We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent two days at The Betsy, 18 & 19 March 15. Two days to relax before a long journey home after a hectic two week cruise around The Caribbean. A long awaited dream realised to stay there and we were not disappointed. From the moment of arriving early in the morning we realised that this was indeed a very special hotel. Beautifully appointed and furnished in all soft colours of whites and creams with fabrics of linens and soft cottons in the bedrooms. Our room, 103, was spacious, beautifully adequate shower room, overlooking the pool. Have read that some rooms are small but this was perfect for us and quiet also. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very cared for and also felt that we were treated as special quests. Simply lovely. The best hotel we have experienced and we have been around the world twice and travelled extensively. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As mentioned 103 facing the pool was good, quiet and accessible by walking up just 6 steps from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Jbfivestar,

Thank you for your review - and of course, I am especially happy to hear your accolade, "The best hotel we have experienced and we have been around the world twice and travelled extensively." This is our goal - to be something out of the ordinary, a perfect blend of luxury, culture, and relaxation in the midst of all the excitement that is South Beach! I hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Betsy. The overall experience, for the price, was less than expected. The location is great...walking distance to everything...the first night we spent in a double ocean front room which was hardly large enough to swing a cat...it felt like a charming children's room...not large enough for 2 adults. Even the drawers were tiny. We asked to be moved the second day and were relocated/upgraded to a pool-side suite which was lovely...more expensive, but worth the price when compared to the first room...at least twice the size. We certainly did not miss the minimal ocean view of the first room, with windows that barely opened. Service was overall, poor, with an atmosphere of disorganization. A few staff members were very helpful, but most appeared disinterested. The concierge was curiously inconspicuous. Great collection of photos (Beatles and Stones) throughout the hotel hallways. Nice rooftop deck.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room for better value. The ocean views are not spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear LesleyWin,

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write your review. To answer your question, that would be me. I am sorry that you felt that our service was disorganized. I'm not sure what specifically gave you this impression, but I would be very pleased to discuss this with you further. Our primary goal is to take care of our Guests, to meet and exceed their expectations. If we failed at that on your stay, I apologize. Our staff is the most consistent, highest ranking aspect of the hotel. We go to great lengths to only hire folks with the "spirit to serve". The tasks can be taught, the attitude can't - this is our mantra. I hope you will give us the opportunity to show you a more typical stay in the future - one with only the fondest memories.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have not done a couples get-away in like forever - always family vacations. But with our 25th wedding anniversary, we wanted something romantic, special and just the 2 of us. With only being able to get away for a weekend, we wanted the perfect place and The Betsy was absolutely perfect for us! I trusted the reviews I read on Trip Advisor and made reservations. Romantic, relaxing, so very charming and quaint. Many people, hustle and bustle, but yet we felt like we were the only ones there - hard to explain. Food was excellent - American Breakfast all you could want, drinks delicious. Having beach access was a must for us, as well - and that was just splendid - Boucher Brothers, set us up both days with chairs and towels - fee charged through the hotel. Paul the Concierge made great restaurant choices for us both evenings and made the reservations for us. Just truly perfect - we definitely will return!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HpyMma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear HpyMma,

Thank you for choosing spend your 25th anniversary with us, and for writing such a great review review! I was happy to read how we were all you had hoped for on such a special occasion. Don't wait another 25 years to return - this may now have to be an annual trip!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Met here with some clients a few months ago. Super classy hotel with friendly people.

Food was great but be aware that they fall into the classic south beach stigma of slow service.

We had to wait 20+ minutes on our check, which made it a bit awkward.

Otherwise, I highly recommend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank HoldenBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

First, this place is great. I picked The Betsy because of reviews I read on TripAdvisor, so I felt I should pay it forward to others considering this hotel. The staff was AMAZING. So helpful, professional and will absolutely bend over backwards for you.

The room was gorgeous and very clean. The bathroom was really clean, modern and had a great shower.

I met Ed Ponder, the Director of Guest Services, who made me feel like I was the most important guest staying there. We talked several times and he always remembered my name and remembered the random stuff I told him I was doing while in Miami. The rest of the staff follows his lead.

I've never written a review on any travel site -- ever. But, this was such a great hotel and has such a great staff, it was something I really wanted to do.

You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdiddy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We didn't stay here, but did have lunch and it was FABULOUS! The drinks kept coming, the street ambience fun and the Cuban sandwich amazing! The interior was adorable and it seemed like a place I would want to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CarolTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned home from 8 nights at the Betsy, our first stay at the South Beach. We chose it after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and after taking a look at the hotel's web site. We were not disappointed and had a wonderful and restful stay as the hotel is in a perfect location to walk in the morning, hit the beach in the afternoon and the restaurants in the evening. You can turn right out of the hotel and walk along the beach to South Pointe or left and along the board walk or to Lincoln Road and Collins were the restaurants are plentiful.
We had 2 dinners at the BLT, brunch and a couple of breakfasts and the food was good quality and good value. The steaks here are very good and tasty and well worth a try.

We knew most of the restaurants that we wanted to eat at but Margot (Concierge) suggested a couple not on the list which were fantastic picks and she arranged all reservations as it was very busy. We chose restaurants within walking distance and ate at, Pied a Terre, Ola, The Meat Market, Spiga, Osteria and the Fez. Not one bad meal amongst them and I have reviewed them separately if you want to take a look.

So why not excellent?

1) Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (just after the 4pm check in time) and whilst we were offered an alternative which we didn't want, and they did get us in within an hour. This is not what you expect paying these prices and having been travelling for 15 hours. Also, getting an extra couple of hours to check out when we left was a bit of a struggle but they agreed once I pointed this out.

2) The roof garden is a great place to relax, a real positive for this hotel but on 2 nights we couldn't use it because private parties had a booking. Again, disappointing when the rooms are small with no balcony etc.

3) I've mentioned the help we got from Margot, Thomas and Sean who helped with the luggage and were very friendly. Some of the other service was inconsistent and working on this would make the place perfect.

Overall, we would definitely recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: If you don't have a suite, go for the deluxe ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,672 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,968 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,646 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,947 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £213 - £783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing