We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ewww”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #42 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ewww”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The staff is friendly and accommodating. Winnie at the front desk was so nice and exhibited the great service that is often associated with the Kimpton brand.

However, I will never stay here again. The hotel has an abandoned apartment complex vibe. The hotel is literally 3 or 4 stories tall and just looks circa 1984. Please, whatever you do, don't get a room on the first floor. The restaurant is at the end of the hall on the first floor and you will smell it in your room the entire stay. On second thought, whatever you do, just don't stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor. The restaurant is at the end of the hall on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
KMichelleM -
Thank you for mentioning Winnie & the friendly staff.
We will look into the aroma's wafting down to the guest rooms from the restaurant.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,021
    930
    305
    110
    82
See reviews for
777
1,159
141
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

From the moment we arrived until the taxi for the airport the staff at the Surfcomber could not do enough for us. The hotel is urban and cool in a non pretentious way they offer free wine every evening and have either a DJ or percussionist as background. The hotel is on Collins Ave which is walking distance to most everything. Chad the barman and expert mixologist will mix you up any cocktail you choose or even create you one if you are feeling brave! We travel to Miami every year and will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodboy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Rodboy212 -
Wow, thank you for the outstanding posting.
We look forward to your return.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliso viejo, california
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Surfcomber from May 20th-22nd. The hotel is nice and impressive and is centrally located to all of the restaurants and shopping. I got a good deal through Priceline, however, the hotel charged me an extra $25 + tax per night for a double bed room. Check in/out was quick and efficient; the staff was nice and friendly. The pool area was clean and they offered happy hour from 5pm - 6pm. You can access the boardwalk outside the pool area. As other reviewers have mentioned, the room/bathroom were quite small. The hotel charges $34/night + tax for parking, however, there is a public parking lot about 1 1/2 blks. away that charges $16 for a 24 hour period. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1californiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
1californiagirl -
Thank you for mentioning the great location of our property.
Being a historic property the size of the guest room quarters and lavatory is consistent with the other properties in the area built during the same period.
Valet parking is consistent in the area as well all properties lack parking; another sign of the past.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Everying was nice here except I could hear the person above me walking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slick2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Slick2009 -
Thank you for the posting.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I had to do a 38 hour trip for business in Miami. Decided to do PriceLine for the 2 nights and landed in the Beachcomber. I was VERY satisfied with the room....EXTREMELY clean. Coffee in lobby....hot and iced...starting at 6am. The night manager called me at 5:45 to alert me the coffee was out. Nice feel to hotel...no thumping music at pool....great pool scene to beach access without being too over the top.
Now about S. Beach.....with NO traffic it is a 23 minute taxi ride to airport. All the beach-front hotels on Collins from The SeaBourne to The Royal Palms look good. I walked into all of them (stayed at Delano on a previous visit.) The most understated with a elegant, cool vibe was The Raliegh...may stay there next time just to check it out.
Main drag off Collins is Lincoln Street...nice for a stroll...cigar bar on left and a PAUL patissere. Lot's of retail on this drag, although none TOP SHELF (Hemes, Tiffany, etc.) but still a nice walk.
Unable to endorse any finer resturants as I did not have time to explore. Southbeach is a people watching place and the folks are toned and beautiful. Ocean Drive is neat but doubt a single woman would feel safe strolling it at night.
Would happily stay at Beachcomber again. Everyone was helpful and I may return just to flirt with the gorgeous female staff. My room had no leaks and I have not yet received any erroneous charges to my credit card.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 307...clean and looked onto walkwat to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jabronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Jabronie -
Interesting perspective on things.
I do enjoy reading reviews from a seasoned traveler who has seen it all.
Thx for the great posting and we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Surfcomber on Tuesday, May 29th. I was able to obtain my room through priceline and got one of the larger rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful including new trainee Andre. There was a small mix up with our car valet and the hotel graciously comped the expense. The pool is lovely, well maintained and spacious. Access to the beach is also very nice. The one thing, very small was the groundskeeper and the leaf blower, it only lasted 20 minutes or so but it was just way too loud. Wondering is sweeping is out of the question? Either way, this stay is worthy of an excellent, my room was spacious and I belive it might have something to do with it being a wheelchair accesible room. The complimentary wine and sangria hour by the pool was a lovely treat. I would definitely return and enjoyed my stay immensely.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor room 309, very spacious, and quiet, although no ocean/pool view, adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
ConeyIslandJanet -
Thank you for your contribution and your nice comments.
We will look into the leaf blowing.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I was heading to Canada via Ft. Lauderdale airport and decided make a slight diversion for a night in South Beach to see Chris Cornell play at the Filmore Theater. The Surfcomber was perfectly situated for a 4-minute walk to the show. Little did I know I'd be treated to a free happy hour with some very good wine in the hotel lobby, offered by some very hip, very cool staff. After dropping off my car with valet for about $34/night (ouch!) I dropped my bag in the room and grabbed a glass of wine and headed out the back of the hotel past the pool to the Boardwalk, which was alive with locals and tourists alike on roller blades, jogging and generally just enjoying the evening and beach access.
Very small rooms- if you're claustrophobic or otherwise prefer to make your room the focal point of your stay, you might want to stay elsewhere. Decor is South Beach, which included a purple and light blue mix of color in the room. A bit daunting on the eyes, but I didn't spend enough time in the room to care. The action was downstairs and was lively during cocktail hour and all the time right outside. The best restaurants are only a few minutes walk down the street, and there are plenty of places to eat.
For a clean room at a reasonable price (for South Beach) - about $180 I believe, friendly hip staff and awesome location, this place worked out very nicely for what I needed to enjoy a night in Miami Beach to see an amazing show.

Room Tip: Request a larger room if they have any. My room was set up for handicapped shower, so perhaps it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Bill M
That’s so cool, going to Chris Cornell at the Fillmore and enjoying your stay with us.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,858 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,121 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,613 reviews
SLS South Beach
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,151 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing