We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Design & Friendly Staff - Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was the first time in a while when I did not enjoy my stay at a Kimpton property. As other reviews suggested, the hotel decor and the rooms are very accommodating and the staff is incredibly friendly; however, there were far too many service issues that usually occur in the early stages of a hotel opening.

The hotel entrance and lobby is beautifully decorated with a modern theme and ample space. Both the bell staff and front desk are all incredibly helpful and friendly (Jessica at the front desk is an absolute delight) but the hotel should consider scheduling more than two front desk agents during a peak stay...it seemed that I was always waiting for assistance. Although I did not use the service, it seemed that there was always a concierge staff member present (morning through evening)...something I never really recognize elsewhere.

Rooms are standard size and very comfortable...especially the bed. One thing I really appreciated was the bathroom sink, which sunk into the counter. Other Kimptons install the sinks that rise up and are difficult to use, in my opinion. One very big downfall is that the rooms do not have curtains and sunlight enters very easily through the blinds... this needs to be fixed. Very big closets, sufficient electric outlets & desk space.

The rest of this review isn't pretty...

The fitness "center" is the size of a walk-in closet with two treadmills, one elliptical, one flat bench and weights that increase to 45. If you value a good workout at your hotel, this is not the place for you. Additionally, there was no towel service and most machines were not clean.

Pool towel service was incredibly disappointing. Only 1 out of 4 days during my stay were there actually clean towels available for use...all 3 other days I waited about 5 minutes for someone to bring more. This is one of those things (for the hotel's sake) that I hope corrects itself over time.

Take the stairs...they will bring you to your destination in lighting speed compared to the elevator.

Ate once at the restaurant for breakfast. Server had difficulty understanding our order and it came out incorrectly. Ordered an espresso that never came out until I asked where it was.

Overall, this hotel is nice and fun and the location is incredibly great...but so is every other hotel in South Beach. Would I stay here again? When in a city like Miami, I'd rather pay a premium for a nicer experience. Hoping a few things change in time...

Room Tip: The rooms furthest East are closest to the pool/ocean. You can take the stairs that lead directly d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Salmantino6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Salmantino6884 -
Thank you so much for your posting.
Thank you first of all for all the positives.
We also must sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
We have taken your comments to heart and will be focusing on our opportunities at the pool deck and fitness room.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,746 - 2,752 of 3,493 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Juast spent christamas and new years eve at the newly refurbished Surcomber hotel in South Beach. they did a good kob.. room are great and if you take in to consideration that they have ro work around the restriction of the historical preservation of the Art Deco building, they manage to make the best out of they bathrooms, very nice but they are a bit small... but any way what really made my holiday the way I WANT IT, was REUBEN TRANE Chief Concierge of the Hotel:

I lived 23 years in Asian, and I never thought that in the west the concierge could provide youa better service of the one of the peninsula or the mandarinn Oriental in HK or BKK... well I was wrong. Reuben just simply does it! I aske he delivered well done!

Raimondo Chiodi

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaimondoChiodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

RaimondoChiodi -
Thank you for the great contribution.
Thank you for singling out Reuben, he is a true professional.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean Mckeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel! The hotel is small and very cute. A plus is the location! Just steps away from the beach and from restaurants and shops. The staff was wonderful and really made our experience all the better. From the moment we got there they were ready to help us with anything we needed. Mauricio, Rashad, and Dorgis were extremely friendly, professional and always willing to help. They offered suggestions for great local hangouts, restaurants, shops, clubs/bars, etc. They really made the small hotel atmosphere come to live with their hospitality and by making us feel so welcomed. I have never experienced this type of wonderful service at any other hotel. It was my first time in South Beach, but without a doubt when I go back I will be staying at Surfcomber! Thanks to the staff for catering to us and helping make our experience a great one!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Monica R -
Wow-
Thank you for the excellent posting.
Thank you also for denoting a few great employees who exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Lobby = really nice.

Hallways = really dark, but nice. The elevator is really slow (and oddly not decorated up to the standard of the remainder of the hotel), but there are stairs, and it's only a 3 story hotel.

Location is great, at 17th and Collins, basically right next to the Delano.

Nice beach area, with really good food and not so great cocktails. Service was good. A little annoying that hotel guests have to pay $11 a chair and $15 per umbrella. For a week's vacation for two, that adds about $250 in hidden costs. Very few chairs at the pool (which is really nice).

Free wine from 5-6, which is nice. We missed it, but we were given wine glasses to drink our own wine in our room, and they were very nice.

Rooms are spotless and really nice. Very comfortable bed, crisp white sheets, nice tv, nice iphone dock and very nice (but small) bathroom with great soap and shampoo (Etro -- smells great).

The best thing about this place is the service. We were initially given a very nice corner room overlooking Collins. Because we needed peace and quiet (which Collins potentially did not offer), we asked the guest services representative (Vanessa) for a room change if possible. The hotel was sold out (it was the prime week between xmas and NYE), but we were given an equally nice room on the side, which was very quiet.

Vanessa also accommodated our other special requests. My wife needed a fridge to store something during our stay. Vanessa had a small fridge delivered to our room within minutes, at no charge. It was greatly appreciated.

Finally, I noted in our reservation that we would be celebrating our birthday while we were there. While we were out one day, Vanessa had a delicious small cake and a card brought to our room. A lot of hotels will do something like that, but our card was signed and personalized by at least half a dozen members of the staff. We thought it was above and beyond.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again. It's still under construction a little bit (almost unnoticeable), and I just hope the prices do not go up substantially when it's all done.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dman1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

dman1708 -
Thank you for your posting.
Thank you for mentioning our service.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is ideally located on South Beach and was recently renovated to be part of the Kimpton chain of hotel. The difference is very noticeable from the previous owner (Double tree). We stayed five nights as of,December 27th, 2011 in a King Size Ocean Front view room which was perfect. The view was gorgeous and the room was nicely decorated and sufficiently spacious for a party of two with lots of luggage. The staff was courteous everywhere we interracted with them (front desk, bell service, restaurant, etc). There were a few issues that will hopefully resolved over time as the renovation is finalized and the hotel is in full swing with its operations. First of all, the wifi signal in our room (382) was pretty poor and kept disconnecting. It could be due to the fact that this room is at the end of a long hall and that an additional Wifi Router is needed but that should be corrected. The gym should hardly be called that. It only has a couple of equiment and is very small. It's really a shame that a hotel so nciely renovated did not decide to invest more heavily on its gym facilities. The major point of disappointment comes from the restaurant. First of all, at braekfast, be advised that each time the server offers to refill your Orange Juice glass, it will cost you ANOTHER glass of Orange juice (yet this is not mentioned). At 6.00 USD per glass, it's pretty annoying (and fairly cheap). Refills should just be complimentary. But the major point is the chef at the restaurant; The food is pretty awful. The croissants are dry in the morning and seem to have been there foreever, The fruits are not that good. We tried lunch as well, and my Pad Thai felt like an entire cup of salt had been dropped into it and the "whole chicken" was not enough cooked. It all comes down to the Chef here which skills should defenitely be revisited... :-) As i've said, a great hotel with a few things to improve to make it a perfect hotel. We would defenitely stay there again (and will hope that the menu/chef will have been grandly improved by then!).

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchboy75010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Frenchboy75010 -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
We look forward to your return
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We arrived at Kimpton Surfcomber on Friday night before Christmas and leave tomorrow. This hotel has made this the best trip we've made to South Beach...maybe one of our best ever.

The staff's friendly attention to detail really makes the experience. The hotel is just transitioning to a Kimpton property, and that's the reason we selected it. We wanted to bring our dog, Harvey, and up to this point there had been no Kimptons in South Beach to chose from.

From the time we made the reservations, the hotel staff was ready to help. Micky and Ruben, two top notch concierges, arranged everything from Christmas dinner reservations to a spa day for Harvey complete with drop-off and pick-up. The desk staff kept recommending great restaurants night after night.

And the nightly wine happy hour really works! We met fun people from all over the place. The hotel lobby and bar are elegant and comfortable. Breakfast was served on the patio of the restaurant by the pool -a great way to start the day!

The pool and landscaping is amazing! With gated access to the beach, it is one of the most beautiful places I've seen.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Glenn B-
Thank you for staying with us last year.
We hope to see you again this holiday season.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel is ideally located, 5 minute walk to the pedestrian ara of Lincoln street, where you have a wide choice or restaurants, coffee, shops, shopping etc... It is also a short walk to Ocean Drive where there plenty more restaurants, wonderful beach and nightlife activity.

The hotel is newly renovated, the pool area is beautiful, with comfortable beach chairs. There is direct access to the beach. The lobby of the hotel is magnificent with gorgeous furniture pieces.
The rooms are small but have all the necessities, the mattress and sheets were very comfortable.
Finally the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiat5cento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

RDPMontreal -
Thank you for taking a few moments to post this great contribution.
Thank you also for mentioning the fabulous location, gorgeous furniture and friendly employees.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
SLS South Beach
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,195 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,953 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £178 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing