We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, a very nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overall, a very nice stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We recently spent 8 nights at the Surfcomber for a business conference I had to attend in town and an event taking place at the hotel over the weekend. Overall, the stay was very nice. The hotel is nicely updated and appointed, and the vibe is very 'South Beach' yet friendly and welcoming. The front desk staff was very helpful throughout our stay, including arranging for early check in and assisting with various needs including housekeeping service, a change of pillows from feather to hypoallergenic, valet service, and minibar service. We appreciate that the hotel is pet-friendly, as we never travel without our beloved, little Yorkie princess, and she was welcomed and complimented by all staff she met during our stay. We also enjoyed our room decor and the contemporary touches like the glass-enclosed shower and vessel sink. The bathroom felt a bit small to us, but this is easily excused as we're used to a palatial batroom at home! Sleep quailty was quite good with a comfortable bed and pillows, however racous guests in the halls shouted at all hours of the night and we were frequently jolted awake by party-goers from Thursday through Monday. Again, not the fault of the hotel and it is to be expected anywhere on South Beach. The evening wine reception was a nice touch, as well. Finally, the hotel handled the weekend event we attended with grace and poise, as they were at capacity and were hosting many extra visitors at the pool parties.

The only opportunity for improvement I recommend would be offering at least a few vegetarian-friendly menu options for the hotel restaurant and room service. Breakfast was fine, but as for lunch and dinner, then only non-meat option was a tofu and veggie stir fry that featured oyster sauce, which is not appropriate for true vegetarians like us. We would have enjoyed the opportunity to eat and drink at the hotel from time to time during our long stay, but as they did not offer suitable food, we had to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard or pool offer the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jigsnreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
jigsnreels
Thank you for the nice posting.
We appreciate all the praise.
We will look into a few more appropriate vegetarian options.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,935
    903
    286
    106
    70
See reviews for
736
1,115
136
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Thanks to the staff at Surfcomber my first visit to Miami was enjoyable. My first night was spent at a hotel that was deemed unfit for me. I walked a few hotels down and came across Surfcomber. The staff allowed me to tour a room prior to reserving despite be the busiest time of day. The next day the staff extended their hospitality even more by checking for the availability of rooms for early check-in. The restaurant staff's customer service was superior. I definately look forward to staying at this hotel my next visit to Miami!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJ766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
AngelaJ766
Thank you for the great hospitality posting.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

If you are lucky enough to travel, you know that it is not the brick and mortar aspects of a hotel that make a vacation memorable. It is the special details, unique features, kind gestures and overall comfort that create a treasured experience. Our recent stay at the Surfcomber provided all of that and more. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and we were delighted to be there. The staff is simply unbelievable. We were in town for our anniversary. The staff at the front desk greeted us with anniversary wishes and seemed genuinely happy that we had survived the years! We were then taken to our room by Brian, who could not have been more helpful, providing us with lots of pertinent information about the hotel and the surrounding area. Shortly after settling in, there came a knock at the door. There was a special delivery of champagne and a huge plate of chocolate covered strawberries, compliments of the hotel with a lovely congratulatory note from the chef! The tone for our weekend was truly set and we will always remember their thoughtfulness when we reflect back on our special anniversary. Thanks to all of you!
Now for the details. The rooms are decorated retro style but all furnishings are new and tres chic. We had a king size bed which was quite comfortable. The bathrooms are small, as is the usual in original South Beach hotels. They are, however, quite modern with a sleek glass vessel sink and surround. Our room was located toward the back of the hotel and we found it to be very quiet.
The location of the hotel is excellent, on the beach and within walking distance of the promenade at Lincoln Ave. The promenade offers several blocks of outdoor cafes of every cuisine as well as unique shops. It's a great place to stroll, grab an outdoor table and people watch. (We had lunch at YUCA which offers Cuban cuisine and special rate cocktails in the afternoon. The food was delicious and the service excellent.)
The pool area is lovely, with plenty of beach chairs and attendants who are eager to place your towels and assure your comfort. There are also cabanas for those who wish to avoid the sun. The beach is just on the other side of the pool and looked lovely. As it rained our second day there, we did not spend time on the beach but there are chairs and umbrellas available.
The hotel offers wine every afternoon, which can be enjoyed in the very comfortable lobby or at tables outside or around the pool. Tea and coffee are also complimentary in the morning.
We ordered room service dinner from the on-site restaurant and it was very good.
Overall, it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we hope to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good2GoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Good2GoPa
Wow, thank you so much for the perfect posting.
It’s true the people really create the experience and we are lucky to have such a great team that values our guests.
And you’re so right, the people watching on Lincoln road is amazing.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Terrific location on Collins Ave in South Beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside is that we could hear conversations in the halls late at night--the voices outside our room was so loud that we woke up. Other than that, it was very pleasant and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
1234_10 -
The loud voices in the hallways during the middle of the night are the cretins.
All hotels have them.
We will continue to reduce their noise levels.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mine Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Best hotel I have ever stayed at.It was the first vacation I have taken with my wife,and it was just perfect.The service was completely amazing.I stayed for a week and I honestly did not want to leave.The rooms were very nice,and they have everything you need.The pool was probably the best part of all.The hospitality was great.The Thai restaurant has some amazing egg rolls that I highly recommend.The 2 gentlemen at the front desk Ben,and Rashad were very helpful to me and my girlfriend,they suggested a lot of good spots in town.The rest of the staff were very nice as well.I will def be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor on the right side.You dont have much of a view of the ocean,etc..So you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
John M -
We look forward to hosting your next stay.
Thx for the great posting.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have been staying at the Surfcomber for a few years now and we are very happy with the updates and changes made by the Kimpton Hotel Group. The new restaurant was much needed and really good (except for the Pad Thai). The rooms were all updated, and are very nice. The pool is fabulous. The beach out front is great. The esplanade is awesome. The hotel is very walkable to great restaurants (Ola, Lincoln Road, etc). Lucia at the front desk has been there the last two times we've been to the hotel, and is a pleasure! We will certainly be back. It's our place in Miami!

Room Tip: Try not to face North. The SLA is under construction!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Vasio -
Esplanade is awesome.
Enough said.
Thank you so much for returning.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here from April 19-22nd with my friends for a girls getaway celebrating my friend who was getting married.This hotel was wonderful from the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out on Sunday. The staff was beyond friendly and willing to help you with anything you needed. The hotel was very clean and located within walking distance of everything from Collins, Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, and Espanola Way. The free happy hour from everyday was an added bonus and a nice way to wind down after a day at the pool/beach. The pool staff was friendly and willing to get you towels, or move umbrellas. The free water by the pool and sunscreen was also an added bonus. This hotel has everything you many need for a getaway, they made everything so easy and carefree. I would definitely recommend the hotel to everyone, and I will definitely be coming back for another stay. The hotel was recently renovated which was also nice, the rooms were great and the beds were comfy. I liked the decor of the hotel as well.

I would like to say a special thank you to Lucia at the front desk who was so helpful and sweet sending us something special to our room and helping us book reservations for dinner, the concierge was also helpful, Ben who checked us in the night we arrived, Jonathan and everyone else working at the pool on Friday April 20th, the maids who cleaned our room, and the doormen who went out of their way to get us a cab so that none of us would be separated. We all enjoyed our weekend in Miami at the Surfcomber and the hospitality from everyone who works here was greatly appreciated and certainly remembered!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teemarie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Teemarie4 -
That’s awesome; we love to hear that we exceeded expectations.
Come back soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing