We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #57 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Grand Hotel is an excllent choice for those not wishing to experience the hustle and bustle of South Beach on their doorstep. It is a 7 minute bus ride from the main resort with its numerous bars and restaurants. The buses (S or L) run about evey 15 minutes until very late into the evening. A taxi will cost about $10.

When choosing the Grand Beach we didn't expect too much but was pleasantly surprised on arrival. The reception is bright and clean and the staff at the Reception Desk were helpful. Unfortunately, the Bell Captain was non existent. After waiting 45 minuites for my bags I went back to reception and collected them myself.

We stayed in room 1832. It had a full sea/beach view, a large balcony, a small lounge area with large TV, small kitchen, a seperate bedroom with large TV, a full bathroom, and a shower room; overall a nice clean room.

The bar in the hotel is in an odd location approximately 25 feet away and directly opposite to the reception desk. The swimming pool was small and the surrounding area shaded. We could never get a sun lounger. They have an adult only pool of the 7th floor but that to was always busy with no free loungers. $20 a day for two sunbeds and $10 a day for each umbrella on the beach is excessive.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter because they are on the opposite side from the road, which occasionally b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Garry A, thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to share both your good and not so good impressions from our property. We are thrilled to learn that we managed to exceed your expectations and surprise you pleasantly upon arrival at the hotel. We would like to thank you for extending such detailed feedback regarding our location and the means of transportation the area has to offer, in case guests do not have a personal vehicle or rent-a-car. We are certain the guidelines you have provided in this aspect would prove useful for other travelers who may be considering staying with us at the Grand Beach Hotel. We appreciate the kind remarks you have made about our public areas’ ambiance and about the overall comfort and feel of our room accommodations. Our oceanfront suites are indeed one of the best accommodations we have to offer guests- they are bright, spacious, comfortable, and offer amazing ocean and beach views. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your luggage upon arrival. We will make sure to follow up on your feedback and ensure that this issue is resolved in the future. When it comes to the beach chair and umbrella rentals; we would like to advise that our property does not charge a mandatory resort fee, in contrast to many other hotels in the area. We prefer to give our guests the opportunity of choosing the services they would like to use daily and thus pay only for services used. We apologize, if this has caused you an inconvenience. We would be sure to advise management of your comments in this regard. We also do offer a beach experience package that includes the price of beach chairs and umbrella within the room rate. It is our hope that this has not affected your otherwise positive experience on property in a negative way and that you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,197
    1,783
    543
    224
    197
See reviews for
2,141
1,509
92
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience here! On the back of a terrible hotel experience, this hotel got our vacation back on track! Everything was perfect! The room and view was amazing!! Beach and location couldn't be better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank constantraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Constantraveler26, we appreciate you giving the Grand Beach Hotel the top traveler rating. It is with pleasure that we learn of the wonderful experience you have had on property with us. Thank you for commenting so positively of our spacious suites and the truly spectacular views they have to offer guests. We are glad to learn you have found our beachfront location and direct beach access from hotel premises as convenient and enjoyable. It has been an honor to serve you during your time with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Had an opportunity to spend 3 days with the family including 2 kids and the service was perfect. From the front desk which Kenner and German offered exceptional service and advise to the pool area and the kid friendly area. Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Carlos T, thank you for trusting your recent family vacation to the Grand Beach Hotel. We are happy to know you have found our room accommodations, kid-friendly hotel facilities, and welcoming customer service to your satisfaction and liking. We appreciate the recommendation you are willing to extend to other travelers of our hotel. Thank you for your five-star rating. We are looking forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Likes: 1. Two bathrooms in the suite.
2. Nice balcony with great bay view
3. Comfortable bed
4. Air conditioning worked great
5. Hotel has very nice views

Dislikes:
1. Too few elevators for the hotel's size...very long waiting times
2. Very long lines for the coffee bar (too small for hotel size not enough staff)
3. All photos on the website are very deceiving. The hotel and it's outdoor areas (pools etc.) are packed with people and their belongings. Absolutely no where on the property is there any place even remotely tranquil like the photos suggest. (pools and amenities are not sufficient for the hotel's size)
4. We were staying at the hotel for a celebration weekend. On Friday, the adult pool bar did not open until almost 1:00pm. The hours on the door said open hours from 10:00am. When we called the front desk and asked why the pool bar was still not open at noon, she answered "I don't know what to tell you."

If you enjoy large crowds, huge lines and mediocre service (some staff were friendly and helpful, many others were indifferent) then maybe this is the hotel choice for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with balcony are nice. Bay view is quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear MattandTed, thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our property as a result of your recent visit to the hotel. While we are glad to see you have enjoyed some amenities and services onsite, such as the rooms and the views they have to offer, we are sorry to read of your disappointment with so many other aspects of our hotel. We apologize for the delays and wait times you experienced; while, we would be sure to check back on your feedback; it is possible that the traffic of people in certain areas of the hotel was caused by visitors, because we did have guests onsite, who were holding an event at a nearby venue. We will also follow up on the hours of operation sign for the 7th floor Sunset Bar. If tranquility is what you seek when onsite, we may suggest you visit our 7th floor adults only pool and ocean terrace, as well as the beach area accessible directly from hotel premises. We would make sure to notify the concerned departments of your feedback. We would appreciate it if you would give us the chance to change your perception of our property and would like to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Grand Beach Hotel on our first trip to Miami. As soon as we arrived, the staff checked us in to the wrong room, but then fixed it as soon as we complained. The hotel is beautiful and has its own entrance to the beach through the swimming pool. I like how they had 2 different pool areas, one downstairs and one above the 10th floor - both equipped with a bar and cater to different age groups. The food is slightly over priced but tasted good. The only issue I had was that their service was not the best, and that the staff wasn't friendly. Overall, good hotel for soaking up the sun and a short stay :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zehra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Zehra K, it has been a pleasure to serve you during your time with us in November of 2013. We are honored to have been chosen as your accommodation on your very first trip to Miami Beach. It is nice to read that the hotel ambiance, as well as the hotel facilities, such as the direct beach access and two separate pool areas- one for families and one only for adults, have been to your liking and satisfaction. We would like to take the time and apologize for failing to meet your needs and expectations for quality of service. We do value our guest’s feedback and comments and we do our best to follow through with them and ensure improvement in the areas of the hotel, where guests are not completely satisfied. We are certain to have improved in the aspect of guest service since your last visit with us in November of 2013 and it is our hope that you would give us the chance to earn back your trust and make your opinion of our staff service attitude more favorable. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have been impressed by the good reception staff at the hotel deal I have spent with family and have fun, and I liked the services provided at the hotel I hope to be back next year for housing in the same hotel

Room Tip: Suites are large and it has a very good view to the beach and the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amidher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Amidher, we appreciate you sharing your experience at the Grand Beach Hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are really pleased that we could make your time with us both relaxing and comfortable. It is with pleasure that we learn of your satisfaction with the services offered onsite and the level of helpful and attentive staff service attitude you came across in your encounters with team members throughout the hotel. We are proud to have a team of highly motivated individuals, who all strive to deliver the best guest experience possible; thus, making you feel at home in the duration of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is nicely located close to south beach and ocean drive. We have swam in the ocean in the morning which was nice as well. The pool area and the beach were good.
The hotel is average though but you can choose if you want to stay at the beach in Miami

Room Tip: Choose higher floors especially do not choose 7th floor since it is being opened to a terrace where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear GK2012, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are thrilled to learn of your satisfaction with Grand Beach Hotel’s beachfront location, which does not only provide for direct beach access from hotel premises, but is also easily accessible from and to the airport and the South Beach area. We are glad you have enjoyed a refreshing morning swim in the duration of your stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendations with us and other travelers. We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing