We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #14 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Irmo, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel Ever”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I chose The Betsy for a 3 night stay following our cruise based on Tripadvisor reviews. 2 weeks prior to our visit, Paul, the concierge sent an email with suggestions for dining/activities and asked if there was anything they could help us with... What?! I have never had a hotel be so proactive like that before. I responded with a restaurant inquiry and they actually called me in person 5 minutes later to set up the res. Wow... Talk about customer service! They asked if there was a special occasion and on my daughter's 16th birthday, had a special dessert and birthday card waiting in our room. Also, ran after us during a brief rainstorm with an umbrella since we didn't have one. Amazing hotel staff! But wait, I'm not done yet... we arrived at 9:30am and the front desk was able to find a clean room right away along with a champagne greeting. The entire hotel staff makes it a point to know your names as soon as you check in and there are always 2 bellmen opening the front door as you leave/enter addressing you by name and asking if there is anything they can assist with. You feel like you are part of the family at once. It's quite remarkable. When we got in our room, one of the TV's didn't work and engineering was fixing it within 5 minutes and with a great smile and attitude. Housekeeping was also perfect. The turndown service is a nice touch. Location of The Betsy is perfect with a brief walk to everything you could possibly want. The rooftop area, lobby, pool is upscale and welcoming. We were completely spoiled with the beach service... so awesome! They set you up with cushy lounge chairs/towels/umbrellas for all. The auto $16 resort fee says it's only for 2 chairs and 1 umbrella but it was a nice surprise when they set us up with 4 chairs/2 umbrellas instead without even asking. Make sure you go to the Lincoln road stores/restaurants. Such a neat area. Also, Espanole Way for some quant restaurants. It feels like Spain. Wish I could remember more names but everyone at the hotel was terrific and friendly. Please consider The Betsy for your next Miami visit. You will not regret it. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    517
    159
    64
    34
See reviews for
537
1,257
101
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Betsy for a family Fourht of July beach outing. The hotel has a European/boutique vibe as soon as you enter. This is a perfect match for an early 20th century building. The staff is extremely professional and courteous. Our check in went quickly and we were able to get into our room early…what a treat. The lobby is smartly designed with several comfortable seating areas. We enjoyed all the Beatles and Rolling Stones photos that are displayed gallery style throughout the hotel.
Our room was on the third floor facing the beach. As others had mentioned the rooms are a bit small but all the details in the room make up for this (ie. fresh flowers on the desk, soft throws on the bed). The T.V. in the bathroom mirror was great. Also the bathroom itself was set up so well. Beautiful marble floors and shower enclosure. A great bathroom is a must for a beach vacation.
The hotel restaurant is BLT which is fabulous. There is a reason Zagat as well as Tripadvisor rate it so highly. We ate there for lunch our first day and then of course breakfast the following day. Again, the service is professional and courteous.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants an upscale experience when visiting South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suef786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is on ocean drive in south beach. It is in a great location, across the road from the beach but far enough up one end to be away from the main bustle and noise.
The lift was very small and slow and not ideal so we walked most of the time - although the stairs were more like service than main - you didn't want to pass anyone.
The rooms were clean and nice, comfy beds and most importantly - air conditioned. The whiteness made it feel bright, but was quite small. Ok for 2 or 3 nights but I think for longer would have been too small. The roof terrace was lovely to sit around on you could get shade and there were "misters" (if that's the right word). There is a bar on the roof as well as in the lobby.
Overall the was nothing wrong with the hotel, a nice small size and staff were attentive. But it was not the best hotel I've been in. I am not sure about value for money considering the extras like having to pay a fee per day (automatically added to the bill) for wifi and beach chair use (we didn't use the beach but still had to Pay) and the parking was over $40 per night which seemed really high!
If you are arriving by car I would advise approaching from 15th street rather than 13th (which our satnav had us do) as the hotel is on the other side and we had to try and turn around. There is only room for about 3 cars to pull in in front of the hotel - the valets do move them quickly but there are occasions when you have to stop in the driving lane.
Be sure you know what you have paid for ahead of arrival. We were told that breakfast was not included and it was not until we had brought 2 breakfasts outside the hotel that we realised it should have been included. We were given a free drink as a result.
If I was in Miami again would I stay here - yes ( but probably wouldn't go back to miami)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Moved to this hotel because the Loews had roaches. The room was not big, but it was very clean and made us feel comfortable. NOTE: most rooms on South Beach are small due to old buildings. We usually bring extra pillowcases and flip flops in case we feel like we need them, but no need here. The staff was extremely attentive and pleasant. Great location. Any further up the beach and you are too far from Ocean Drive. Any further down the beach and you won't get any sleep. The restaurant serves outstanding food ($$$). Rooftop patio is excellent. I would recommend anyone to stay there. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truestory22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woudrichem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautifull hotel on the best imaginable location in Miami.
Perfect ambiance, great service.
Small rooms...but luxurious in every detail.

Great bellboys who make you smile and make you feel extremely welcome.

Restaurant is perfect, breakfast, lunch, diner....it's all the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After a lot of searching, we finally settled on The Betsy and what a perfect choice it was. It was my girlfriend's first visit to Miami and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. Quite simply everything was pitch perfect. The lobby is delightfully decorated and the suite we stayed in was impeccably appointed. It was spacious and tasteful. I would recommend getting either the suites overlooking the ocean or the pool. Other places on Ocean Drive can be loud but we did not have any problems at all with noise level.

Another thing that stood out was the service. Professional and friendly almost at every facet of the hotel. Everyone from the front door to the reservations desk to the porter to the concierge and restaurant were excellent.

I honestly could go on and on but really we loved every moment of our time there. Yes, the hotel is a little on the expensive side as is the BLT restaurant, but to us it was well worth it for the experience and time we had. I can't imagine staying at any other place in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Usama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

the hotel was very nice, clean great staff and right on South Beach (if that's your thing). but the rooms were pretty small, the rooftop was pretty but also small. even the rooms facing the ocean didn't have a view because of the tall palm trees in front of the hotel. for a one-night stay (which is why were were there) it was OK, but for the money, I'd rather stay a few blocks away from the main drag and have more amenities. one interesting note was the beautiful photos of the Beatles and Rolling Stones which were on (permanent?) display throughout the hotel. a photographer who traveled with both bands in the very early stages of their careers had documented those days. really beautiful photos.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyK312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,399 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,699 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,132 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing