We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel on south beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best hotel on south beach”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

i recently stayed at this AMAZING hotel from check in to the regretful day i had to go back to the real working world the staff made sure i felt like a superstar. They were super accomodating and so friendy especiallly Andrew from the front desk he was so polite and what made me love this hotel part from the free booze :) and amazimg service is that the staff they address you by name everytime i was in the lobby i will definately be coming back to this hotel again!!!! cant wait to be back!

Room Tip: andrew hooked me up with a beautiful view of there garden the room was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelholics_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
travelholics_12
Thank you for the great posting.
We look forward to your return.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    932
    306
    110
    83
See reviews for
780
1,161
142
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I love the Kimpton Hotels for their unique and boutique hotels. We stayed for two days on my birthday weekend and the staff had ballons, card and champagne in our room. We rented a car from the airport but didn't need it because of the location, next time we'll catch the shuttle. The hotel is centrally located to shops and restaurants. The staff is always friendly. The lobby is swanky and adorable, but we found the hallway to be dark, it can use a brighter color. I will definetely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margarim3848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
margarim3848
Happy belated birthday.
Thank you for the recommendation.
We can't wait to see you again.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is just ok...not amazing neither bad. Good points: the room was clean and nice; the ladies in the reception are very nice, there was good music in the hall, and it is cheaper than many other hotels in Miami. Bad points: there is no breakfast, and they remove the coffe at 10:00...to early if you go in Miami to enjoy the nightlife; the corridors are dark and very cold....and there are horrible statues of animals all around..but still is a good choice for a cheap hotel in Miami (besides, who goes to Miami to stay in the hotel! ;) )

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
morkar
Thank you for the posting.
Most of our guests love the animals.
See you again soon
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I went to Sobe for the weekend and stayed 1 night at the Surfcomber hotel. As I got there around 2.30pm, Lucia at the front desk took great care of me. She informed me my room wasn't ready yet and invited me to have a drink at their bar while I waited for it. Elena at the bar greeted me and did one of the best Mojito's I've ever had. About 20 min later mt room was ready. Brent at the front desk genuinely welcomed me and gave me a run thru of the services they provide at the hotel while handing me my room key. My room was great, very clean and loved the patio with the ocean view. I ordered room service for dinner and breakfast. It was great food and the service was awesome!!
This hotel is great with phenomenal staff Lucia/Brent/Elena and room service crew!! Definitely will return on my next trip to Miami Sobe.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogrando77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
ogrando77
Wow, thank you for the great posting.
I am so happy the team was so helpful and impacted your stay.
We look forward to your return.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The services are excellent, the room somewhat has small washroom/restroom, technical people reply fast to malfunction of binds, swimming pool services excellent, reception group are excellent, accessible to the ocean shoreline, food is good with a good services

Room Tip: some rooms have ocean view w/ king single or double bed but washrooms are still small, it is quiet p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamdouh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Mamdouh E
Thank you for the posting.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your return.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Good access to the beach, convention center & shops on Lincoln. By the time you crash on the comfy bed, you will forget how slow the elevator was. Staff workers were professional and helpful. They would be wearing jacket-and-tie if it is located in the middle of a city, but polo shirt to match the beach location. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
shimt0
Thank you for the recommendation.
Come back & see us again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

the surfcomber is a cheap but still fancy alternative to stay in south beach. the hotel is not too big, rooms and especially bathroom are quite small but nicely furnished. they had etro toiletteries and the furniture is really fancy. we slept really well in the beds. the pool area is fantastic. they offer free iced water and have even sun lotion complimentary. hotel is in walking distance to the Setai or the W, next to the surfcomber they are going to open an SLS. a cvs pharmacy which is open 24/7 is 2 min. away. ocean drive is 10 min. away and also Lincoln Road where you also have many shops and restaurants. on ocean drive there are many restaurants where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner/cocktails. staff was also very helpful. they also have a list in the bathroom which toiletteries you can get at the reception complimentary if you have forgotten it (tooth brush, shower cap, make up mirror...).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_stk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
viele_tipps
We like to think of ourselves as a value.
We appreciate the posting.
See you again soon
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,869 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,132 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,154 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,623 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing