We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A STAFF THAT TREATED ME HOW I LIKE TO BE TREATED... "VIP STATUS"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just got back from Miami for a bachelorette party and have been going to South Beach for years and this was my first time staying at the Surfcomber Hotel. The hotel was clean, centrally located and an all over great experience. I never write reviews but felt that need to give a very special review to staff at this hotel. Jenn at the front desk is amazing and was such a help to me and my friends; Marcos out at the pool took care of us every day at the pool and set us up with chairs without even asking; but i have to give Rachel, the cocktail server, at the pool a FIVE STAR rating... she went ABOVE and BEYOND for me and my friends every day at the pool and we never had to ask her for anything, she knew what we were drinking without even asking after the first day there. She was so helpful and sweet and i told her i was going out of my way to write this review because of her. I would DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNYCJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 3,528 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

What an amazing hotel, made extra special by the staff. From the first greeting on the door from Latifh, to Kenneth and Joy on reception, to Chris Smith and Marcus by the pool and everyone beyond, the staff at this hotel are exceptional. People that really want to be your friend and you theirs. Rooms are of a good size, although bathrooms are a little on the small side, but how long would you want to spend in the room when you have such a wonderful pool area and access to the private part of the beach. The hotel is well positioned for access to the restaurants and shops of Lincoln Road and just a short walk to the madness of South Beach. Complimentary champagne on arrival and a hosted free wine hour from 5pm to 6pm each day just add to the enjoyment. Even the noisy aircon plant and roof view couldn't spoil my stay. Definitely coming back and will always now try to stay Kimpton elsewhere in the states.

Room Tip: I was in 330 overlooking the roof and aircon plant which was quite noisy. Try to get on the odd numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMooFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 3rd to 9th June 2014....

Room - courtyard facing (internal), nice and quiet at night, good king bed. Good sized TV, iron, plenty of hangers but no kettle that i could find (i like a brew int he morning). Broken sink in bathroom (plug would not lower) and bulb also broken, asked maid twice to get it fixed, never did despite promises of an engineer visit.

Pool/Beach - Excellent position for sun and service from the pool attendants, extra charge for umbrellas by sea available for free at other hotels.

Bar - You have to tip 19% for a bar person opening a bottle and moving it a couple of feet from fridge to glass then they have the cheek to ask for an additional tip. Rip off.

Paid in full when i booked and then they added a 'resort tax' on departure.

Very expensive for a near week stay and when i asked to check out at 2pm (2 hour extension from standard 12 check out) they said no i was not impressed.

A nice hotel but very over priced due to its position.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muzmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an excellent choice. Perfect location, good pool area, gorgeous beach, good restaurant and an excellent staff. They are very helpfull and friendly. The resort tax allows you to get free coffee in the morning, drink a different type os wine at five, gets towells, chairs and sunscreen on the pool and the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litigator_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

it was our first time staying in the Surfcomber in Miami and we had a blast...from the second we walked into the lobby everyone was super nice and super cool...Every worker there from the concierge to the cleaning staff always offered a helping hand or just said a simple hello and greeted you with a smile...Completely satisfied with our stay here and would definitely come back again...hotel was really clean and we did not have one single problem ...a few of the staff that we met that were simply amazing were ...
Jenny from the concierge & Kenneth
Chris by the pool
Vinny by the beach
Completely loved them. Really cool staff. Amazing hotel. Thank you Surfcomber !!

-from the four girls from NY staying on the third floor!! Thank you again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria002626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is my first kimpton experience as I would usually prefer spg hotels. But the hotel's deco pics was just too pretty for me to skip this hotel.

I arrived later than I was supposed to due to a missed flight. Thus, the efficiency and friendly front-desk was very much appreciated. Welcomed me with a glass of champagne - nice touch. Other good points, which is typically of kimpton hotels, not unique to this hotel - free wine hour 5-6pm and free wifi for intouch members.

I was in room 170 [level 1]. Not a good idea to get that room as the window faces the pathway that leads to the pool. Was woken up in the middle of the night due to some shouting. Room is very small and not fully equipped with the basic toiletries - there is no toothbrush, toothpaste and shower gel. There is body lotion, shampoo and conditioner and a bar of soap.

Wifi was good throughout the whole of the hotel.

Not very satisfied with the breakfast staff who served me. I needed a teaspoon and she gave me a soup spoon as she was not willing to go find one. I explained that I needed a spoon for tea, she then unwillingly went to find a teaspoon for me.

Pool area was ok, though crowded.

Overall experience - loved the front-desk staff - friendly and efficient. Was satisfied with the lobby area - hip and sleek. Bed was very comfortable. However, did not like the size of room and toiletries. I will be trying out two more kimpton hotels due to special discount - allegro in chicago and ink48.

Room Tip: Do not take the level 1 rooms - noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rentaplace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at Kimpton Surfcomber for four nights here in mid May. I had a great time. The front staff, including the valet to the cleaning person I met in the hallway on my way to my room were all very nice. Working with the front desk checking in was a breeze, and the room was nice. Not the biggest room, but clean and modern. I also worked with their concierge to set up some reservations for rental car, boat trip and baseball tickets, and everything was taken care off.

Great experience and I hope I’ll be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theWeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,689 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,559 reviews
SLS South Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,679 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,017 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £199 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing