We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I used trip adviser to choose the hotel and it didn't disappoint, the hotel staff were great always courteous and keen to help (the complimentary morning coffee & afternoon wine was much appreciated). The rooms were clean and of a reasonable size and the beds 'although a personal thing' were comfortable. We didn't use the hotel restaurant in the evening but breakfast sitting out on the veranda watching the world go by was very pleasant.
My son's comment - the hotel looked cool and they did ice coffee in the morning.
Daughters comment - pool was great and on the beach in seconds wow!
Wife comment - great central location easy walking distance from Lincoln Av and Ocean Dr

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
rgibo,

Thank you for staying with us at Surfcomber! I love how you had the whole family involved in the review; happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their time with us. See you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,996
    927
    301
    108
    81
See reviews for
763
1,150
140
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my second time staying at the Surfcomber - I had also stayed last year during a vacation to celebrate my birthday. We had such an amazing experience last time at this hotel that we knew we had to return again soon! The service is fantastic, every employee truly makes you feel special and treats you like royalty during your stay. When you're on vacation, they make it count!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Liz V,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Surfcomber! We are happy that you have a home away form home in South Beach. We hope to see you before next year!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Escaping New York winters for a long weekend has been a ritual for us for a number of years. The past two years we stayed at the Surfcomber, and had a very positive experience overall. So we selected the Surfcomber again for our return this year.

Our experience this time was disappointing. The property and rooms are showing a good bit of wear and tear! For the price one pays, you expect that everything will be well maintained. The pool area experience was average this time. Food has really gone down, and the closing of the restaurant area by the pool is definitely a bad decision.

The carpet in our room and the bathroom definitely some renewal love. Common Kimpton...this is Miami and folks are spending money to stay at this property. You need to invest in upkeep!

We ended up going to the Raleigh twice during our stay for meals and drinks and loved it. That property has been totally rejuvenated. We used to stay there and left it for the Kimpton after a not so great experience about 4 years ago. I think we will be back at the Raleigh next year. The Kimpton needs to make a fair number of improvements for us to be back there for a fourth year in 2015.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
barca212,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that we let you down. The third time is supposed to be a charm, not a let down. We have some serious maintenance programs in place which we will push harder in order to ensure the property is always looking its best. Please be so kind to send me a private message so we can discuss how to win you back for another stay.

Warm regards,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel for a week with my family in Late December. In summary I was very impressed by the hotel. Key points:

- the rooms were well furnished and of a good size
- the people working at the hotel were always eager to help is with all aspects of our stay
- the hotel's location was great for visiting the beach and also the various restaurants and bars of South Beach
- it was expensive but all hotels in the area are (especially around New Years) and I found it more reasonably priced than other places
- the hotel had an enjoyable private section of Miami Beach and a good pool and deck chairs
- the hotel gym is quite small but I made a lot of use of it

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoSoJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
ZoSoJade,

Thank you for the great posting! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to see you in South Beach soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights before heading to Key West. After KW I was planning to stay in Ft. Lauderdale for my last 3 nights in Florida. But I enjoyed my stay at the Surfcomber so much that I wanted to come back. I changed my reservations to only stay 1 night in FL to check it out and return to the Surfcomber for my last 2 nights and am glad I did! The Surfcomber is a 3 story Art Deco hotel on the beach in a great location. The pool and service at the pool is excellent. They have a great bar at the beach with great bartenders. They have a great beach club where they will set up a lounge chair for you and for a nominal fee they will set up a umbrella for you. There is also drink service at the beach club. I loved it! The service was excellent.
The rooms and bathrooms are small but clean, comfortable and functional. But honestly, in SoBe you don't spend much time in your room. Or at least you shouldn't. Even though the hotel is on the beach it is a bit of a walk to the ocean. But most of that is because Miami beach is so wide. I have walked further to the beach staying on the beach in Lanai.
I loved this hotel and can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank sgsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi sgsilva,

We were happy to read the great review! Thank you so much for sharing the wonderful feedback and we hope to see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed from Friday through to Monday. In April 2014. We had an ocean view balcony room. The service at the front desk was helpful and courteous on check in and the concierge made good recommendations for restaurants. What was disappointing was the balcony we had paid a significant premium for: the plants in pots on the balcony merely served to attract Mosquitos that made the balcony virtually unusable.
As other reviewers have mentioned the hotel is popular with "bachelorette parties". Some of the groups were pretty rowdy during the day and were encouraged to drink cocktails in the pool by staff. South Beach is a party venue and so is this hotel. I wouldn't recommend staying here with young children or if you are looking for a quiet relaxing time by the pool during the day.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying the large premium for a ocean view balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batchworthboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Batchworthboys,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that the mosquitos on the balcony disrupted your stay. We are taking a proactive approach to controlling them and hope that next time you will not have a similar experience. We try to balance the needs of our guests seeking the South Beach experience with those seeking a relaxing one. I am sorry if there was any disruption by the pool from other guests. We do hope you consider to giving us another chance.

Warm regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good location, good infrastructure, good rooms, good staff.

Several little things to improve:

1. Don't charge the pool apart, I'd rather pay more from the begining than being received with this annoying surprise after a long trip.

2. Improve cleanliness. Dirt behind the drawers,
looks like it had never been cleaned. Blankets and sheets were stained.

3. Improve communication. I've asked for local calls rates and they told me it was 10 cents per minute, but the bill was 1 dollar per call. I've asked for the car and had to wait more than half an hour. Because of this slowness, before going to the airport I've asked for it with 40 minutes in advance, but when I was checking out they took the car again to the parking lot without advice and had to wait another 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Yunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
John_Yunez,

Thank you for the recent stay and sharing your experience with us. I do apologize that we let you down. The items regarding valet and housekeeping will be addressed immediately. The resort fee charge is still under review as we have many people that appreciate the beach chairs being included. Once again, thank you for the feedback, and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,812 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,003 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,537 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing