We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great hotel, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had a great stay at the Surfcomber! Perfect location, stylish without being pretentious, small-ish so it never felt crowded, free happy hour wine every night and the world's friendliest staff. Chris, Clayton and Dorgis were among the many gorgeous staff members who went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getbaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
getbaked,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I will be sure to give Clayton, Chris and Dorgis a high 5 for making your stay one to remember! (And the rest of the gorgeous staff) Thanks again!

Sean FlaniganGeneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,933
    902
    285
    106
    70
See reviews for
735
1,113
136
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here for a week break. This is an excellent hotel. While the room was a bit on the small side, the rest of the hotel made up for it. The pool area is fantastic with refreshing flavored water available as well as towels and suncream. There are bikes available to rent and the hotel's location right on the beach makes for a brilliant holiday. What really stands out about this hotel is the staff. They couldn't be more helpful. I don't think I've stayed somewhere with nicer staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
niamhsl,

Thank you for your review! "I don't think I've stayed somewhere with nicer staff", that is an awesome comment and I couldn't agree more. We have a great team and I am so lucky to work with them each and every day. Thanks for noticing!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My parents, 19 year old daughter, and I stayed at the Surfcomber from December 26-30, 2013 - and it was a perfect visit, we really loved being there!

Everything about the hotel makes you relaxed, comfortable, and happy to be there.

The location is great, we walked everywhere.

The staff, without fail, is incredibly friendly, pleasant, and helpful. They always greet you, and with a smile, and when you return to the hotel, and they open the doors for you, they either say, "Welcome back!" or "Welcome home!".

As my Mom commented, the staff looks genuinely happy to be working there.

The lobby is warm and inviting, an eclectic mix of interesting decor that really works, not the typical sterile same-old hotel furnishings. There are blocks for kids to play with, and one evening there was an artist doing caricatures of the kids. And the lobby smells great!

The outdoor hallway to the pool is really nicely landscaped, with colourful cows, free bikes, and comfy light blue rocking chairs.

The pool is another great area with chairs all around, a sandy beach area with grass in back, all of which lead to the boardwalk and to the beach.

Having such easy and close access to the beach also contributed to our wonderful visit. Every morning I would wake up early, get coffee, and walk through the outside hallway to the boardwalk and beach with my parents.

There is always fruit and citrus-flavoured water available, complimentary coffee, tea, and ice coffee in the morning, and complimentary wine from 5:00-6:00.

The music played throughout the day and evening in the lobby, outside hallway, and pool is really good mixture, and not too loud, I even asked for the playlist because I enjoyed it so much.

The rooms are not huge, but my daughter and I moved very comfortably around two double beds. The rooms too are really nicely furnished, and the beds are incredibly comfortable.

Other guests are respectful, there was no noise in the hallways, and no late night disruption to our sleep.

The hotel is spotless and clean everywhere.

The Social Club restaurant serves really good tapas, the first meal that we had, and the second meal that we had was very tasty as well.

The only comment that I have is that there are no recycling bins which we all would have appreciated.

Aside from that point, the Surfcomber is perfect, we really loved staying there, were sad to leave, and will definitely stay there again next time that we're in Miami.

Green Features: There is no recycling at the hotel, which is the only negative comment that I have to offer.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Michele K,

First of all, I am happy to know that we were able to take care of you during the holidays and hope the 2013 holiday was one to remember. I want to thank you for taking the time to detail out your stay with us, I can't wait to share your review with the team!

Happy New Year!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The Surfcomber is a very good hotel in an excellent location in South Beach. Everything is in walking distance to the hotel which is great. Our room (a courtyard king room) was very nice and quiet, but a little on the small side. All the expected amenities were there. Service was excellent, from the chirpy front desk staff to the guys in the bar who even kept the bar open for us when we arrived at midnight after a very long trip from Tokyo and felt like a wine.

The pool was very nice, as was having access to the beach, and the staff at the pool serving drinks were very good.

All in all, a great choice for south beach with more a boutique hotel feel than some of the other options (ie Loews).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jirrupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
jirrupin,

Thanks for making the trip to visit us all the way from Australia, we're so excited you had a good time. Please come and visit us again soon in 2014.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Surfcomber. Check in was very quick. We did not even have time to finish our free champagne.

We caught the bus from Miami airport to South Beach, the stop is across the road.

The hotel is perfectly located on South Beach within walking distance to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

stayed for a whole week with my family ( 2 small kids) during the 2013 holiday season.
after stays at the Raleigh, Four Seasons, the Setai, Mandarin Oriental,...picked the Surfcomber because of a good experience with Kimpton in San Francisco.

The hotel is well located, and is well kept. Also, it's family friendly. Other pluses are the heated swimming pool and the free wine hour. Staff in general is friendly -especially the people at the pool helping you with loungers, towels etc are great.

I booked the largest room (a suite with a balcony), the room was large, the bathroom was small (and no open window). Two main negatives of our room: 1. no sound isolation so you can forget a good nights rest and 2. the sofa bed for our kids was below standard quality. Unfortunately, this means that the value for money was not ok.
pluses of the room are the balcony large enough to seat the 4 of us, and a fridge.

but I missed the Kimpton touch: service at the pool (when you want to order drinks or food), at Social Club (for breakfast and lunch) and valet (expensive and waiting times 2 times of > 45 minutes) are not on par.

and...on the day of our departure (January 1), I called for a late check-out. The normal check-out time is 11 am, but the lady on the phone could do an effort and extend it to 12 am...my main point not being that I spent 7 nights in their premium room but that during new years' eve, the pool party was so loud so we all only could fall asleep by 3.30 am... so, this is a big fail in customer service and far away from the Kimpton touch...

summary: I might stay again, in a standard room, at a promotional rate, and adapt my expectations, but Surfcomber changed my perception of the Kimpton hotels in a negative way.

by the way, Brian is a great bellman and has interesting tips for restaurants etc.


late check out
vs 3 am in slaap
en very late 8 pm arrival

service bf, pool, valet

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
ErwinFromBelgium,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see we missed the mark and weren't able to provide you with some wonderful memories. If you have anything further that you'd like to discuss, please reach out to me at sean.flanigan@surfcomber.com

Thank you,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Surfcomber is a nicely designed and decorated hotel with friendly staff. There are only a few balcony rooms at extra cost. They are not high enough to see the beach but they are low enough to catch all the noise from the pool which is right below. The Hotel is attempting to attract a rave crowd in the evenings with loud dance music booming into your balcony room. Keeping the door closed was little help. The decibels were lowered each night at midnight but still loud enough to keep you awake. If you dig raves and want a good place to watch, the balcony is for you. Unfortunately for you, the hotel was only drawing in 10 to 20 people per night for their big raves, certainly not worthy of so much bass booming through my $600 a night room. Next trip to South Beach I hope to find a hotel with balcony to enjoy the sights and sounds of the beach instead.

Room Tip: Interior room if you desire quiet, Balcony if you want rave noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livegooddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
livegooddesign,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us and your balcony room. If you would like to discuss any further details I would be happy to hear from you. My email is sean.flanigan@surfcomber.com

Thank you,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#30 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing