We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel To Deal With” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #56 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel To Deal With”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Don't stay here unless you plan on sleeping in the wrong room! Upon check-in, they gave me a studio instead of a 1 bedroom deluxe which is what I paid for.

They lie about the description of what a 1 bedroom is. They feel that because a studio has a kitchen and dining area (plus a bed in the room) that it can be called a 1 bedroom deluxe room.

Then after another reservation was made for a 2nd night, using an online reservation site, I needed to cancel it and they would not refund anything at all - claiming they could not sell the room again because it was out of the inventory.

The shower did not have any door, so water was all over the floor every time I showered. So much so, that the bedroom wood floors were warped and coming up off the floor at the entrance from the bathroom.

I couldn't turn off one of the lamps because the switch was broken. When I called for assistance, he just took off the switch knob from another lamp in the room and told me to use the switch for that lamp, to accommodate the one that was broken.

The decor is NOT South Beach - dark wood paneling everywhere, including the bathroom! The living room had some type of animal print as and area carpet.

I will never stay at this hotel again! There are way better places to stay at for the same price. I can't believe the regular price they charge their patrons.

Horrible value!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDN_Traveller_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Good Afternoon CDN_Traveller_1979,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for the time you took to share yours with us! Unfortunately when you book through a third party the room type is never guaranteed. We have one bedrooms and we have studio's as well. When you cancel and you are not within the cancellation policy there is a cancellation policy which also goes for any other hotel. The decor of our hotel is funky and unique and not your average Art Deco type decor. I am sorry that your experience with us was not amazing!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    604
    280
    126
    164
See reviews for
310
883
188
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Riviera is a fun and chic hotel definitely for people who want to be close to south beach but away from the chaos. if you're used to walking you can pretty much walk to all the popular places in south beach. Since we're from NYC we had no problem doing that.

The rooms are clean, a little small but it is fine. The only thing i did not like are the showers! seriously who thought it was a good idea to have only half a glass? water gets everywhere. it's not functional at all.

The best part about the Riviera is the bartenders! i would definitely stay here again to hang with them again! Suzy is very sweet and makes yummy and tropical drinks. Marlon is very chill and he knows all the cool local places to hang. James is hilarious and had everyone laughing the entire time during happy hour. He also knows some really good restaurants in the area. The bartenders are seriously the best!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello there Tia M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent visit! We are very glad to know that you had such a great time with us! We are close to all the action, yet tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood that is nice and quiet. :) I will definitely make sure to inform Suzy, Marlon and James about your wonderful praise! They will be stoked to hear it! Our team works hard to make sure that everyone is enjoying their time spent with us! Please come back for another memorable time with us!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at Riviera hotel with my sister in November for a week. It was amazing week with Riviera Hotel and its staff. The hotel has a great location, close to the beach and Collins Av, Ocean Drive where there are a lot of restaurants, bars and clubs. At the same time the hotel is located in the quite place in Liberty Av. and you can sleep well at night.
The room was nicely decorated, clean , modern and very comfortable. It was very pleasant to stay near the swimming pool on the roof, it was always clean there and were some of the most comfortable sun beds we have experienced. The guys there and lady Susy were always kind, polite and attentive.
The staff were very friendly, the girl and boy at the front desk were really kind and polite during our check in (it was pretty fast). Actually all the staff at hotel were attentive and supported with all you needed. All of them created feeling of safety and it seemed that you were at home with big family in cosy atmoshpere.
Will definitely be returning and will definitely stay at this hotel again!! Also we can recommend to everybody the RIVIERA HOTEL and guarantee 100% satisfaction after staying here.
Thank you for a really great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetlanaSPB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello SvetlanaSPB99,

There is nothing that we love to see more then a wonderful review with 5 stars!!!!!!!!! We are extremely glad to know that you had such a great time with us! From the staff, to the location of our property, to the room, and everything in between- it seems like you enjoyed it all! Our staff works hard to make sure that each and every guest is having a great time with us, and that the rooms are clean and the grounds are well kept! We would love to have you stay with us again in the near future! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our overall stay at the hotel was great. The hotel has 3 different suites all very beautiful. we enjoyed the rooftop pool in building 3, simple yet satisfying continental breakfast in building 1 and Happy Hour from 7-8 in building 2. Here was where we met James and Suzy, the bar team. Both made AMAAZING drinks. If you want to know where to have great meals ask James. He knows his area very well. These two added to our stay experience. Suzy makes a mean tropical drink.
There is construction work in building 3 but it's during work hours. We weren't in our room for extended period of times to have been bothered by the work going on. My advice for anyone who's going to stay there will; be very clear as what you are looking for in your rooms, from space, 2 baths to balcony view.
Overall Great stay great place

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eab81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello there eab81,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated!!! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests!! We are very glad to know that you had such a great time with us! I see that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that we offer here at Riviera Suites! Both James and Suzy are both great and all of our guests absolutely love them! I will make sure to let them know of your kind praise! :) Please come back for another memorable time with us! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

First off, there must be something wrong with the imagination of both Squatopotamus and Carolinerg. How they could be so downright critical of the Riviera Suites is totally incomprehensible.Let's think about it, we have a 150+ room "boutique" style hotel / suites using 3 different buildings. The oldest is 5 years old, the 2nd is 3 and the 3rd is only 4 - 5 months old. We stayed in the newest, building 3 in room 409 and found it absolutely superb.The hotel offers free WiFi, free PC access, free breakfast, complimentary cocktail hour, complimentary beach chairs & towels, free airport shuttle on return and free USA telephone calls. We've stayed, previously, at the 5* Delano and can tell you the rooms at the Riviera are equally as good as the Delano. Everyone here, especially Yolande, on reception, were extremely friendly and helpful. It's inevitable that the floor gets wet if you stomp around the bedroom after a shower but that does NOT deserve negative remarks nor does locking oneself out of one's room due to self stupidity.
The hotel is superbly placed for Collins Ave, Washington Ave, Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road the boardwalk, beaches and shops!
The rooftop pool and deck is fabulous!
Only point for the hotel to bear in mind is to make sure in room "amenities" are restocked including loo rolls!
Apart from that, we would have absolutely no hesitation i recommending this hotel and would return, without hesitation, at any time.

Room Tip: I would suggest upper level(s) building 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Good Afternoon MandYDerbyEngland.

There is nothing that we love to see more then a positive review with 5 stars!!! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are extremely glad to read that you had such a lovely time with us, and that you loved the room that you were given. The hotel offers a lot of complimentary amenities when you choose to stay with us. I see that you were able to enjoy the majority of them. :) We would love to have you stay with us again in the future! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was clean and nicely decorated although their attempt at being 'chic and modern' came off as cheap and lackluster. The open shower in the bathroom looked more like a gym locker room and we had to use all of the towels provided in our room to clean the puddles of water that flooded the bathroom after each use. The unfinished ceilings appeared as unfinished blocks of cement with random orange spray paint in sections.

The doors have a privacy setting preventing cleaning service from entering the room if you set the lock at private. We were not told about this setting and by accidentally pressing the privacy button when leaving for dinner we ended up locked out of our room for close to an hour. Even though we are told this is a common occurrence, the front desk continued to issue us new keys about 5 times... none of which worked. Finally after waiting in the hallway for what felt like forever a security guard was able to let us in with his master key. Make sure you know about the privacy lock before you leave the room! It does not automatically disengage when you open the door to go of your room.

Unfortunately due to our short stay we were unable to take advantage of the beach and rooftop pool amenities, which I hear are both very nice perks of the hotel. I will say that the beds were very comfortable and it is worth the splurge on a balcony room as the views of the city are very nice. Breakfast is included from 8-11 which is also a nice perk and not common at most hotels these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squatopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hello Squatopotamus,

We value the time that you took to provide us with your honest feedback! We take our guests comments very serious and though it pains us to hear that your experience wasn't positive, we see every opportunity as chance to learn and to grow. Though situations like yours are rare, it is something that we must always be vigilant about as we continually try to enrich your stay with the best boutique experience in South Beach. The next time that you are back in town, I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay at our hotel is an all- out success!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The good:
- The room itself was really nice, large (by NYC standards), very comfortable beds.
- The patio is perfect for early evening cocktails (free drinks from 7-8 is a great way to start the evening!) or for breakfast. Even had live jazz Sunday night
- The rooftop pool is nice (although tiny compared to the hotel photos)

The bad:
- There is NO SOUNDPROOFING! Our 1st room was on the ground floor - not sure why they put chairs right outside our door but we heard every word, especially early morning when people were having breakfast. The hotel was nice and moved us to the 2nd floor - but right by the elevator. Again, heard every conversation of people waiting for the elevator.
- Breakfast was a few pieces of toast and cereal. And when it's gone, that's all.

If it wasn't for being woken up early every morning, I would absolutely recommend this hotel but that's not what I want when on vacation. If you can get a room on a top floor, far away from the elevator, then do stay there; otherwise, you might want to look at other options (I've stayed at Townhouse before, which I really like but was sold out).

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevator is key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Croydon
#42 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#32 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Property: Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing