We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small boutique hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #44 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We read SO many reviews of South Beach Miami hotels on the water, and The Surfcomber was well reviewed so we booked it. It's a small older hotel (built in 1948), certainly dwarfed by many if not all the other hotels on Miami Beach, but that just made it more intimate. We spent a few days just enjoying the South Beach Miami scene, drinking the atmosphere and dining at some great restaurants. The hotel staff was absolutely wonderful and seemed so very attentive to our every need. Loved the architecture, and the grounds right on the beach were great. We watched some World Cup Soccer games by the pool, drink in hand and in stylish comfort. For a quiet escape or a raging party by the pool this is a great choice, especially as they cater to your every need with a smile. Service on the beach is wonderful, with friendly, caring staff to take care of you.

Room Tip: As the hotel is only three stories high, there isn't a huge difference between floors so just fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flyingpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

flyingpuck-

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We loved the great comments and pictures. We appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you again soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 3,508 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were traveling for the first time in Miami Beach and looking for a nice hotel to celebrate our first year anniversary! The many many positive reviews of this hotel encouraged us.. and we weren't disappointed! We stayed for 9 nights and really got the opportunity to try everything! We were also upgraded upon arrival for a nicer view.

This place has a human size, unlike many other buildings. If you have any question, the staff is really helpful and they even helped me confirm a booking for a visit. The best thing is certainly the location, right on the beach and so close to both Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road Mall! The decoration of the lobby and the room is lovely. The bathroom is pretty small but ok.

We also really enjoyed the pool and the service at the pool. We attended 2 pool parties. The music was too loud and the barbecue not so great (but we do recommend the food at the pool otherwise), but we really appreciated the big screens set for the world cup, We got to see our country play in a beautiful environment! We also liked the daily wine hour!

The only thing we didn't like was the lack of coordination between the beach staff and the rest of the staff: the day we arrived, the pool was closed and a sign clearly stated that we would have free umbrellas at the beach. But once we got there, the guys said we had to pay because the pool was going to reopen soon at like 11 am (in fact it opened 3 hours later...)

If you are travelling as a couple like us, especially for the first time, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JoelleLoic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

JoelleLoic N,

Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! We are very happy that you had such a great time! We are really sorry about the pool closure and communication. This was not normal for us and will not be happening again in the future. Once again, thank you so much for the great stay. We look foward to welcoming you back in the future!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As an Australian, im always blown away by the high levelof service in the US but at Surfcomber hotel it is exceptional even by US standards. Hotel is appointed and located right on the beachwith spectacular views and with level of exceptional service which really makes the differnce. this people really know how to make their guest feel VIP. Thanks to Alex( front desk) for being so heart warming and wellcoming. Shout out to Andrea at the beach who was there for us every day, we miss your cocktails and your great service. Great job Surfcomber!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stevan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

stevan p-

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience! We will be sure to pass on the kind words to the entire team; especially Alex and Andrea! We cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was staying at this hotel for business but nevertheless I enjoyed every moment that I was there. This boutique hotel is decorated beautifully but beyond that the service was impeccable! From the gentleman that greeted me at the door to the front desk to even the young man that brought coffee to my room were all so very pleasant! The room rate was great for being directly on the beach. Highly Highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank stacy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

stacy m-

We are happy that your business led you to our slice of paradise! Thank you for sharing the great review. We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Third year staying at Surfcomber & counting!!! Exceptional staff from Alex (front desk manager) to Rai & Mercedes (check in ladies) to Mr. Foxy (always has us warm towels on our late night swims -:) ) thanks to each & everyone that made us feel at home in Miami!!! Like our home away from home from DC & MD!!! To Rai truly handled our big group like a PRO even though it was your first week. To Mercedes thanks for going out your way & printing our boarding passes. To Alex thanks for finding my Fiance outfit we left behind & sending it out to us! MR. Foxy thanks for your pleasant spirit & being so helpful. Oops & To Martin for helping with the bags in & out!!! May you be blessed & Surfcomber be prosperous ALL year long!! See u next year!! Will be making reservations soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Tina G,

Thank you for recognizing a few stand out members of our amazing team! We love being your home away from home in South Beach. We really appreciate your continued loyalty and business. We cannot wait to see you next year!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place is great. There is so many things to be seen here and i promise the huge amount of picture we took could not capture the moment. All staff is friendly and engaging, much more than some of the other stands on the beach. Andrea and Vinnie made our beach day just fabulous. Food and drinks that Andrea recommended were amazing. Everything we were looking for was genuine hospitality, friendliness and laid-back environment - we definitely found it here.This people go out of their way to make sure you are having fun and not missing drinks, food or towels. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Jenn S,

We believe nobody should go thirsty, ever, while staying at Surfcomber! So happy to hear that the team took such great care of all your needs. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look foward to welcoming you back.

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is right on the beach a lovely place to spend some time. Be aware, resort tax and parking are hidden charges. All in all a lovely experience, would love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dutchbird71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dutchbird71,

Thank you for the recent stay and sharing your feedback! Great to hear you had a wonderful stay. We always want to be upfront on all costs associated with the hotel: our resort fee is $20/night and includes two beach chairs as well as great amenities poolside such as fruit infused water, sunscreen, and more! Our valet parking rate is $39/night. Thank you again and we look foward to seeing you next time you are in South Beach!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,667 reviews
SLS South Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,208 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,987 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £187 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing