We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hey, at least your in Miami!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fritz Hotel
Ranked #101 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
BROOKLYN
1 review
“Hey, at least your in Miami!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

So first off let me say that with many of the hotels on the "strip" its a gamble. Some have great qualities but lack in certain services. I stayed at Casanova Suites with friends for memorial day weekend and i must say we had a very mixed experience. For the most part it is definitely worth what we payed for it but it wasn't all the website would make you think. Some of the staff was very friendly, others... not so much. Our television didn't work well either but we were in Miami, we could have stayed in New York if we wanted to watch television. My only personal "beef" was that i am a tea drinker and of the five nights we stayed there i requested tea bags and was given the run around. I still haven't had any of the "complimentary tea". Another issue we had was that a good amount of the staff did not speak English.
AND there was definitely a roach issue.

The rooms however.. very spacious. We had a one bedroom and we had more than enough room for the four of us.
Some of the staff was VERY friendly and the restaurant was definitely one of the best out of the many on "the strip"
I felt safe, the cameras monitored the halls well and i felt like the font desk person was attentive to them.
We were not hassled with the guest policy either, a few of our friends stayed across the street and would often stop by our room in the wee ours of the night to hang out with no issue.

All in all our stay at all perfect but it wasn't bad at all, it was worth the price we paid and.. hey ... we were in Miami!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    110
    48
    21
    16
See reviews for
74
127
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

My boyfriend and I visited Miami for the first time over the July 4th weekend. I was a little worried about the hotel after reading a few reviews on here and doing some research about hotels looking much better online than in person on South Beach. However, my fears were calmed as soon as I walked into the Casanova Suites lobby. Yes, the entrance is a little weird being between two buildings off Ocean Drive, but I kind of liked that not just anybody could wander around the hotel undetected. We arrived early from the airport but Carlo (?) called up and found our room to be ready. He explained all the paperwork clearly and made us feel welcome. Our oceanfront suite room was huge. It was more than enough room for the two of us with the large stainless steel fridge, dishwasher, flat screen tv and two couches in the living room and large bed and another flat screen in the bedroom. There were a few cons however. The curtains in the bedroom had stains on them and the couch in the living room had dirt on the cushions as well. Several lights in the room did not work either. All of this overlooked by the great location and view from the balcony. We had a perfect view of ocean drive and the beach. Several times during our stay we ate and drank on the balcony while people-watching below. The pool was still being renovated and that was a downer considering they have pictures of it on the website. While the staff was friendly and gave us information, they do not have the concierge services of a large hotel like passes to clubs and pool parties in the area. Overall we had a good experience at the hotel and because of the great location, room layout and size, and friendliness of staff we plan to go back during our next trip to Miami.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybella00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

Rooms are all suites with kitchenettes...Lots of space and very clean! Its located in the middle of South Beach across from the beach! Would stay again! Enough room for 4 people. We had 1 bd rm suite & our son stayed on pull out couch in living rm! Great price compared to other suites in area!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ritab2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I rented their One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite for one night, and was able to check in at 8:30 am to prepare for my wedding. The 800 square foot room was beautiful decorated, had the perfect amount natural light for photos and their staff went out of their way for us. After the wedding the hotel was in the perfect location for partying in South Beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamituscani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasanovaSuites, Manager at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Dear Miamituscani,
It was our pleasure to help you enjoy your wedding!
Hope to see you soon.
Camilo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

My nephews and I just left SoBe and the Casanova Suites. The hotel was a great location if you enjoy the beach and action. Staff was cordial and helpful when requested. Unlike other reviews, I did not notice any signs of racial favoritism or partiality. Although it is a half a block from the attractive/peaceful "south of fifth" area, the location is bubbling with action. The pluses were: location, room size, full-size kitchen, on-site nightclub. Areas to improve: side entrance appears if you are entering an alley, can't enter the lobby in bathing suit or without your shirt (this is South Beach and you are 100 yards from the beach???), 2 bedroom offered an ipod docking station--but 1 bedroom did not. Overall, I would recommend and stay there again, this hotel has the potential of being within the top 5 hotels on Ocean Drive (Behind only: The Tides, Victor, Bentley, and Hilton Bentley). Finally, with some basic maintenance, fresh paint, high end electronics, on-site computer or complimentary wireless this property would be an extremely attractive boutique.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awoods456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasanovaSuites, Manager at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Dear awoods456,
We are glad to hear that you loved our hotel! I hope we have a chance to host you in the near future. Regarding not allowing people to be shirtless in the lobby, that is standard practice in all hotels in Miami. We will take it into consideration for the near future though.
Thanks for staying with us.
Camilo - Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I would just like to thank everyone at Casanova Suites. I saw the other reviews and my opinion is that this is a great hotel for the price. I have stayed at different hotels but this was a good experience for me because of the service and care and concern of the staff. I would say that it was 4-5 star service at a 2-3 star price. I know the building itself is aged but I am realistic about what I am getting and for what price. This was a fabulous vacation for me and I'd like to thank everyone there for doing their best to make my stay pleasant. Thats all I could ask for.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjb8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Nothing special about the room there was a view of another building from are window.
The place is clean. The pool on the roof was closed, dirty roped off.
The check in was weird sort of a dark area inbetween the restaurant,perhaps an old lobby.
The location is great however, you can walk across to the beach which is wonderful.
Staff was polite, but not helpful.
I would only stay there if the price was right!

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelerval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasanovaSuites, Manager at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear User,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience at our property. Even though we always aim to offer the best service at the best price, sometimes things do not go as expected. We appreciate your detailed review and we will use your comments to improve our service.

In any case, we hope in the near future you stay with us to change your mind about our hotel.

Thank you and regards.

Casanova Suites on the Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#96 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#109 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fritz Hotel

Property: The Fritz Hotel
Address: 524 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6616 (Formerly Casanova Suites on the Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fritz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fritz Hotel its an , all suites boutique hotel with an upscale design, where the atmosphere and ambiance attract celebrities and trendy vacationers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Fritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Suites On The Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Casanova Hotel Miami Beach
The Fritz Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing