We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Yes the room was tiny but the ambiance was huge. Front desk folks were great. I had forgotten that I mentioned on the reservation that it was our anniversary. Seemed every time one of us went to the front desk they would ask how our anniversary trip was going. Very nice touch. Plus we received a bottle of sparkling wine and fruit plate with the hotel's compliments.

Pool area is very nice. Great to have the wine hour in the evening and a nice display of coffee and teas in the morning. Location is great. Prices a little high but all-in-all, we enjoyed the hotel very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKE817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,483)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,677 - 1,683 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

we spend 3 nights in Miami Beach in February wanting to get a break from the long Northern winter. And the Surfcomber was a perfect choice. we were 4 ( 2 adults and 2 teenagers). The room was nice , a bit small but well organized and since the weather was perfect we didn't spend much time in it. The staff was nice and welcoming. It's a relatively small hotel compared to the big monsters nearby and that's great because when you're at the pool it's still a cosy atmosphere and you can really rest with not much noise or inconvenience.
the hotel is perfectly located with the backyard's exit directly on the boardwalk and the beach. Pretty close to Lincoln road and the shops and restaurants. A perfect getaway for a long weekend. We didn't know the Kimpton Hotels but we will definitively try an other one of the same brand since we very much liked the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vir265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went down to Miami for a ladies weekend and 3 of us stayed at the Surfcomber for 4 nights. The hotel is right on Collins avenue, which is very convenient to endless restaurants and nightlife as well as walking distance to many of the larger hotels (e.g. the W). We had an amazing stay at the Surfcomber:

Service: Service, like all Kimptons, was really wonderful. There was complimentary hot and iced coffee in the lobby daily in addition to wine hour from 5-6pm every night. It was a highlight for us to grab free wine and hang out on the beach as the sun was setting.

Beach/Pool: the pool area was nice with comfortable chairs. Note on Saturdays during the high season there is a pool party with loud music and a large crowd. We were given a heads up, just note it won't be a quite afternoon. Beach access is a quick 3 minute walk. We had 2 chairs included in our rate and the service was great. Umbrellas were extra ($15) but all in all it's a really nice place to hang out by the beach.

Food: I ordered room service and beach service multiple times and was really impressed with the food. Everything was reasonably priced and the yucca fries were amazing!

Room: The room was simple with two double beds and a small bathroom. The window overlooked a wall, but I'm assuming you can pay more for a view if that's important to you. Square footage was lacking, so keep that in mind if you are traveling with loads of bags. We did have some issues with the durability of the room. For example, our curtain rod fell down unexpectedly in addition to the towel rod coming out of place multiple times. I suggest a room refresh soon.

All in all, I highly recommend the Surfcomber. It is not the luxury of the Delano or the W, but the service is wonderful and it's a great value, especially when you aren't spending a ton of time in your room. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very nice Kimpton property at a great location. The grounds are nicely kept and the decor fits with the Art Deco theme of South Beach. The beach is beautiful. It is also very nice that you can use the hotel's sun screens at the pool and enjoy a free glass of wine every day during their hosted wine hour. However, some issues with service during our stay Memorial Day weekend. Breakfast server on two of the three mornings was inconsistent - e.g. kept forgetting to bring items (bagel but no cream cheese, coffee and cream but no spoon) and took a very long time. We had a balcony and beach view but there were so many mosquitos that the balcony was unusable. When we mentioned this to the front desk they were not surprised at all (wish they had mentioned this during check in so we could have gotten bug spray right away). On the bright side, Jess - the server at the beach - is awesome. So is Monty, one of the bell boys, who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Those two made our stay!

Room Tip: Ocean front suites are lovely - but get bug spray right away at the reception!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapitolTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My friend and I just got back from a 4 night/5 day stay at this hotel. We were met up upon arrival by Tony who took our bags and directed us to the front desk. Kenneth Walker was our front desk associate and he did a great job checking us in. Kenneth was so nice and polite. While we were waiting to finish the paperwork he handed us a glass of champagne, very nice touch. He gave us suggestions on what to do and also made us feel at home. We had such an amazing experience at this hotel that we will be return soon! The customer service provided was fantastic, every employee truly makes you feel special and treats you like royalty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tere P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really enjoyed my recent stay at the Surfcomber. The hotel is in a great location on Miami Beach and a couple of blocks from the shops and bars of Lincoln Road.

Staff at the hotel were really friendly and facilities were good with a great pool with bar facilities. If you prefer the ocean then this is just a walk out the back gate and you are there! Each evening the hotel provides a complimentary glass of wine or two in the reception area and usually a sample of food.

Rooms were clean however like many other South Beach hotels the rooms were not as large as normal US hotels however size was fine.

As with many hotels they do charge a resort fee each day usually payable direct even if you have paid for hotel stay. As these are not optional I do feel these should be included as part of the price.

Free internet access if you sign up to newsletter/membership club which was good.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary with a stay at the Surfcomber. The people are amazing. The attentiveness of the staff is second to none! Upon arrival, we were immediately congratulated and when we arrived to our room the staff had left hand written notes to congratulate us. If you want to feel pampered...stay here!! The food is great, the pool and beach are wonderful, and the people are first in class. Thanks for the memories!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,185 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,915 reviews
SLS South Beach
#42 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £158 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing