We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Kimpton gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“A Kimpton gem”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stay at Surfcomber almost exclusively when I'm in SoBe these days, after experimenting with many hotels up and down nearby Ocean Drive in the past 10 years of visits for business and pleasure.

Love the near-Lincoln. Rd. location and the staff, especially front desk, at Surfcomber go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome.

The vibe, location, and wine hour make this property a real winner! Reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Michelle G,

Thanks for coming back time and time again. It's like having your friends stay with you! And it doesn't hurt it's always warm in Miami.

See you soon?
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,996
    927
    301
    108
    81
See reviews for
763
1,150
140
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I booked this hotel on recommendation from a friend who has stayed there a couple of times. The hotel is no different to most good 4/5 star hotels but what sets it apart is the hotel staff, who were all exceptional. they create a great relaxed vibe around the hotel and you instantly feel at ease. We were a group of 11 guys on a pre-work trip but this didn't bother the hotel staff and they looked after us brilliantly, even treating us to free champagne after coming in from a club at 3 in the morning! The lobby is really cool and they have a wine happy hour each day between 5-6 which has a great vibe too. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough, we all had an amazing time and will definately book again next time we are in Miami. Special call out to David who was an awesome host!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Scott B,

We just promoted David the other day because of all the personal experiences he achieves with our guests. Thank you for mentioning him, it made his day!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel November 2013, it was absolutely amazing, from the location to the staff and amenities. The hotel had an amazing atmosphere which the staff promoted, which serve to enhance our stay.

Nothing was too much to ask.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Neil J,

Thanks for highly recommending us. I recommend you come back and visit though!

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We got a great deal on Hotels.com, very good price for the value. Our service was phenomenal, especially Jackie and Brian! We loved the location and had a tremendous stay. The room was a bit small and we didn't have any view, but we didn't mind it because everything else was on par or better, though I'm sure there are better rooms here with nice views. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPhin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
CPhin82,

Thanks for your review! Happy to hear you had a great experience and received our amazing service.

See you soon hopefully,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Southbeach. The vibe, the music, the ambiance is all there but not in your face. The staff is super friendly. Wine is offered free to guests in the lobby daily, just before dinner. It's a great way to meet other guests making you feel even more comfortable and welcome.

I filled out a guest questionnaire online upon my arrival. I'm sure they changed my pillow in the middle of the first night to meet my preference. I will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardtag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Richardtag,

Thank you so much for your review about your recent stay with us! I agree, wine hour is a perfect day to wind down from the day (and also get your evening started). I am sure you will be dreaming of the Surfcomber as it starts to get colder in NYC, so we look forward to your return!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We recently spent a long weekend (four nights) at the Surfcomber - it was wonderful! The Staff is incredible and very friendly. They get to know you by name almost immediately and truly care about your experience. I was greeted in a friendly fashion without exception and asked, on many occasions, if there was everything that could be done to improve my experience.

The Happy Hour in the evenings was excellent (free Wine!) and afforded a friendly atmosphere and venue to play Jenga and get to know other guests.

The Pool and outside Bar area was excellent. The Service in both areas was excellent as well.

Room Tip: We had a Courtyard view room that was excellent and quiet. However, our traveling companions had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytonfly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Daytonfly2,

What do you think of next time you're here I challenge you to a game of Jenga?
I think that may be a good idea.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was so excited to go to this hotel, especially after reading comments on trip advisor. But most probably I expected too much .:D . de luxe room- small, no view, our room was next to the elevator what caused additional noise. One good thing : location. Next to Delano and SLS hotel, so we spent most of our time there ( bars, pools ).

one more " interesting" thing : our acommodation was fully prepaid by my friend but hotel charged also my card for it. After some disscusion I got money back , but anyway they blocked 500 usd on my credit card and I was waiting 3 weeks to get it back.

Room Tip: do not take room close to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aga p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
aga p,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us.
I will certainly address your experience with our team.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,812 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,992 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,057 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,532 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing