We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent 2 night stay at Surfcomber, South Beach, Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recent 2 night stay at Surfcomber, South Beach, Miami”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Surfcomber, South Beach for 2 nights during April 2014. The weather was hot and sunny. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly so 10/10 for service. The rooms were quite small when compared to others I have stayed in but most of the hotels in this area are older buildings that have been renovated over the years and this is how it it. The bathroom was also very small and compact but did not cause us a problem. The room was comfortable and clean with all the services we needed for our stay.

Pool area was superb and pool staff could not do enough to help. Meals and drinks were expensive when compared with other areas in the USA but not when compared with other areas in Miami. An English type breakfast for 2 cost around 40 US dollars and a coke around 6 dollars so you will need to take sufficient monies with you.

The hotel is in a superb position backing onto South Beach, situated on Collins Avenue and just 2 blocks down from the popular Lincoln road shopping, eating,drinking zone which is a hive if activity during day and night. Again prices are pretty steep if you want to eat out in Miami so take care. We visited the Nexxt Cafe situated on Lincoln Road which was superb and quite reasonably priced for a meal, meals every large and was recommended by hotel staff who also use this.

Despite the hotel prices being what we considered expensive, you could not fault the service, location, cleanliness and if only they could modify their prices it would be perfect. We would definitely stay here agin when we visit Miami next.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a room in a quiet part of the hotel particularly if you have families as this is...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel appear to be operating environmentally practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
AndB,

We are very happy to hear you had such a great time at Surfcomber! We will be sure to share the feedback with the team. The team works hard to create a memorable experience for all, so we really appreciate the kind words. We encourage you to come back in some of the quieter months such as June, September or October; during this time we have some of the best deals! Once again thank you for your business, and we hope to see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    914
    293
    106
    73
See reviews for
744
1,127
139
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just spent three nights at Surfcomber and we miss every minute of our stay there.
The hotel is modern, comfortable, sophisticated and unpretentious in an extremely good way...
The pool area and outside bar are great and our favorite spot was definitely the beach club!
We loved spending the days laying at the beach, being pampered by the great team they have there.
The happy hour wine time is, as everything at this hotel, a relaxed experience and they frequently add some delicate appetizers that were delicious.
Location couldn't be better, AT the beach, close to the bars, Ocean Drive and Lincoln Rd.
We slept well, had no problems with noise.
Actually, we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danimed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Danimed,

"modern, comfortable, sophisticated and unpretentious in an extremely good way..." It sounds like we are hitting our target! Thank you so much for the great feedback and we look foward to seeing you in Miami Beach soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I would like to start by saying it was an awesome weekend with my BFF! The staff at the Surfcomber from the doormen who greeted us were very friendly. When we arrived the young lady who checked us in was not very friendly and in fact made us feel like we had made the wrong choice. We arrived early and check-in was later, I explained we were a large group (8) and if woe get one room earlier it would very helpful....not happening. So we left and made our way to the beach and from that moment EVERYTHING CHANGED! We met Vinnie (wonderful young man) we wanted to take him home! he's a star on the beach! Thanks Vinnie! Then our next and most wonderful experience happened we met Michelle Colbertaldo (Director of Guest Experiences) and that's when we fell in love with everything Surfcomber! Michelle is what makes an experience! She was AWESOME and we were made to feel special and our GUEST EXPERIENCE was the BEST! Thanks Michelle you will be missed by the Kimpton Family! I Also want to give mention to Kenneth Walker( great job), Martin (who arranged our transportation back to the airport)..thanks and to Jenny who booked a nice tour for me and my BFF....you are all excellent employees and I would hire all of you to work for me.!
Keep up the great work team!
Paola and her girls from Toronto!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
toronto9,

Perhaps the Surfcomber was made for BFF weekend getaways! I am very happy to hear you and the girls had such a great stay. I'm sorry that the stay started off on the wrong foot, but happy to hear that we were able to correct immediately. Be sure to round up the girls and come back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
330 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a really fantastic hotel. Hard to believe the wonderful rate I paid to stay here.

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary here for one night after getting back from a cruise. The staff was wonderful, and they really set this place apart from other hotels. Not sure I've ever come across service this attentive and friendly before. And I've stayed at many, many hotels.

We were given a complimentary room upgrade to an ocean front room. Beautiful view. The hotel has its own beach access. Resort fee ($20) includes two lounge chairs on the beach. If you want an umbrella, it'll cost you $19 extra.

We stayed by the pool all afternoon, however. A sparkling and beautiful pool that is much larger than the pictures make it seem.

Pool staff was quite helpful. Great service. Water and sunscreen available to guests for free. Umbrellas galore for shade. Ample lounge chairs to choose from. A truly wonderful way to relax. This is a fantastic pool area.

The hotel lobby was really nice. Modern and fun. Front desk staff checked me in fast and gave us drinks upon arrival. They even delivered some champagne to our room for our anniversary. A sweet gift!

Our room was very nice. Resort amenities. Bed was very comfortable. Decor was fun. TV was gigantic.

Bathroom was a little on the small side, but that wasn't a big deal for my wife and me. Shower was lovely, as well as the bath products.

Valet will cost you $39, but the valet staff is super nice. We did have a little trouble finding identifying the hotel when we drove up. Collins St. is so busy it makes it hard to see when there's not a large sign out front.

The hotel is right on the beach, with access to the beach walk. It's only a couple blocks from Lincoln Mall, which we walked to. A fun part of town.

Check out was easy. Coffee and tea we're waiting for us in the lobby, as well as an assortment of newspapers.

We joined Kimpton's loyalty program so we got $10 worth of snacks from the mini bar. Fun!

This is a gem of a hotel in Miami Beach. So glad we stayed here. If we ever return to Miami, there is no doubt we will stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mpugh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
mpugh22,

Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us at Surfcomber! I am very happy to hear that you had such a great time! In case the GPS is acting up next stay, you can check out our fresh sign that was just installed last Tuesday! Now we are a bit easier to find. We are looking foward to making the next stay just as special.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in August 2013 for four nights. The pool is amazing and the pool service was great. We loved the location, right on the beach, nearby to supermarkets, shopping at Lincoln Road Mall, nightlife, etc. We would definitely stay here again if we came to Miami. The rooms were really modern, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean - whilst they aren't massive suites, we found the size fine for a couple with large luggage cases. The complimentary wine hour was great and we took advantage of this twice. We didn't like the on site restaurant. It was pricey for the quality so we didn't stay for a full meal only a few drinks and snacks. The bus is really convenient if you wanted to go to the large mall 45 mins north or down South Beach.

Our one negative was one night when the room next door played loud music from midnight to 5am, we found it difficult to sleep but were too lazy to get out of bed and complain. We were surprised that the staff didn't notice as you could hear it in the hallway.

We thought this hotel was excellent and would recommend to anyone looking for a decent priced hotel in a great location at South Beach with a top notch pool. We spent hours soaking in the Miami sun and had no problem getting lounge chairs!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlanellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi caitlanellen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Surfcomber! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is nice to hear you had a great stay. I will be sure to share your feedback about the restuarant with the team. I am sorry the restaurant didn't meet your expectaions and apologize about noisey neighbors. Next time please give us a call down so we can address any noise issues. Once again, thank you for your business; we look foward to seeing you in South Beach soon!

Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the surfcomber and loved it. We settled on this hotel because of how close it was to the beach and everything was within waking distance. Room was clean. Bathroom was a bit small but it's on a bathroom. Service was great. Everyone was very helpful. Pool area was great. And of course the beach. The beach is fantastic! The service was great! Expensive but it is Miami. Vinny, John, Jessica and Hans were awesome. Very friendly and helpful. Def made our stay are the beach great!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sousam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Sousam2,

Thank you for sharing how incredible our beach team is! They work hard so you can relax and enjoy those mojitos on the sand...or rather on a nice day bed; as you have posted a picture of! Come on down soon for another round!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have read some of the negative reviews on here and was a little nervous. We love the kimpton chain they are amazing and have always treated us above and beyond. When we arrived at the hotel the valet was amazing. When we checked in the girl at the desk was happy, friendly and inviting. We arrived at happy hour. Which if anybody can complain about that well I would quit reading their review because they are just one of those people. It was busy in the lobby but it was happy hour, again nothing to complain about. The man at the wine table was excellent friendly and happy. Our room was amazing, incredible actually. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The room size was perfect. The complaints about small rooms, I just don't know what else you need.after all you are in Miami at the beach and amazing pool. Every where we went the staff was above and beyond. Brad and Cameron at the front desk, friendly, helpful incredible service. The free coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will most definitely be back. I am generally very picky about my hotels and this one most definitely met all of my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayTraveller149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
TammyH81,

Thank you for the recent stay and the great review! Your review's honesty and straightfowardness definitely made me smile! Thank you again for your business and we will see you next time you need to escape Canada!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing