We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pefect for a rainy Miami getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #38 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pefect for a rainy Miami getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

y twin daughters & I spent 4 days at the Surfcomber. We arrived early & went I asked if I could store my luggaue I was informed that my room was already ready. The staff was kind & refreshing helping make the best of a rainy 2 days. I asked them prior to arrival to do 'something special' for my daughters sweet 16th bday. Spear headed by Michelle the staff decorated the room w/ balloons, card, water & personal individual cakes. The hotel is very beautiful & the pictures don't do it justice. From the pictures I thought the pool area would have been a little dated but that's not the case at all. Our room (202) faced Collins Ave, modern decor, very clean and surprisingly roomy for 3 adults. The lobby is absolutely beautiful & they have a daily complementary wine hr (5-6 pm) that was very cool. Kudos to the staff from front desk to housekeeping ... keep up the great work ... Kimpton should be very proud of the South Beach staff!!

Room Tip: Ask question prior to arriving & you get more done if you have a positive attitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twzplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Twzplus1 -
Thank you for the great posting.
We are so happy we enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your return.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,916
    894
    279
    104
    66
See reviews for
726
1,096
133
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I got a deal through Hotwire but it was still overpriced. And yes, I know, Miami Beach hotels are expensive but, still, it was overpriced. Actually, there were soap residues in the shower area and hairs on the bathroom floor. As I wanted to look what was the "snack box", I found snacks, yes, but also dust, a lot of dust, which was pretty disgusting.
No matter the price you pay, no matter the location of the hotel, if it's not clean, it's a failure.

On the bright side, the front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Swissworld_traveller -
Wow, so disappointed in this posting.
We have discussed your feedback in detail and will be making adjustments.
Thank you for praising the employees.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here for only one night after our first cruise. I am so glad I sprang a little extra $ to spend one last night here in Miami. The rooms are cute, modern eclectic style decor with super comfy beds and a great shower. Fantastic pool with lots of places to lounge. If you tire of the pool, the crystal clear waters and sugar sands of Miami beach are literally steps away. I wish we spent our whole vacation here. We arrived off the cruise super early, before 10 AM and we were not only allowed to check in but were welcomed with open arms. Our room was ready and they were happy to give us the keys. The attendants that greeted us and took our bags were so amazingly friendly. They made us immediately feel relaxed and comfortable. The cruise line that touts itself on guest service could definitely learn a few things from this hotel. Honestly, this was by far the best part of our trip. I wish we could have spent our whole week here. Don't miss out on the on site restaurant, Lantao. So refreshing after a week of bland cruise dining. I am craving the sticky coconut rice like crazy. Again, wow. What a great find, I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eloci63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
eloci63
Wow, thank you for the glowing posting.
We miss you too.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location. The beach is great and a nice pool area. The room was very small. In particular the bathroom. Only one person can fit in it at a time. My TV didn't work properly for the entire three nights. Only a few stations on it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris50Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
chris50Boston -
Thank you for the great location posting.
We are have remedied our opportunities with our new HD Lodgenet system.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent two nights at the Surfcomber last week (April 2012). There is no shortage of hotels along South Miami Beach, but we booked at the Surfcomber because we are loyal Kimpton customers. We knew going in that Kimpton only recently acquired this hotel, and it was obvious during our stay that the facility isn't up to the standards a Kimpton customer might expect. The room we stayed in was clean but very small. The hallway off the room was so dark that we had trouble figuring out which way our key card was positioned while trying to open our door. The music playing in the lobby was so irritating that we could barely stand to stay down there to drink our (weak) coffee in the morning. On the other hand, the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful; we had fun swimming in the ocean. The pool is big enough to swim laps. I think Kimpton could improve the hotel in a flash by installing more lighting in the hallways, serving higher quality coffee and wine, and changing the tunes in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
susanm3320 -
Thank you so much for your posting.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your visit with us.
We have a commitment to excellence and will take a whole hearted effort to develop our product to exceed Kimpton standards.
Thx for mentioning the friendly employees.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

So stayed a couple of days here for a Girls' Weekend. As ususal will give the information that will be helpful in your decision to book.
Check -In - It was a easy process; however early check in will more than likely not be available. We checked in at 11am and the room was not ready until 3pm. This was not a problem as we took time to explore the hotel and beach.
Hotel Itself - it is beautiful and has a Art Deco vibe. The pool is clean, plenty of towels and beach is within a few steps of the hotel. It is more than likely standard that on the beach the umbrellas and chairs are expensive to rent. Although if you are a Kimpton member (free) you do get a discount. The drink are more expensive you purchase from the outdoor bar. Purchase from the poolside waitress.
Rooms - Nice rooms very spacious which is a surprise for Miami. However, the bathrooms are very small and the tubs does have rust stains, but it was clean.
It rained while we were and the hotel was great they offered complimentary umbrellas. Also, the hotel staff was great. They went above and beyond to make sure all of our needs were met. Brent was great with suggestions as were the other bell hops and staff. I would suggest the hotel and would stay again. Great location. The construction was not loud. The only way we knew they were building is we saw it.

Room Tip: Hotel is 3 floors and I would suggest the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlingTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
TravlingTS -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
Thank you also for the recommendation.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The staff is very helpful and serviceminded. Although the weather is bad (raining and stormy), the staff keep up a good mood. We are staying here, at the moment, and we are shure this will be a very nice stay!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NicOnsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
NicOnsala-
Thank you for the comments and the great posting.
If there is anything we are able to do to make your stay more comfortable; please do not hesitate to ask.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
The Confidante
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#31 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
SLS South Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing