We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Betsy on South Beach - Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #11 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As you look at the on line pics on The Betsy website it's hard to tell that the beach is across the street from the hotel. We had no problem crossing and the cabana service was great. Great restaurant

Room Tip: We had the King Suite facing the alley, very quiet and HUGE! the regular rooms looked a bit small s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Offsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 2,726 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We here over the 4th of July weekend. We stayed for 3 days. The hotel exterior and lobby is very elegant and nice. However, our room was small with "ocean view" that was barely visible. Not worth the extra cost. The room smelled musky and damp. The sheets were itchy keeping us awake. It often felt like there were bed bugs crawling around. The restaurant downstairs was just okay. The food was bland, and lacked flavor. The steak was not very impressive. On the upside, the service was excellent and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thanhnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel across the street from the beach and walking distance to Ocean street restaurants, shops and bars. Great value and excellent service. I especially liked the turn down service and house slippers left by the bed-nice touch!

Room Tip: Very spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lester S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very clean, all the services & the staff members at all levels were always
friendly, responsive & cooperative. The location of the hotel is superb.
Hope to repeat our visit on regular basis since we live in Naples, Florida which is about two hours away door to door especially if the hotel rates are attractively competitive. Thank you,
W E Michael Mikhail, MD, FACS

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Betsy has it all. We watched fireworks (and great lightening) from the roof deck, spent afternoons at the super nice Lummus Park beach, dined in the BLT restaurant on glorious steaks ( both al fresco and inside), got terrific recommendations from the concierge, enjoyed a beautiful room with spacious bathroom, all right at the south end of South Beach. The a Betsy offers a class act hotel oasis without the noise and cray-cray of many South Beach hotels. We'll return here without hesitation!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PamelaCapeCod_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I chose The Betsy for a 3 night stay following our cruise based on Tripadvisor reviews. 2 weeks prior to our visit, Paul, the concierge sent an email with suggestions for dining/activities and asked if there was anything they could help us with... What?! I have never had a hotel be so proactive like that before. I responded with a restaurant inquiry and they actually called me in person 5 minutes later to set up the res. Wow... Talk about customer service! They asked if there was a special occasion and on my daughter's 16th birthday, had a special dessert and birthday card waiting in our room. Also, ran after us during a brief rainstorm with an umbrella since we didn't have one. Amazing hotel staff! But wait, I'm not done yet... we arrived at 9:30am and the front desk was able to find a clean room right away along with a champagne greeting. The entire hotel staff makes it a point to know your names as soon as you check in and there are always 2 bellmen opening the front door as you leave/enter addressing you by name and asking if there is anything they can assist with. You feel like you are part of the family at once. It's quite remarkable. When we got in our room, one of the TV's didn't work and engineering was fixing it within 5 minutes and with a great smile and attitude. Housekeeping was also perfect. The turndown service is a nice touch. Location of The Betsy is perfect with a brief walk to everything you could possibly want. The rooftop area, lobby, pool is upscale and welcoming. We were completely spoiled with the beach service... so awesome! They set you up with cushy lounge chairs/towels/umbrellas for all. The auto $16 resort fee says it's only for 2 chairs and 1 umbrella but it was a nice surprise when they set us up with 4 chairs/2 umbrellas instead without even asking. Make sure you go to the Lincoln road stores/restaurants. Such a neat area. Also, Espanole Way for some quant restaurants. It feels like Spain. Wish I could remember more names but everyone at the hotel was terrific and friendly. Please consider The Betsy for your next Miami visit. You will not regret it. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Betsy for a family Fourht of July beach outing. The hotel has a European/boutique vibe as soon as you enter. This is a perfect match for an early 20th century building. The staff is extremely professional and courteous. Our check in went quickly and we were able to get into our room early…what a treat. The lobby is smartly designed with several comfortable seating areas. We enjoyed all the Beatles and Rolling Stones photos that are displayed gallery style throughout the hotel.
Our room was on the third floor facing the beach. As others had mentioned the rooms are a bit small but all the details in the room make up for this (ie. fresh flowers on the desk, soft throws on the bed). The T.V. in the bathroom mirror was great. Also the bathroom itself was set up so well. Beautiful marble floors and shower enclosure. A great bathroom is a must for a beach vacation.
The hotel restaurant is BLT which is fabulous. There is a reason Zagat as well as Tripadvisor rate it so highly. We ate there for lunch our first day and then of course breakfast the following day. Again, the service is professional and courteous.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants an upscale experience when visiting South Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suef786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,729 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#49 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,138 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,735 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#64 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,528 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £203 - £631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing