We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A South beach gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights end of Aug for a short break. Visited my ill mom in Raleigh, then hooked up with some friends here before heading back to London. I chose the right place. Location is great, pool to beach really handy and got lucky with the weather esp since this was after Isaac! The little touches make it for me ex. the free wine hour, 2for1 Moday cocktails, magazines, sun cream, flavoured water, fruit platters by the pool - all free. The room by US standards is small but I didn't mind this as London and Europe expensive hotels are even smaller. Staff were great except for 1 by the pool who was a bit doh everytime you asked him something, he always says "dunno". Then a curt female Receptionist who literally cuts you off as if you bothered her. I liked the Asian restarurant (funny they served Amerrican breakfast though!)and all the bartenders will have a laugh and a joke with you. Plenty bars and restaurants nearby so we had dinner out every night. Watch out for the 18% gratuity on top of everything and the drinks (if not happy hour) are quite dear $14-$18 for a small frozen margarita! But hey, there's a store across the road and I would say 90% of guests did not order drinks by the pool. A really nice hotel, would recommend it. We are back in South beach in Feb 2013 and I have been googling other hotels but guess what, Surfcomber still comes up best value for money for the location, service and over-all stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

M H-
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
It’s nice to read that we are a value in your eyes.
We will make a few tweaks base on your response.
I hope to meet you the next time you are in town.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 3,554 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband and stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. It was our first time in Miami and we were nervous about finding the right hotel. We researched so many hotels before choosing this one, and we were so happy with our choice. First, the location is perfect. We walked almost everywhere and/or rented the Deco Bikes that are readily available. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Everyone we encountered was friendly, polite, and accommodating. Our room was comfortable and clean. The overall atmosphere of the place is very cool, casual and laid-back, which we really enjoyed, but we felt the service was top-notch, as if we were staying in a luxury hotel. They offered free wine by the pool every day from 5 to 6 pm. Very nice, considering the price of drinks in Miami! They also had ice cold water available by the pool each day, which was quite refreshing. The drinks from the Sand Bar were strong and tasty. The only meal we ate at the hotel restaurant was breakfast, (eggs benedict), and it was very good. The guys who worked in the pool area setting up chairs and umbrellas were so nice and helpful. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and we would definitely stay here again if we return to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texmexer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

texmexer-
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This place was amazing. My hubs & I were actually staying down the street at another hotel & happened upon the restaurant due to the great reviews on Yelp. From the restaurant you could see the pool & the ocean... the staff assisting guests with chairs and beach towels, the 2 choices of flavored ice water, complementary sunscreen, poolside service. We were mezmerized, took a tour & booked the rest of our stay at Kimpton. Best. Decision. Ever. We had a room overlooking the pool & ocean. The entire place was clean, unique and the service was great. Plus they have a free hosted wine happy hour by the pool. Ah memories...
Chris & Andrew at the front desk were very nice and accomodating. Ryan by the pool was great with guests, anticipating their needs and assisting with recommendations. The concierge working on 10/1- I can't remember his name, but he was also very nice & helped us get a reservation at a restaurant. Let me state again that ALL the staff we ran into were nice - I wish I could remember all their names! It's a credit to the management to have amassed such an amazing staff. I can't say enough about this place.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a balcony facing the pool & ocean. The view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Monda24-
Thank you for an amazing posting.
You made my day.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Hats off to the entire staff. Venessa was welcoming upon check in. Maria at poolside was very attentive. Ricky at the bar is a master of mixology. Very clean, great location near a lot of restaurants and great shopping. Great Job to all! Would like to visit again soon

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Tony L-
Thank you.
We look forward to your return.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The location of this hotel is just great, next to the beach and not far from south beach attractions.

The management were kind & helpfull and the hotel is clean and quiet.
the pool area is great, and by the pool there's an exit to the beach. its also close to miami nightlife.

We really enjoy the hotel and the city...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eipeer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Eipeer9-
Thank you for the great posting.
I liked how you mentioned that the management was nice.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This property is in the heart of South Beach and within perfect walking distance to great restaurants and nightlife. It is everything you'd expect from a Kimpton, nice decor, good service, solid amenities at a very reasonable price. The rooms are on the small side (as are the beds) but that is to be expected from a boutique property. Unfortunately there was some noisy construction going on (especially during the mornings!) but if you are having the right South Beach experience you can sleep through it.

The beach and pool set up here is good. F&B Service is slow on the beach but you can get a nice meal (the fish tacos and blue crab spring rolls are awesome) under your umbrella. This area of South Beach has a much bigger beach than northern hotels like the Fountainbleu so I would always stay around here. The complimentary wine hour (5-6pm) is fantastic. The staff was lovely and it was nice to polish off a glass or two before dinner at no charge!

Location is so fabulous we never needed to get into a cab. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k8slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

k8slo-
Thank you for the awesome location posting.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, see you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I just returned from a girls weekend in South Beach, and our stay at the Surfcomber was perfect. Our trip began with our mid morning flight being cancelled and replaced with one at 5:30 am. We are 2 hours from the airport, so you can imagine what time we started our day. We got to Miami at 9:30 and were at the hotel by 10. We figured that we would have to check our bags with the bellman and wait until later in the afternoon to get into our rooms. We made a call from the car to the desk and asked if we could maybe just get into one of our rooms right away so that we could nap in shifts until the other was ready. They said they would see what they could do. When we arrived we were told that we could check in to BOTH rooms and that they were next door to each other! Every employee that we had interaction with was amazing, from the bellman to the pool attendants. We asked someone in hall where the ice machine was and he came to our room, got the bucket and filled it for us. Service is very obviously the number one priority to everyone on the property.
The hotel is not large which adds to the charm. It is SOBE chic and in very good repair. The rooms are adequately sized, very comfortable, and blessedly quiet. I have stayed further south on the beach and appreciated the location out of the fray, but still close enough to walk to the action. If I had one tiny issue it would be that the bathroom could use more counter surface, especially for two girls sharing a room. The pool area is gorgeous with more amazing service. We loved the free wine hour at 5 and the happy hour in the restaurant is a bargain not to be missed. I will never stay in another hotel in Miami! This is the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

sisholm-
Wow, thank you for the amazing posting.
We are so happy to be your favorite hotel in Miami.
We can't wait for your return.
Warm Regards
Sean Mckeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,729 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,609 reviews
SLS South Beach
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,726 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £199 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing