We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfcomber = Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Surfcomber = Great staff!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The Kimpton Surfcomber is a hidden gem on the south beach of Miami with great staff. The poolside crew is on point, including Rachel the server, Chris and Scott as pool boys, and Chris the manager. They delivered tremendous service during our stay and really made my mind up to only stay here during future visits to Miami. Great job!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chall697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Chall697-

Thank you for the recent stay and great review. We can't wait to see you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,028
    932
    307
    110
    83
See reviews for
781
1,162
142
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As my first time in Miami I have to say this hotel has been the best experience get. Friendly staff great environment and great class made this stay amazing. Not to mention how helpful and profession Martin at the front desk was makes me want to come back and stay at the surfcomber. Will definitely be coming back for more and staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisbethPantaleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
lisbethPantaleon-

Thank you very much for the recent stay and great review. We will be sure to share the great feedback with Martin! We look foward to seeing you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

the surfcomer hotel is a wonderful place to stay, it in the right spot were everything is at,
my husband and I had a great time, the staff at the hotel was impeccable,
we would suggest this hotel to any one going to Miami on vacation.....

Room Tip: "Rooms on the South side are quieter"
See more room tips
Green Features: My husband and I stay at the Surfcomber on June 14,2014, for vacation we enjoy our vacation very much the stuff the their was very friendly and helpful...best time ever
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelanixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Pamelanixon-

Thank you for staying with us at Surfcomber. We are glad that we helped make your vacation wonderful. See you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was one of my best vacations. Everyone here was amazing. The location near everything possible and if you are not lazy like me, things are within walking distance. But don't fret cause the staff will take care of anything you need to make things readily available for you. All you have to do is simply ask one person. If they don't have an answer and another team member is within listening distance they will share. The actual property is quaint, centrally located, clean, loud noise is NOT tolerated and just special. The pool team headed by Chris is never to far away and once you are squared away they are available. Lounge full size towels chair covers were amazing in the heat. The beach water was as nice and warm as the friendly staff at beach. Thanks Vinny and team. Front Desk staff team (David, Kenneth, Brad, Jenny, Andrew,Guhluam) get an A+ for being present everyday and ready to make each day better than the next. They are friendly, professional and a wealth of knowledge about the area to assist in you having the best time ever. Don't hesitate to ask for locations to eat. Their suggestions were just as they said great--Great Food at great prices. They did not disappoint in any area. If you try somewhere else, you will be missing out on a opportunity to be treated as a member of the family versus an ordinary guest. Make sure you visit Pat (from Rhode Island) at the SandBar she make an AWESOME beverage. I had one problem with noise from another property and guess what........It was handled expeditiously with a room change and no questions asked. Thanks David. Check-out morning was just as seamless. Kenneth made sure our bags were downstairs the night before, wake up calls made, second calls made to be certain we didn't fall back asleep and paperwork waiting to expedite our departure. I travel often and this team at this Kimpton property was absolutely fabulous and superseded my expectation. Can't wait to return........I will BE BACK and until I will tell anyone going to South Beach about this property but more so about the team and high level of service by everyone. Want yo feel and be treated special ....... You must stay at the SURFCOMBER KIMPTON in South Beach. Don't miss out because you will be missing a great experience.

Room Tip: Just ask. Front Desk team is more than accommodating. They are informative and willing to make certa...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a pet-friendly property and even if you are not a pet lover you really don't realize they are there. To stay hydrated and refreshed in the high heat there a plenty free refreshments to prevent dehydration. If you don't see what you need just ask.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veejay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Veejay28-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am glad that we able to treat you like a favorite family member visiting from out of town! This review will be certainly be shared with the entire team (although they love checking them out online for themselves). We really appreciate your business and cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My mom and I decided to take a trip to South Beach for her 60th birthday. After many hours of reading hotel reviews we chose Surfcomber. It was the perfect hotel. It was centrally located to Ocean Drive, Lincoln and Espanola Way. It was also close enough to the action but not too close that you are bothered by the noise of the nightlife. The complementary bikes were a plus to ride around and see all the sites. The room and bathroom was a decent size for a king bed room and the decor throughout the hotel was fresh and modern. Loved the complimentary coffee, fruit infused water and wine hour. The pool was refreshing and the beach is literally a minute walk. The Social Club Restaurant has delicious food. We had an unbelievably scrumptious Cuban Sandwich for lunch and a green juice from the Juice Bar. Last but not least, the staff was AMAZING! The service was 5 star. Everyone was so friendly and truly seemed to love what they do. We got to know Kenneth (and his sweet assistant aka pooch Peaches) and Luz. They were always eager to make sure we were taken care of and greeted us with huge smiles. A very special and memorable touch was walking into our room to see a bottle of wine, wine glasses, a fruit tray and birthday card from Jenny & Angie wishing my mom a happy birthday. Wow, wow, wow! Loved Vinnie the cabana guy, he sure knows how to lay on the compliments and make us ladies feel good! Rene and Juju were also so helpful to get us set up on the beach. We had the best time and highly recommend the Surfcomber. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph_VirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Steph_VirginiaBeach-

Thank you for staying with us for your mom and daughter weekend! We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay and liked the welcome amenity. We just received two new bikes that will be ready for you the next time you come visit! We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at Surfcomber this past week in June. The trip was a mix of business and personal. We had an amazing experience in both situations. The customer service at this hotel is impecable. The hotel is very central, we were minutes away from everything. I would suggest this hotel to anyone without hesitating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Jasleen B-

Thank you for staying with us at Surfcomber! We appreciate the endorsement and great review. Can't wait to see you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on 3rd June just for one night.
We really do like the Kimpton brand and it was just as good as the other Kimpton hotels we have stayed in before. The real asset we found to this hotel was the staff, everyone we spoke to were lovely, very pleasant and a ‘can do’ and ‘here to help’ attitude.

It’s a really well placed hotel, not far from the beach and parking is expensive but easy – with the valet just taking it away, it was good not having to worry about where to park.

Complimentary wine tasting was good and the complimentary tea in the morning was very much appreciated.

The building and rooms are very well maintained and modern (room is quite small by American standards). We are quite light sleepers and didn't sleep very well due to hearing people on the floor above walk around.

Only problem we experienced during our stay: we decided to eat in the hotel and booked a table for 7:45pm - however we didn't actually eat any food until 9:30pm. Whilst the food was very good, the service from the kitchen really let them down, it wasn't even busy. After ordering it took nearly an hour for the food to arrive and when it did my husband's fish wasn't cooked in the middle. They were very nice about it and said they would do another one. Oh dear that took nearly another hour for that to arrive hence the long time. We had driven up from the Keys that day and were both very hungry, they did bring us some fruit while we were waiting, and they knocked a bottle of water for $6 off our bill, but really I think they should have given my husbands fish free after that wait. We didn't make a fuss we just wanted to eat and sleep. When we got home to England, I did mention the meal on our questionaire and we were contacted very quickly to offer us a meal 'on the house'. I wrote back and said it seems a bit expensive for us to fly back from England for a free meal, and that they should refund our credit card but they didn't reply. Shame really, that they didn't even reply to that email and a refund to our credit card would have been a nice gesture. Maybe we won't eat in a Kimpton next time.

Having said that we would stay again (however South Beach isn't really for us, so doubt we will go back to that area) and I really do recommend the Kimpton brand - if we have a choice we would always try and stay in a Kimpton.

Room Tip: Top floor then you will not hear people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmAstley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi AmAstley-

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry that we let you down during your dining experience. I am even more sorry about the lack of follow up. I have sent a message so that you can finishing resolving the problem. It was great to see that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. We really value your business and hope you give us a change again in our hotels and restaurants.

Warm regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,871 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,132 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,155 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,623 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing