We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came back 4 years later; they made lots of improvements”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #57 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Came back 4 years later; they made lots of improvements”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I re-read my review of this property from 2010 and they made all the improvements that I suggested in that review. The white furniture and room decor held up well, the patios have furniture, the gym is much better, the pools are good, the housekeeping staff bring you what you ask for promptly, the doors open and close well, etc. The penthouse suites are very pretty and very spacious. I had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast from the lobby bar, both of which were decent enough. You can easily get a taxi from the hotel lobby. They have 4 elevators servicing roughly 14 floors which is very good. They have some spa treatments available now. The 7th floor pool and jacuzzi are great and it is an additional feature that it has the western sun whereas most pool areas along the beach are dark by mid-afternoon. The only negative experience that I had is they add 20% service charge to every check, even if you takeout from the lobby bar which involves no real service beyond putting bagels into a bag. This matters because at dinner I was presented a check that suggests a tip. I left a tip and then found out the next morning at checkout, when I noticed the charge was higher than I remembered, that an additional 20% service charge was added to the bill after I signed it and had left a tip. The front desk took it off, but I was extremely perturbed about it. I wonder how many other people have this happen to them. This is why Trip Advisor exists. Beware!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Ivanciment, thank you for taking the time to review our property after your second stay with us. We value your feedback, as it helps see the progress we have made over the past 4 years and also allows us to indicate the improvements we yet have to establish on property. We are thrilled to see that we have managed to successfully improve in so many aspects since your last visit. To ensure the fresh outlook of the room furniture and décor, we not only treat it regularly, but also ensure that the carpeting is replaced once a year and deep cleaning is done as necessary. Thank you for pointing out the advantages of our 7th floor adults only, tranquility pool, which as you have mentioned not only delivers the desired relaxed environment, but also allows guests to enjoy the direct sun light till the later hours of the day. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have been caused due to the automatically added 18% service charge to food and beverage charges. The reason behind this is the fact that our property is visited by many foreigners, who are not necessarily acquainted with the gratuity standards in the U.S. We appreciate your input and suggestions in this aspect of our operation. Management has been notified of your feedback and we will consider it when we review areas of the hotel, which require improvement. Thank you once again for your feedback. We value your loyalty and return business and hope that you will consider us again next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,237
    1,810
    551
    228
    202
See reviews for
2,177
1,534
93
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We originally booked at the Hilton Cabana Miami Beach which unfortunately was not completed on schedule (Easter weekend at an unbelievable rate) so they booked us into the Grand Beach. We did some research and it seemed like a decent alternate hotel. When we checked in the person at the front desk knew we were re-booked as a result of the Hilton delayed opening. What the check in person did not mention was that they were putting us in a smoking room. Not only did they not mention this - there was no marking that it was a smoking room nor any marking on the floor that it was a smoking floor. When I confronted the front desk as to why we were not told we were put into a smoking room the response was that was the only room available so it would not have mattered. I replied it would have mattered to me and that I was extremely upset that they tried to hide the fact that they put us into a smoking room on a smoking floor simply as a result of the low rate we received. They were completely unapologetic and frankly could care less. Not only was the room a smoking room, the safe and one of the TVs was not working but after a couple of calls for each were fixed. The only positive I would state is that the bed was comfortable.

I travel a lot and this was the worst customer service I have ever received at any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear William C, thank you for your review and we apologize for the experience you had while our guest. We are empathetic of your frustration with the room, which was assigned to you. We find it distressing that you were not advised upfront of the room type you were being assigned. The service you experienced in this aspect of your stay seems well off of our normal levels of engagement and professionalism. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we are committed to offer the best of service with great products and thus, we will looking into the concerns you have expressed without delay. Additional training will be assigned to ensure this misunderstanding does not occur again. We would like to offer our genuine apology for we have failed to inform you of the room type you were assigned, which caused you an inconvenience. It is our hope that you will be willing to give our property a second chance and thus give us the opportunity to gain back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here in late March. Hotel on the beach. Had a 2 room suite overlooking the bay. What a view. Room was impeccable. Booked it through Skyauction. Saved a bunch of money, especially since it was spring break. Adult only pool on 7th floor. $15 cab ride to South Beach. Saved a ton of money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vp050176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Vp050176, thank you for deciding to give the Grand Beach Hotel a chance on your trip to Miami Beach in late March. We could not be happier with the top traveler rating you have given our property. We would like to congratulate you on your choice of an accommodation, since our 2-bedroom suites are one of the best suites we offer at the hotel with their spaciousness and the spectacular views they have to offer guests. We are glad to read you have decided to join us at the 7th floor adults only, tranquility pool and that you were positively impressed with this pool area. It is wonderful that by choosing us as your hotel accommodation you managed to stay within budget and even save on your Miami Beach trip. Our hotel does strive to provide affordable luxury and we are always happy to learn when our guests have felt that the ratio- value for price paid has been on point. Thank you again and please do consider us again next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here April 11th with my family (4 &5 yrd girls). Stayed over one night to cruise out on Saturday. I was impressed with the grounds once we arrived. The young gal at the front desk was very accomodating . She got us a room right away, even though we checked ion at 0900.

We ate the breakfast buffet at the restaurant. Great place, the service was great! The pool area was very nice. We spent alot of time out there. Beautiful grounds! Great layout!

The room was very very nice! I thought the bed was comy and the room was large enough for us 4! Very happy!

Overall I was very happy where we stayed and I would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear John B, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Beach Hotel with the TripAdvisor community. It is our pleasure to learn that the combination of great customer service, well-appointed room accommodation, and nice amenities managed to deliver a five-star experience to you and your family. We are absolutely thrilled with the kind feedback you shared in all aspects of your visit. We are always happy to accommodate our guests with an early check-in, as long as we have the necessary availability to do so. The recommendation you are willing to extend of our hotel to others means a lot to us and we appreciate it. Thank you again for deciding to join us at the Grand Beach Hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in Grand Beach for 1 week for our honeymoon. It was just gorgeous! Our room was a partial bay view...but we could see all of Miami bay to the left hand side and all of the beautiful beach to the right hand side. It was perfect! The room was great, massive big bed, lounge area and 2 bathrooms. The pool area is well maintained and we had lunch and cocktails in the poolside restaurant every day. It was a little further from South Beach than we had anticipated, but we could hop on and off buses as there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and SoBe is only about 10 minutes away. Only downside was that you had to pay for sun loungers to use on the actual beach. It was a bit disappointing this wasn't gratis!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Adrain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mrs_Adrain1, we are always happy when travelers trust us as their accommodation on Miami Beach, but we are truly thrilled when they choose us as the celebration spot for special occasions, such as a honeymoon. We could not be more pleased to learn of your satisfaction with your overall experience onsite. We are delighted with the positive feedback you shared of our bay view rooms and the spectacular views they have to offer of the bay to one side and the ocean to the other side. We are glad you enjoyed the in-room amenities, pool areas, as well as the poolside restaurant and bar. We must agree on your opinion of our beachfront location, as it truly is further north from South Beach; thus allowing for a more relaxing beach experience. At the same time South Beach is only a short bus ride away, which is affordable and convenient, as the bus stop is right in front of the hotel and the bus fare is just $2 per person. We hope the beach chair and umbrella rental did not affect your pleasant experience onsite in a negative way. In contrast to many other hotels in the area, we do not charge a mandatory, daily resort fee and it is our hope that this fact will somewhat outweigh your disappointment with the beach chair rental. Thank you once more for choosing us as your hotel accommodation for such special occasion as your honeymoon. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for 5 nights before our Coral Princess Panama Cruise.
Beautiful room,large,extremely comfortable bed and a bed settee for our daughter.2 bathrooms,2 T.V's,balcony,wonderful views.Excellent breakfast,friendly helpful staff.Three warm pools, could have done with a few more sun loungers.Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ronda286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Ronda286, thank you for giving Grand Beach Hotel the top traveler rating. We are always happy to learn when our guests have had a joyful stay with us. It is wonderful to know that you have the intention of visiting us again in the future. We will look forward to welcoming you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We spend 5 weeks a year at the Grand Beach and enjoy every day. The grounds and rooms are kept up like a 5 star resort. The food and drinks are great and reasonable for Miami. Having a private adults only 7th floor pool is awesome. Each suite we've been in have 2 bathrooms and balconies.

The staff is like a 2nd family to us. Ingrid at the front desk is so good. JC, Hylton, Hans and Ivan at the bars are top notch honest and fun people. Jacek and the rest of the management team have done a great job is all aspects of building a special hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear m39976f1, it is true pleasure to read the wonderful, kind words you have had to share of the Grand Beach Hotel. We are thrilled to know that we are your choice of hotel accommodation on your visits to Miami Beach. We are delighted that you feel the grounds and rooms at the hotel are of a five-star property standard. Thank you for commenting so positively on our food and beverage outlets; it is a pleasure to know that we are managing to meet your taste preferences on a continuous basis. It is very rewarding to hear that the entire team has always been friendly, helpful with a can-do attitude and everyone was efficient in their efforts to assist you. We will make sure to notify the rest of the staff of your kind words regarding their service performance. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we appreciate your loyalty and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing