We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great pool, great beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #38 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, great pool, great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed just one night. We arrived early but they gladly stored our luggage while the rooms were turned over. It is SO worth becoming an InTouch member. When we returned for check-in, we were greeted with sparkling wine and made to feel like VIPs! Not bad for a free sign-up, gotta do it.

The pool area is great. I love that they find a chair for you and set up your towels. The employee at the pool asked if we wanted sun or shade, took old towels off two chairs and set up new ones for us. It's such a simple thing, but it's really a wonderful service. You never know if you can move someone else's towel...if they've been gone for hours or just ran back to their room. The employees at the pool must keep an eye on this so you can find your seat stress free! You can use complimentary sunscreen and they have pool side cocktail service too. The drinks can be pricey, but that's to be expected at all the hotels along this strip. They have a free wine hour, but we did not attend.

The hotel is beach front and has easy access to the beach walk right behind the hotel. We didn't take advantage of the beach area, but it seemed like there were plenty of places to sit and had the same service as the pool area where they get you all set up with a lounge chair.

The location of the hotel is superb. There is a ton of shopping/restaurants on Lincoln, just one block away. Upon check in, Chris at the front desk gave us great pointers since it was our first time in South Beach. He pointed out the sights to see, and what areas to avoid. Super sweet guy. We parked in the garage on 16th street and walked to the hotel which cut the price of parking in half. We used our "raid the bar" coupon toward the mini bar, just had to tell them upon check out where we used it and they credited our account. We had breakfast on their front patio, I think it was part of "The Social Club". Service was really slow and the food was just okay. I would recommend venturing out for breakfast if you have time. We didn't really mind, but I could tell other patrons who were in a hurry were getting annoyed.

All in all a great stay and I will definitely look for another Kimpton hotel wherever our next trip may be!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the hotel under construction next door, but you're in South Beach, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg_O_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
MegOny9,

Thank you for sharing your Kimpton experience and for being part of our InTouch program!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,914
    893
    279
    104
    66
See reviews for
723
1,096
133
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Vinny who manages the beach chair service for the Surfcomber's is excellent. He is very professional and friendly even though we were not guests of the Surfcomber. The chairs are new and well maintained as well as reasonably priced for the area. We definitely will be using the Surfcomber's chair service the next time my friends and I are in Miami Beach.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NC_mQk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
NC_mQk ,

Thanks for letting us know about your experience at the beach!

Come and visit us again soon.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This hotels staff is absolutely amazing! They make you feel special from the minute you step onto their property. Always greeted at the entrance with a smile. The front desk, Jordan, Jackie and the others were always willing to help and were knowledgeable about the hotel and the surrounding area. Brian brought our bags to the room and provided helpful information and pleasant conversation. All of them went out of their way to wish my daugter a very happy birthday. They surprised her with cupcakes, champagne and a hand written birthday card!! She was made to feel Very Special! We didn't spend much time at the pool but will say that the pool staff was attentive and charming. Speaking of charming, we did spend a lot of time on the beach and were pleasantly greeted by Vinnie Otega. He was instrumental in providing us with quiet time yet knew when to approach our chairs to ask if we needed anything. Always happy to oblige with our request! Rooms were immaculate. Again, have to commend the staff for their attentivenes and making our stay a beautiful memory!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Diane L,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear you had an amazing time!!

Regards,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My three girlfriends and I meet each your in Miami for a long weekend getaway. We decided to try Surfcomber this year and it was a really good experience. Service was exceptional, rooms were nice (very, very small bathroom). Be sure to get a room on the top floor. We had to move after the first night because of all the noise. Great location with perfect beach access. Pool was very nice, too. The staff (Brian, Brad -- fabulous) gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations. Try Spiga and Catch. Both great. Would stay there again for sure. Loved the nightly wine tasting.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room. We were not at all happy with the ground floor. Staff was completely accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhcharmcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
jhcharmcity -

I will be sure to share your review with Brad and Brian! Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are longtime Kimpton Inner Circle members. Part of being Inner circle is you fill out a preference profile and on ours we request an in room coffee pot - most Kimptons miss the coffee pot but the Surfcomber got it! They got every other preference spot on. They were prompt, personal, polite and very professional! The location is great you can walk everywhere! The restaurants in the area are numerous and excellent. Shopping is second to none. We will be back again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Kimberly M,

Thank you for sharing your experience wtih us. We love having Inner Circles visit us!!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great location in South Beach directly at the Beach. Very nice Pool. Staff in this Hotel (looby , concierge and Poll) is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little dark as small windows but you anyway stay mostly outside of the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Naitsabenomis,

Happy to hear you enjoyed the staff and service at our hotel. Please start planning a return trip!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is my second stay at Surfcomber and they're staff is always a welcoming sight. I had pre- arrange an anniversary stay and they had complimentary champagne and chocolate dip strawberry delivered to our room. The location is always near to restaurants and shops. Highly recommend this hotel.This will always be my first stop.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side overlooking the beach always perfect.
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton always deliver when it comes to environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margarim3848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
margarim3848,

Thank you for mentioning that we will always be your first stop! I love it!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
SLS South Beach
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing