We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding restaurant - what a find ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #16 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Winchfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant - what a find ”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across the Betsy restaurant on South Beach as we wandered towards the bigger hotels. What a find.

We had a table right away on the veranda and were impressed with the staff and great service, and the excellent menu choice.

The meal started with a complementary chefs platter of pâté which was excellent. Followed by bread, unusually in the house style of giant cheese poppers (like giant Yorkshire puddings!).

Oysters starter platter was excellent. With the mains - 2 notable dishes were the New York Strip and the Lobster. Both total 10 out of 10!

Service throughout the meal was excellent and the bill less than we imagined. Overall highly recommended for a smart casual evening meal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWorleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    510
    158
    64
    34
See reviews for
526
1,248
101
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Betsy. It was close enough to the party, but far enough to allow you sleep. The rooms were a good size. The only con would be the small bathroom, but it was beautiful! The front desk staff and concierge were impeccable. The beach is across the street and the beach staff were also wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenkag24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

As most refurbished buildings of the Art Deco period in South Beach, the internal lay out presents limitations. Small rooms, limited elevators, no parking, etc.
In this case THE BETSY has done a major refurbishing of a charming old building trying to positioning itself in the upscale market segment.
The general impression and furnishings are pretty.
The rooms are small and the pool is so enclosed in an internal patio that the heat is almost unbearable except in the early morning or late afternoon. The beach is always an option just across the street but umbrellas, sunbeds and towels are contracted out to a third party that runs it and we found out that on June 10th at 4 pm they decided to close shop.
We had a suite consisting probably of two of the original layout rooms, which produced a bedroom so small that the space between the end of the bed and the TV on the wall was narrower than my shoulder. The living area was small and with a very uncomfortable sofa. The weirdest thing was the bathroom which had all the facilities for disabled people.
The air conditioning system instead of being smooth quiet and central is individually provided by under window mounted equipment very noisy and blowing directly on to your bed and pillows.
Although many of us trade location on Ocean Dr for optimum lodging, this hotel is a choice but only because there are no much better on the short strip of Ocean Dr. The Tides, and the Victor have some shortcomings to. Be aware of this before you decide where to stay on South Beach.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice hotel, excellent location, very clean with courteous staff, small rooms, pool never gets sun rays which is a downside but the worst is the long wait on valet parking or getting transportation, bell men are not interested in expediting service but getting as many clients as they can... "money talks" if you tip them really good then, they act & react! Things like this shouldn't be happening at a high end hotel. Other than that, the rest is good.
Enjoy your stay in Miami Beach! Going back to a cold weather :'(

Room Tip: Room are beautiful but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5114traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My new wife and I have just returned from a brief stay at the Besty on our last night of Honeymoon. The hotel location is superb if you want to be in the heart of South Beach, with Ocean Drive and Miami beach on the doorstep of the building.

The important thing about The Betsy is that it manages to provide a beautiful boutique hotel that achieves everything a small boutique should do. The furnishings are esoteric and comfortable, the rooms are tastefully decorated and the restaurant is amazing (there are few finer spots to people watch than from the outside space of the BLT or the wonderful roof terrace).

As a boutique, it doesn't have the size and scale of some of the larger hotels further up the beach. The rooms are not large and the pool is suitable for cooling off and doing a few short lengths but there is no loud pool party atmosphere or tiki bar style drinking atmosphere, this is certainly a plus as (although I enjoy the alternative sometimes) you come to this hotel to savour a slice of tranquillity a few metres from the mayhem of Miami's biggest party district.

The key advantage of a smaller hotel over a larger resort style accommodation is the ability to provide a more personal style of service. This is where The Betsy excels! I asked the concierge prior to our arrival for a couple of things for our honeymoon and my requests by email were replied to promptly. We received prosseco on arrival (which appears to be delightfully standard at that time of day) and a congratulations on our wedding with a room upgrade and some extra, very kind offerings for free. This was far beyond what I had requested or expected. Even though we were staying in Miami for about 5 hours after checking out, the hotel informed us that the Betsy was still our base if we wished it to be and all amenities were at our disposal until we left for the airport. This type of attention to detail in customer service, along with a series of other attentive actions from the staff, really set this hotel apart from others I've stayed with.

It is a little pricey but it is South Beach and it is certainly worth it.I would absolutely recommend the Betsy and we're most excited about returning in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are quiet. I didn't sample the rooms overlooking Ocean Drive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This highly skilled staff knows how to take care of people. Nothing is too much. Friendly, helpful, accommodating. If you prefer to stay in a smaller hotel (60 rooms), this is an excellent choice. The decor, the ambiance, and the people makes this place stand apart for me when comparing it with luxury hotels I have stayed in elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The locals couldn't say enough about the pop overs and man it lived up to the hype, smothered in egg cream spinach ham bacon it was really really good, the bar tender woody was great and very knowledgeable, we also had the pleasure to stay a night here and the hotel was nice quiet with great photographs of the Rolling Stones and Beatles, and the bathrooms have tvs in the mirrors, who doesn't love gadgets, great place to stay if your not looking to be part or the nonstop party that is south beach

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank G29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,388 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,899 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,019 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing