We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but don't compare this to other Kimpton Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Islesford, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ok, but don't compare this to other Kimpton Hotels”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

South Beach is tough. Surfcomber is a recent acquisition for Kimpton from the Hilton chain. Even an upgraded room is quite small. They just have some figuring out to do. Too much furniture in the rooms. The AC is ok, but the rooms can be a bit stuffy. (and this was in February). Pool /Beach access is great. Staff is very pleasant. Consider staying further South however. At the Surfcombe, be certain to ask for a room facing the courtyard, not the street, otherwise you will be living and hearing Collins Ave 24/7. Also - before you rrive be sure to sign up for the Kimpton 'loyalty' program- otherwise wifi is expensve.

Room Tip: Chose a room in one of the wings or facing the courtyard. Be certain to ask the size of the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Well we certainly did not notce such practices! It was not particularly apparent.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painter04646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
painter04646,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Because the building was built during the Art Deco time period, the buildings in the Art Deco district have remained true to form to keep the historic piece alive in South Beach. Luckily we have an awesome pool area where you can enjoy the day life!

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,996
    927
    301
    108
    81
See reviews for
763
1,150
140
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Positive points: Location, location and location...helpful staff that (mostly) did its best.

Negative points: Noisy rooms, permanent humming sound everywhere, old facilities, thin walls, used, rund down carpets, completely noisy environment, no free of charge business center, broken window frames, the tiniest bathrooms ever, internet (wifi) only available upon registration at Kimpton, beach facilities close a 6pm sharp, slow valet parking, no slippers etc. in room, noisy mini bar. Extra charge of about 20 dollars a day for beach facilities that was mentioned nowhere before...

For the same amount of money you get palaces in Europe and to be honest much better service.

Room Tip: As close as possible to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
WorldTravellerG -

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I will certainly address the issues you addressed with the team for continous improvement.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Surfcomber 17th October to 24 th 2013. It was well worth the trip even if it involved two flights . The staff are the Surfcomber's best asset ...they were so genuinely helpful, kind, friendly.... all of them but especially the staff at reception, on the door and in the bar. A special mention for Keith , Sarah, the charming staff member(Chris ?) who ensured we had our preferred breakfast tea ! and Gerrardo whose presence at the door made our coming and going always pleasant ,..even when it rained!!
There was a sense of being appreciated as a guest at the Surfcomber ...the welcome back each evening made one feel at home.
The Hotel itself is very visually pleasing ...its setting ,decor, unusual art and atmosphere all combine to present a comfortable relaxing setting for a holiday . The food was really good quality and well presented. Miami has lots of interesting sights and the Surfcomber will offer/arrange lots to keep guests occupied.The evening glass of wine in the foyer was such an excellent idea!

Room Tip: Each guest is different with differing preferences ...but ....if you are unhappy with your room ,for...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Surfcomber is aware and concerned about environmental issues and operates its business accordingly.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoEastDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
GoEastDublin,

Brings a big smile on my face to know your autumn break was lovely because of your stay with us. We'll see you for summer break?

Cheers!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Surfcomber is a clean, stylish and comfortable boutique option to the mega hotels on South Beach. The service was excellent - Marco at the pool area was super on top of it and ready with whatever guests could need. Chris, the manager, was also friendly and made a point to personally invite everyone to the daily wine happy hour.
There are two free bikes available for guests (I wish there were more!) and also a free boot camp class on the beach that was excellent and as challenging as any class I've taken at my gym. This was my second time visiting the Surfcomber and I hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiranfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
kiranfrye,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Happy to know you had a great visit.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great job all-around by the staff on this excellent boutique property. We got the king room with the balcony.

High points: (1) yucca fries with garlic aoli; (2) beach service (Vinnie took great care of us); (3) cruiser bikes; (4) poolside couple's massage; (5) blackout shades in room.

Areas for (slight) improvement: (1) room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3 pm; (2) balcony has lots of mosquitoes so we didn't spend too long out there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Ben H,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I also am a big fan of the yucca fries, when in Miami do those over the regular fries!

Cheers,
Sean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I never post things online, but I wanted to share my great experience at the Surfcomber. This hotel is a great property with a non-pretentious staff and provides very nice amenities at moderate prices for Miami Beach. The hotel GM, Sean, is wonderful. He was very helpful and attentive when my girlfriends planned a girls weekend for me. The staff is extremely friendly from the front desk, servers, to housekeeping. The laid back Miami Beach vibe was perfect. The beach staff and pool staff were very attentive. Our shower had a clogged drain once and maintenance came to fix it quickly and gave us a bottle of wine for the inconvenience. Beach was beautiful, great poolside and beachside dining. I travel a lot and enjoy boutique upscale hotels and the Surfcomber is exactly that! Perfect place for a weekend of fun at the beach.

Green Features: the hotel suites are truly wonderful for entertaining groups of 10-20!
Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank seaside30a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
seaside30a,

Thank you for your review! It was great meeting you while you were on property! Happy to know the team made your ladies weekend perfect.

Best,
Sean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We loved staying at the Surfcomber! Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, and close to everything, the pool boys were also very cute!! There were lots of activities to do as well. We had lots of fun relaxing and enjoying Miami! Definitely booking here again!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megatron3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Megatron3,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! Please come and visit us again soon.

Best,
Sean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,813 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,003 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,539 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing