We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #49 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was clean and nicely decorated although their attempt at being 'chic and modern' came off as cheap and lackluster. The open shower in the bathroom looked more like a gym locker room and we had to use all of the towels provided in our room to clean the puddles of water that flooded the bathroom after each use. The unfinished ceilings appeared as unfinished blocks of cement with random orange spray paint in sections.

The doors have a privacy setting preventing cleaning service from entering the room if you set the lock at private. We were not told about this setting and by accidentally pressing the privacy button when leaving for dinner we ended up locked out of our room for close to an hour. Even though we are told this is a common occurrence, the front desk continued to issue us new keys about 5 times... none of which worked. Finally after waiting in the hallway for what felt like forever a security guard was able to let us in with his master key. Make sure you know about the privacy lock before you leave the room! It does not automatically disengage when you open the door to go of your room.

Unfortunately due to our short stay we were unable to take advantage of the beach and rooftop pool amenities, which I hear are both very nice perks of the hotel. I will say that the beds were very comfortable and it is worth the splurge on a balcony room as the views of the city are very nice. Breakfast is included from 8-11 which is also a nice perk and not common at most hotels these days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squatopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hello Squatopotamus,

We value the time that you took to provide us with your honest feedback! We take our guests comments very serious and though it pains us to hear that your experience wasn't positive, we see every opportunity as chance to learn and to grow. Though situations like yours are rare, it is something that we must always be vigilant about as we continually try to enrich your stay with the best boutique experience in South Beach. The next time that you are back in town, I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay at our hotel is an all- out success!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,063 - 2,069 of 3,149 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

The good:
- The room itself was really nice, large (by NYC standards), very comfortable beds.
- The patio is perfect for early evening cocktails (free drinks from 7-8 is a great way to start the evening!) or for breakfast. Even had live jazz Sunday night
- The rooftop pool is nice (although tiny compared to the hotel photos)

The bad:
- There is NO SOUNDPROOFING! Our 1st room was on the ground floor - not sure why they put chairs right outside our door but we heard every word, especially early morning when people were having breakfast. The hotel was nice and moved us to the 2nd floor - but right by the elevator. Again, heard every conversation of people waiting for the elevator.
- Breakfast was a few pieces of toast and cereal. And when it's gone, that's all.

If it wasn't for being woken up early every morning, I would absolutely recommend this hotel but that's not what I want when on vacation. If you can get a room on a top floor, far away from the elevator, then do stay there; otherwise, you might want to look at other options (I've stayed at Townhouse before, which I really like but was sold out).

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevator is key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is our first time at a boutique style hotel. Previous visits to Fontainebleau and W were upscale and posh but not intimate. Riveria exceeded our expectations and gave us a completely different and wonderful experience. The room was outstanding and the service was very good. Staying one block off the beach was no problem at all and the savings were unbelievable. This hotel is small, hospitable and very inviting. We arrived early and were put in the only room available which happened to be handicapped accessible and were informed that it was the same as other rooms.... It wasn't. The staff and manager Rene made up for the mistake and moved us to a great room and allowed us to have a late checkout for our late flight. The only other concerns were cold hallways and thin walls - otherwise this hotel is an A+. It's a great place for people of all ages and is not at all crowded with young party goers. Keep an eye out for Suzy the bartender as she is friendly and makes a great Bloody Mary. George Merano the bar owner is extremely nice and fun for some good conversation. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: Room 117 was great in the "suites" building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hello there Scott S,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent experience with us! We are very glad to know that your stay with us was a 5 star one! :) Since we are a boutique hotel the experience is very different from the larger hotel such as The W and the Fontainebleau. We are very intimate as you mentioned. I apologize that you were given incorrect information, but we made up for that immediately. Renee is great and our goal is to make sure that every guest is content and having a great time! I will definitely make sure that Suzy, Jorge and Renee are aware of your wonderful praise!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Well im not sure where to start first, this hotel is the best my wife and i have ever stayed at. We were given a room in the third building (the one with the pool on the roof) and when we first got to are room there was a maid cleaning and the room was still dirty but she quickly gave us the room across and even went down to get are new room keys for us whitch we thought was very sweet. Are room was so clean and beautiful the decor was awsome. We loved the continental breakfast it was different every day with a wide selection. Then i have to say the 6-7 free drinks happy hour was the best perk they offered we loved that but i cant just say i loved the happy hour but the server at the bar was excellent and treated us like old friends. Okay enough of the hotel now let me tell you we loved loved loved the location just outside the party zone so you could sleep if you wanted but still close enough to hit the action plus the beach was right down the road. I wish i could just keep writing good because thats all i have to say is good things but i'll let you experiences it for your self. Thank you for the experience riviera next time we are in south beach we are staying there :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Good Evening Edward Z,

There is absolutely nothing that we love to see more then wonderful feedback with 5 stars!!!!! We apologize that the room that you were given was not ready when you walked into it, but that our team was able to efficiently provide you with keys to the room across the hall. We offer a good load of amenities when choosing to stay with us- from the R/T shuttle, cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly, beach chairs and towels at the beach club, WiFi- just to name a few. The location of our property is quietly tucked away in a residential area, yet still extremely close to all of the action. We can't wait for you to stay with us again, the near future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is beautiful! The rooms were comfy and clean and you can get a balcony with your room. Not only is it in a great location but they also have a great happy hour from 7-8 and free continental breakfast from 8-11!! That was the longest breakfast I've ever seen. I love the decor of the hotel and roof top pool is another plus! Thank you Steven Morales for making sure all my needs were met! Can't wait to be able to stay there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Good Afternoon Elizabeth P,

There is nothing that we love to see more then an amazing review with 5 stars!!! Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us! We are very content to know that you stay with us was wonderful! From the location of our property, to the room itself, to the amenities that we offer, and the service that you received from Steven Morales. It seems that you were able to enjoy it all! Please come back for another memorable time! We would love to have you! :)

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Thank you so much to Jessica S, the amazing reservation agent and Pedro Alvarado, the most gracious and fantastic front desk agent. Our experience from start to finish was perfect. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting south beach.
Not only was the entire staff helpful and nice, we were updated to a large luxe suite when we were checking in which we heard just so happen to be the largest suite in the hotel which faced an outside courtyard that made us feel like we were somewhere in Thailand. Gorgeous and we loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandiga_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hello there chandiga_SH,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful 5 STAR FEEDBACK with us, and all of our future guests! I am extremely glad to read that you had such an amazing experience while staying with us! Jessica S is absolutely amazing and all of our guests love her! I will definitely let her know of your kind praise! :) Please come back for another memorable time with us!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband, my grandson, and I stayed in Riviera South Beach Hotel in October, 2013. We liked everything there. The hotel location was excellent. It was near Collins Avenue and one block of Ocean drive. It was close to the beach, only about 5 minutes walk. The hotel was very clean. Our room was large and very comfortable. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We had a great stay there and we definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Good Afternoon Maria N,

There is absolutely nothing that we love more then a lovely 5 star review!!!!! We are very content to know that you liked it here with us! We are close to everything that you want to get to, yet away from all the noise when you want to escape from it. I am glad that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your room, as well as with the service that was provided to you. We hope that you make us your go-to hotel when visiting Miami!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,561 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,782 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,398 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,797 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £121 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing