We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #42 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belmont, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I highly recommend the Surfcomber. The staff is amazing friendly, helpful and sincere. Everyone from the cleaning personelle to the manager is extremely attentive. The rooms are very clean and bright. The staff went out of their way to make both our dogs and us feel welcome. The dogs were welcome at the pool and in the restaurant. That is unheard of. Loved every minute there!

Room Tip: The generators were a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
MK66,

Thanks for sharing your experience. We can't wait to have you back!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,021
    930
    305
    110
    82
See reviews for
777
1,159
141
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I had been to Miami 10+ times, but it was my girlfriends first time. We both loved it very much and it was my favorite stay of all of them. The accommodations, location, friendly staff, and convenience of the whole experience was terrific. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful on the staff, especially Marco D, Eric, Chris B, Rachel, Jenna, Pat, CAR, Keith, Lahteef, and the whole front desk with an extra shout out to Chris and Wendy. Very high level talent and professionalism all around. The beach accommodations were great and the easy of everything was spot on. Food and drinks were awesome (little pricey) everywhere on the property. The hotel is right next to SLS, the Delano and Raleigh and close walking distance to the W, Lincoln Rd. and the start of Ocean Dr. Must go!!

Room Tip: every room is the same except some have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Christopher B,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the hotel. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.

I hope you come and visit us again soon!

Best
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for a quick Girls weekend. It's perfectly located in the middle of South Beach, within walking distance to everything. It was really comfortable and modern with lots of nice touches. Strengths and weaknesses noted below:

Strengths
- Gorgeous lobby designed beautifully. It's modern yet at the same time rustic and cozy. My friends and I enjoyed just sitting in the lobby, enjoying the atmosphere.
- The Pool is beautiful. Large in size with lots of cabanas, free sunscreen and water with lemon and mint
- great juice bar and bar, drinks were very yummy
- every morning free coffee and teas; and free wine happy hour most afternoons
- great beach service
- Staff is AWESOME!! Everyone speaks and seem happy to work there. Always someone around to cater to your needs. Marco at the pool area was especially awesome, totally takes good care of everyone. Chris, who I think was the manager was always walking around talking to everyone
- Beds were very comfortable
- Free bikes for customers to use ( only 2 though)

Weaknesses
- The food is quite mediocre. Ordered very strange fish tacos that were in buns vs tortillas. Pretty bland, not yummy. Yuca fries were soggy. Would have been happier if food had been yummier.
- they can't really help this, but the SLS is next door and they have a beach party every weekend. The crowd and music is pretty loud. Can be annoying to hear the EDM and hip hop from next door competing with the chill out music at the pool.
- rooms are on the smaller side, but that is typical of the older hotels. Rooms were a bit disappointing though. Bathrooms really should be nicer and more updated.

Overall, really enjoyed my stay!!
-

Room Tip: If it's not too much more, try to get a suite because the rooms are on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetawayNYCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
GetawayNYCgirl,

Thank you so much for detailing out your stay with us. It is always great to hear our guests feedback to know where we are doing great and where we can do better. Thanks for mentioning some of our rockstar employees!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I wish I was back at the hotel as I type this! Lounging at the pool or on the beach is pure relaxation at the Surfcomber.
Located within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. We appreciated the free daily infused water, morning coffee/tea, and happy hour.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Foodie3,

The feelings mutual! We wish you were back here as I type this.

Look forward to your return.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Yes, the place is beautiful, hip, perfect location, great price, etc… but it was the awesome people who staffed the desk, restaurant, pool, and especially, the manager! They were amazing and made us feel like the biggest VIP they've ever had. They exceeded all expectations and continually delighted us with a friendly demeanor that felt totally genuine.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
DCDoug,

Thank you so much for your posting. I can't wait to share this with the team.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Cool place. So "Miami" in the best way. First time in the city and had no idea what to do/see and they totally helped me out! Ashley, the host at the bar is awesome.. cool chick with great recommendations about the city and Tony, is a total sweetheart that just made our stay a dream. 100% coming back!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Charlotte C,

This is awesome! Happy to make the dream a reality and will continue to do so everytime you visit.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have had the best stay here, the staff are literally incredible. We checked in after 26 hrs flying and they were just so easy and lovely. And since then they have done everything and anything to make the day great. Two very very special mentions need to go Tony and the host Ashley, they literally went so far out of their way on multiple occasions to make our stay so great and I have never had service like that before. Thank you and we'll be back always and always recommend you xx

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ophelia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Ophelia1234 -

Thank you so much for such a great review!
I will be sure to share with Ashley and Tony your praises.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,856 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,125 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,614 reviews
SLS South Beach
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,151 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing