We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, even better manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #40 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Great Stay, even better manager”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

At first I was uneasy when I ended up at this hotel. However, those concerns were quickly gone after encountering the hotel manager, Kenenth. He was the most helpful, informative and kind person we encountered at the hotel. He made an effort to recommend places to eat, shop and hangout. He asked if we were enjoying our stay and when I expressed a problem we had on the beach he immediately tried to remedy the situation. He offered different ways to make us feel better and truly made the stay worthwhile. It was nice to have that type of personalized service in such a big city. Would definitely stay at the Surfcomber again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegMo_0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
MegMo_0217-

Thank you for the recent stay and great posting! Kenneth is incredible at taking care of our guests, so thank you again for sharing with the TripAdvisor community!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,954
    913
    292
    106
    73
See reviews for
743
1,125
138
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was very please with my stay at this hotel over the 4th of July weekend. I love the decoration of the hotel, and the pleasant relaxing yet professional atmosphere. Rai at the front desk was very helpful and went above and beyond. The managers David and Lucia made us feel like we were the only guests at the hotel. Def will return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrami726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Vrami726-

Thank you for the recent stay and great posting! Rai recently joined our team and is already creating memorable experiences for our guests. We look foward to seeing you in South Beach soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had to go to a work conference in Miami Beach (woe is me) and stayed here. It's within walking distance of the convention center and is just a few steps away from the beach. I ordered room service, which was very fast and the food was good. The front desk staff even called me back to let me know that I could get a side salad with my order rather than ordering an entire salad - thereby saving me money! It was very thoughtful of them. I wasn't able to use the pool, unfortunately, but it looked lovely. The front desk staff were all very helpful and had a good sense of humor. I would definitely stay here again for a vacation or if I'm forced to go back to Miami Beach for work again (haha).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaFleur1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
LaFleur1979-

We are fortunate that your work took you to South Beach! Next time we will need you to skip the conference and spend more time at the pool and beach! We won't tell your boss.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just stayed a couple of night at the Surfcomber - had previously stayed there when it was a Doubletree.

Kimpton has made this property their own with the look and feel of the Kimpton brand.

Service was outstanding throughout the property from the Front Desk to the Pool and Beach service.

Location is perfect, nice beach and great pool area makes this a great hotel in SoBe

Room Tip: I had room 266 - nice size room with a king bed, plenty of room for 2
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton Hotels are always working to help the environment in any way possible.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caravan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Caravan50-

We love seeing guests return who may have previously stayed at the property before it was a Kimpton! There is always a great reaction! Thank you so much for the recent stay and great posting. Don't wait so long to come back next time!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a group of 23 in for a week of meetings and activities. From Elizabeth who worked with me determining our needs for meeting space and meals, to Brad who found some great options for fun things to do and restaurants to visit, to Joe who took care of our meeting room and meal set upmeticulously perfectly every day....it was a fantastic week. Great spot to combine meeting and fun. Thank you Surfcomber staff for making it work!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Earsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Earsy2014-

Thank you for bringing your group to Surfcomber! We think there is no better place to have some meetings and team building. Sometimes you just need some of that Miami Sunshine to spark the creativity and team bonding! Once again thank you very much for the business and we look foward to seeing you again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After our second stay at the Surfcomber we know why we came back. The hotel is beautiful and conveniently located. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and beautifully designed. The entire staff from housekeeping to the pool to the front desk were extremely accommodating especially David and Brad who truly went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Book online at the hotel website, they will price match.
See more room tips
Green Features: Free iced coffee in the morning and sangria in the afternoon is one of the best perks at this hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geolal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Geolal-

Thank you for the return visit! The housekeeping team loves hearing the great feedback as well as Brad and David! We will be sure to share the great review. We look foward to making the third stay even better!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was more than we expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Right on the beautiful Miami beach and if you don´t like the beach, the pool area was great.
The hotel arranged partynights 2days during our visit with discjockeys and bars around the pool area.At first we were worried that this would cause a lot of noise but the parties ended around 9 p.m so it did not bother us at all, in fact we enjoyed it a lot!
The hotel offered a glas of free wine every afternoon as a "get together" a very nice gesture.
We willcertainly be back as soon as possible!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Eva S,

Thank you for the recent stay and great review! Great to see that you were able to enjoy one of our pool parties and also get a great night's sleep! We hope to see you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing