We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, efficient staff, immaculately clean and comfortable roomsrooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, efficient staff, immaculately clean and comfortable roomsrooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

The Betsy Hotel is truly a different take on South Beach's Ocean Drive. I wanted to spend the night on Ocean Drive so i picked The Betsy since i had heard such great things about it.
As far as location, it is ideal, as it is on the end of Ocean Drive and not in the middle of all the insanity and close to everything including Ocean Drive, the beach, Espagnola Way , and Lincoln Road.
There is a boardwalk across the street that can take you from one end of the beach to the other without having to deal with the masses.
The hotel lobby and the rooms are super fresh, so clean and comfy/ cozy.
The staff is SUPER FRIENDLY and will bend over backwards for you.
And the restaurant, BLT, absolutely amazing.
If i were to stay on Ocean Drive, there is really no where else to stay-The Betsy is totally worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthFloridaDomenico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    476
    148
    59
    29
See reviews for
492
1,192
96
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mexico city
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

an excellent hotel, we stayed for two weeks and the service and rooms are excellent!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkcMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Betsy Hotel and it was a really nice and charming hotel. We have been to South Beach a few times and have stayed at the Shore Club, Delano etc. We wanted something different and a bit less sceney, however, I think I would opt for the Delano next time.

Below is our opinion of the hotel.

Service
- The service was fairly good, people are very pleasent! The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and service oriented, a plus! The issue with the Betsy is that they are so nice, but they do mess up, so in the end I am not sure if one cancels the other. For example - our first night we had no hot water, we went for dinner and were told that it was fixed, I took a shower and the water was freezing. On the second day the maintenance guy came up again and finally he admitted that yes in fact it was not working... confused, why did they say it was fixed? Anyway, the solution that the maintenance guy told us was to let the water run for 5 minutes before we took a shower... I don't think you should have to do that for a 5 star. When we were leaving we had a very early morning flight, we needed to be up by 5 am... they missed the wake up call (thankfully, we set our BB as a back-up).

Little Extras are Great
- The hotel offers free wi fi and free water (in gym) - this is a nice touch

Furnishing
- very modern, rooms are comfy (but a little small)

Elevator
- Please note - there is only one elevator in the hotel and it is occupied most of the time, its very small, can fit 4 people at the most, so you have to walk up to your room or wait patiently.

Pool
- The pool is not a highlight, its small and quiet and doesn't get a lot of sun. We were there for the 4th of July and we were the only ones at the pool. So if serenity is what you want - you will get it.

Lobby Bar
- Fantastic, great decor, relaxing - would suggest coming for a drink after the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I stayed in Miami Beach for 3 nights and we saw that the Betsy was the best hotel for Miami beach according to Trip Advisor. Boy were they wrong! The staff was rude, the restaurant over priced and it was way to loud at night so we hardly slept the whole trip. I would not go back to this hotel and would suggest that if you are going to Miami Beach, to not stay on Ocean drive!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank samokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Wonderful hotel in a great location. Excellent service. Very well-run and very well maintained. I will definitely be back. Pricey, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thousandrobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

My husband and I decided to take a quick mid-week trip to South Beach and decided on the Betsy after reading all the positive Trip Advisor reviews. For the most part, I would concur - the Betsy is a great hotel; certainly the best on Ocean Drive. Its location away from the honky-tonk section of South Beach is a plus, yet the beach is just a few steps away. It's elegant and sophisticated with a great porch and beautiful lobby. Our room was spotless and the housekeeping service attentive. The bed was amazingly comfortable with piles of pillows and soft, clean, cool sheets. I looked forward to climbing into it at night as well as for afternoon/apres soleil naps. The staff was friendly and accommodating - for the most part. What made it less than perfect? The enthusiastic and seemingly helpful concierge said she would look into a minor request and promised that she would leave a list of suggestions in our room, which she never did. A little disappointing. The front desk suggested that we check out Espanola Way for dinner options, yet the area offered nothing but tourist traps. Couldn't really rely on them for any restaurant ideas, although we did eat at BLT one night, which was absolutely amazing. The hotel's pool is small, but what's worse is that their a/c and/or kitchen fans are nearby, so the noise makes sitting by the pool unbearable. No HBO or TCM. No towel racks in the bath where one can hang a wet bathing suit or even towels. Also, I opted to pay a bit more for a room w/ a view of the pool, which was dumb because the pool is in the hotel's center courtyard, thus all the windows look out on to one another affording absolutely no privacy. So, I paid extra for a room where I couldn't even open the window! They do offer a late checkout, which was great because it enabled us to spend a few hours on the beach before leaving. Left our bags w/ the hotel while we bought sandwiches for the flight home. When we got into the taxi, I noticed that the strap of my beach bag had broken. No big deal, but the hotel attendant could have said something since it happened while in his care. All in all, it's a great hotel, but our experience was a little less than perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkDaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

My husband and I recently went to Miami and we stayed at the Betsy hotel. We adored it!! The staff welcomed us as if we were really special, and that's how we were treated throughout our stay.
Our room was lovely, done in shades of white and lilac. We even got to choose our own music when we made our reservation, so we had soothing classical to listen to. There were books in our room to read, a tray of healthy (but yummy) snack food, and bookmarks with seeds you could plant! incredible attention to detail. We loved lounging on the beach, where we didn't have to lift a finger, yet our chairs and umbrellas were situated exactly to our liking.
The restaurant is called BLT and is run by chef Laurent Tourondel, is fabulous. I love French food. My husband is usually a steak and potatoes man, but at BLT it doesn't matter, because everything is delicious.
We were respected and catered to and we will never stay anywhere in South beach again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireandShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
The Betsy - South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing