We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old school charm in heart of Art Deco area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful old school charm in heart of Art Deco area”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Betsy was my treat to myself for my one night in South Beach, Miami and it did not let me down. Lovely staff and service, beautifully appointed room, wonderful lobby and excellent bar. I would have loved to have stayed their longer to better experience all there is to offer, I didn't have time to enjoy the rooftop deck. The bed was so comfortable and my room quiet, would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for an ocean view, it was out of my budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaKBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,739
    493
    152
    62
    32
See reviews for
508
1,228
97
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a wonderful building with a very accommodating, efficient and pleasant staff inside the building. They check is in hours before typical check policy. The location is terrific for walking to the beach, restaurants and other venues. The pool is cozy and serene. The two negatives would be the walls are very thin so you can hear everything in the hallway and what your neighbors are doing in the bathrooms and the second would be the beach staff is horrible. They are supposed to have chairs, towels and umbrellas from the hours of 9 am to 5 pm. We got there at 10 am with only 4 other couples in the beach area. It took them well over an hour to set up the umbrella after we asked an additional 6 times. Yeah, the sun is that strong. The employee was extremely rude so he spoil the rest of out beach time hence we stayed at the pool for 3 days while in south beach. Crazy, huh?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dressgirl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited the Betsy Hotel for 3 nights end of June, and while it's true the hotel location, and global design is great, we wouldn't recommend it to friends. Let's say that to the question "I've seen this Betsy Hotel offer online, what do you think ?", I would probably answer "Depends of the price rate you get, it's good, but not great".
So, the positive points :
- Well situated
- Very nice, elegant facade, and nice lobby (but quite chilly)
- Very clean room, with several cleaning inspections/day (bed opened for the night, towels changed in the evening...)
- Nice restaurant (but pricey, like in most places in Miami Beach)
- Email from the Concierge a few weeks before our stay to propose booking restaurants, events....

The negative points :
- On top of the price at which we booked the room, add 7% State tax + 3% city tax + 3 % county tax + 16 USD/day of "Resort Fees" (Beach lounge chairs and umbrella). While I don't mind paying for the beach chairs and umbrella, I do not like having it automatically added on my bill, whether I use those amenities or not
- Ocean view from the room is more a palm tree/street view, as we couldn't see the ocean at all (then, don't bother, just book a normal room)
- Drawers and closet too small to unpack suitcase (drawers about 20 cm wide, so forget about putting any cloths in there...)
- Room is not available for check in before 4pm, which is a major inconvenience when you wish to enjoy your first day there, and no late check out option was provided (the solution : take a shower by the pool, and change in the bar bathroom... Not ideal before a long international flight)
- Very nice roof deck, but it's just the deck, the swimming pool is in a little backyard, enclosed by walls at the back of the lobby/restaurant. Deserted, as no one really wants to sit there (unless you're totally sunburned and looking for shade, as it's very well sun protected by the 4 stories high walls around it)

To sum it up : be aware of all those negative points (especially budget wise), and compare with other hotels before to book.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maimai0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Inn was very modern and well appointed. The service was first rate from the valet to the front desk they made you feel like a VIP with everything they did for you.
The food is good, but very pricey.
The beach area is nice. Crowded like all of southbeach, but unique.
I did not check other prices, but The Betsy is up there. I would say you get what you pay for and therefore it was well worth it to me.
They advised we dine at Havana, a local Cuban restaurant, and we loved it. Went every night.
There is a pay station for bike rental across the street and they are reasonable and fun to ride.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and i stayed here last June for 10 days and found the Betsy to be charming in every way , the BLT restaurant is outstanding , we found all staff very pleasant and helpful . Also the hotel is an oasis in sometimes noisy South Beach and the cozy quite atmosphere suited us well but If you like a pool scene this hotel will not be for you as the pool area is very small but there is a very nice deck area on top floor where you can relax with a drink . The Betsy has an arrangement with beach franchise opposite where they will set up your lounger which we found to be excellent . I would have given 5 marks but because the room floors are wooden and tend to be very clanky , if you happen to have a person above who constantly walks around the room ( in our case all night long ! ) this can be extremely irritating as you can here every footstep they make , so if possible ask for a room on top floor , if the hotel fitted carpets this may eliminate problem and fortunately we only experienced this problem the last couple of nights of our stay , we intend to go back to South Beach next summer but because of the noise thing caused by wooden flooring we plan to stay elsewhere .

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room to avoid noise from room above ( clanky wooden flooring )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is such a fun vacation hotel right across from the best beach on earth! We felt like we were in the middle of the action of South Beach but in a safe and upscale hotel with reasonable prices and a warm ambiance!
Our room was white with a little wicker with views of lush palm trees and blue water. Very comfortable, luxurious bedding, shelves with great summer reads, sculptures and large screen TV's. Great mix of luxury and Bohemian!
We ate outside in the sidewalk restaurant (BLT) so we could people watch and had the best thick-cut, fresh swordfish with a spicy flavor with jalapeno mashed potatoes and an avocado salad with apricots--yum!They served delicious popovers.
This is a fun place to stay for a week since there is so much to do day and night, and yet it is peaceful and quiet. This hotel was a great find for us and we plan on going once a year if we can. You feel safe there, very pampered, and the hotel staff was caring. The beach area it is in is beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet even though it faced the main road and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanneflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently spent a night at the Betsy, returning from a trip to the Caribbean, before traveling onward the next day. What a wonderful place. It's an elegant and very comfortable hotel, with a Southern vibe to it. The staff are excellent and accommodating. Our ocean-front room, though on the small side, was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Breakfast on the front porch was a delight. The beach across the street, and the umbrellas and chairs available to guests, were lovely. For me, and I recognize others may well feel differently, the only drawback is the relative proximity to South Beach and the loud and unpleasant ambiance that this area has become on weekends and on frequent weekday evenings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,362 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#10 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,483 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,891 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,008 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach and only one of three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, a Lobby Bar, Library and Conservatory with an Espresso Bar giving guests ample options to lounge and enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world’s great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing