We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #12 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

With an unbeatable location, exceptional customer service and attention to detail like nowhere else I've stayed, this might be the BEST hotel on the beach. We had dinner at the restaurant and loved it. We also enjoyed a couples massage on the roof. Everything at the Betsy is done with such style and understated luxury- it's a breath of fresh air

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AshleyMaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear AshleyMaxine,

Thank you for your recent visit, and your 5 star review! You are right - the massage under stars is truly a unique and memorable experience. I was happy to read that you had such a great time. Much like we have our favorite places in Key West, you now have your home in Miami Beach! I hope to meet you personally on your next visit!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at The Betsy just before returning home after our holiday. It appeared to be the best finale. Great service, easy atmosphere and beautiful roofterrace! Live music in the lobby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Thom M,

Thank you for your visit - your survey - and of course your review. We truly believe that the only way to stay in tune with our Guests is to listen with an open mind to all that they are saying. I am pleased that we could be a great finale for your US visit!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I came to Betsy for my annual girl's trip and loved the rooms and décor but was sorely disappointed with the service. Concierge was great but can't say the same for the rest. The pool also closes at 8pm which is strange for a Miami vacation hotel so there wasn't a lot to do on premises.

They had an event at their pool and failed to plan ahead and place wet floor signs or safety mats. 8 soaking wet entertainment swimmers walked through the lobby leaving huge puddles. I fell as I walked through the lobby not seeing the wet, slippery floor due to their negligence and lack of planning. I only received a complimentary drink despite m injuries and bleeding knee. No member of management ever checked on me for the remaining days to see how I felt or if there was anything needed. This is shocking given the caliber of the hotel...and then guests received hand-written notes and baskets when a yoga class was cancelled which is ironic.

Given what I paid for the hotel and lack of amenities and customer service, I will not be returning. There are several hotels within the same price range with much more to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank melchav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Melchav,

Thank you for your recent visit - and I am so sorry that you felt that we were inattentive when you slipped. The Betsy doesn’t have too many events poolside - that one was to celebrate Esther William's birthday - and models can be a bit difficult to control. I read several reports about the incident and would be happy to discuss your feelings that we weren't spot on with our follow up. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and I will do my utmost to restore your faith in the Betsy.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after landing at MIA. It was within walking distance of everything you would want to see around South Beach.

Room was modern, clean and the bed was firm and comfortable.

There was a mistake on our room, however they offered an upgrade and were very apologetic.

The only issue was that there was a problem with our (and our friends TV) and it turned on every hour throughout the night which was pretty annoying.

Recommend a cocktail on the roof top bar @ sun set/night.

The English gentleman on reception was very good and polite. Nice to have a glass of Prosecco on arrival too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bigdaveUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear BigdaveUK1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was indeed strange about the TV on the night of your visit, and I must apologize for that again. Never before (or since) has such a thing happened. I hope that the next time that you are coming to Miami Beach, you will reach out to me directly and I will do my utmost to ensure that your stay is flawless!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A wonderful little hotel in the perfect location in South Beach. Well appointed and very comfortable. Staff were all very friendly and obliging. Helpful all the time. Great roof top bar area which overlooks the park and beach.
It is in easy walking distance of the shopping, restaurant areas and the beach.
Rooms are very clean and well furnished, but on the smaller side. Storage was short and could be a problem if you are there for a period of time, as you have to work out of your bags.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Bob W,

Thank you for your recent visit - and for taking the time to write a review. We truly believe that the only way to excel in customer service is to listen openly to what our Guests are saying. Being a historic building, during our top to bottom renovation we had to maintain room size because it matches the window placements, which can't be moved. Still, in almost a third of our accommodations, we joined 2 (or more) rooms to create some incredible suites, with an excess of storage. Hopefully on your next visit you can give one of those a try! It will be a much different experience for you!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Centrally located hotel on Ocean Drive with small but very comfortable rooms and excellent customer services.
Restaurant very accommodating to our children's eating requirements and great roof terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Julian M,

It was a pleasure having you and your family here to start your vacation! Roof top spa and solarium, heated pool, and of course the beach at your doorstep make for a great family vacation in an environment where we can really get to know you (and the kids). I hope we see you back soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very good Hotel but the Street is very Carnevalistic. Excellent Restaurant if you like meet you need reservation but for Hotel-guest everything is possible. Top service, rooms are modern and accurate.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erfurtzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

ar Erfurtzi,

Thank you for your review! The words you wrote, "For the hotel Guest, everything is possible" are words that we live by. I appreciate your noticing, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Miami Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,696 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,042 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,468 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,454 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £215 - £845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing