We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Betsy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Betsy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautiful small hotel located directly accross from the beach. There is also a Starbucks accross the street which was great to pick up a cup of coffee and sit under the umbrella on the beach. The door men, and managers were always helpful and some of the door men actually called you by your last name. The royal suite was very roomy with the separte living room. The bath room was great with the in mirror tv. The roof deck was great to look out at the ocean and enjoy the huge lounge chairs. The best part is that you are away from all of the noise and pedistrian traffic which is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1miser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear 1miser,

Thank you for your visit, and for your review! We strive to make the Betsy feel like a private home - how could we not use your name? It is our pleasure to have you as our Guest, for a short time or a long time! We look forward to you return visits!

Warm Regards,

Jeff Lehman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    476
    148
    59
    29
See reviews for
492
1,192
96
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel feels like an oasis on Ocean Drive in South Beach, once you enter the hotel you forget you are on the busiest street where people party every day. It has a nice cozy feeling of a cottage, the pool is nested in the inner courtyard so you have privacy and you don't have to see people and cars on the street which I think is a plus.

Ah, they even have a Nespresso coffee machine with complimentary coffee and tea, you can beat that :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Bella134,

263 Cities and 73 reviews later, I am happy to read that you include us in your "best of" thoughts. I am glad you liked the convenience of a great coffee & tea maker in your suite - we have a variety of accommodations from the simple elegant to large and, well, elegant. My perception is that you chose a suite on this visit. Much like the Artwork throughout our public areas, all of our rooms and suites are a bit different, with their own personalities. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austrian Alps, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I are currently on our honeymoon and stayed at this amazing hotel from May 1st to May 5th - we loved every second of it. Everyone from the doormen to the concierge were very polite and helpful. Rooms are on the smaller side, but very clean and stylish. The rooftop bar is awesome. We are currently on our road trip and will return to the Betsy on the 12th. Can't wait to get back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawnerd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Lawnerd33,

Thank you for visiting the Betsy last week, and for your wonderful review! I am happy to read that you had a great time - every second! - and we look forward to your return! Please reach out to me directly at the hotel so that can personally see to your reservation and possible upgrade - our return visitors are our most cherished!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

It was my first time to Miami and I have to say the Betsy really made it a special experience. I was only there for one night, but everyone made me feel at home. The check-in process was flawless and room spectacular and immaculate. The restaurant had excellent service and the food was very good.

When I am back in Miami I will definitely stay here and will have no problems recommending this places to others. A Special thanks to both the GM Jeff and Thomas for making this a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikobrrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel made me feel claustrophobic with its tiny rooms and dark corridors. Door to our room did not shut properly and once was left wide opened by the housekeeping. At the arrival, we were made waiting for half an hour to get to our rooms although we have arrived way past the check in time. Rooms were sprayed with air fresher which was a very strong scent. We struggled to sleep at night due to this smell and you couldn't open the windows in the rooms! Restaurant in the lobby of the hotel made it overcrowded every evening and it never felt quiet and relaxed. The only highlight of the stay was the roof top terrace which was a great place to watch the sunset and sip a drink. Breakfast was decent although I would have preferred more choice.

All in all I felt Betsy was overrated and I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Nzlata,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that the Betsy was not to your liking - I suppose that it is true that you can't please all the people all the time, although I would be remiss not to recommend trying one of our larger suites on a future visit, as the room size, and the price, seems to have been your primary disappointment. Sometimes the culture, location and service are what visitors are after, other times it is more of a square footage equation - there certainly is an abundance of both on Miami Beach – I do hope you will give us another try!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I loved the ambiance of this boutique hotel. It felt more inviting then some of the bigger hotels on Ocean Drive. I loved the location, which was central to everything; Starbucks, the beach , restaurants, a great people watching vantage point. I can't say enough about the service staff, from the time when we first entered the hotel, until we checked out to get a cab and were handed a cold bottle of water for the cab ride to the airport. I have to give kudos to the concierge, Margot, who made the trip special for me. It was my birthday while we were at the hotel and she arranged a very special dinner at the Versace Mansion. With her sunny disposition, she was a delight to talk to. Margot always had great suggestions about what to do while we were there and offered many options. I can't wait to go back. The only thing that I would do differently is upgrade to a suite. We were in the classic room which would suffice, but the bathroom was a little cramped.

Room Tip: Classic Room nice BUT the bathroom was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I felt simply good as at home. This because of the kindness of the staff, the cleaning and the very good services performed. I would be happy to come back again. I reccomend this place for all of you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing