitely stay again if in South Beach Miami.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobigsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed for three nights to escape the cold of Chicago. Overall happy with our stay at The Betsy, loved the Art Deco style and Rolling Stones and Beatles photos that line the hotels corridors. The hotel staff were great, shout out to Chris the doorman who was always friendly and anticipated your needs before you even thought of it yourself! BLT steak, food was great for dinner and the 3 breakfasts we eat. Service was not so great, basic things not met for a hotel that has 4 diamonds and over $500 a night room rates I expected more. Asked each morning what our name was and if we were staying in hotel, got a bit old. Waiting over 20 minutes to get coffee that was barely warm, then having to get up and ask bus boy if we can get more coffee, no good morning from server, food runners who do not smile and just dump your food on the table and cannot even get you fresh black pepper for your eggs when you ask for it was poor in my opinion for a hotel restaurant of this level. Service at dinner was much better, breakfast just seemed that guests were forgotten about.
Concierge was excellent and we had some great meals due to Margo"s recommendation!
Great stay and would go back, but need to improve service in restaurant not up to the level you get at a Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Pool view room was worth the extra $ if my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing