We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Surfcomber in May 2013, for our first time in Miami Beach. It was quite difficult to choose a hotel but we relied on the other reviews and our previous Kimpton experiences, which were always a success. And we definitely do not regret our choice! The location is great, the staff is, as always, extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel stylish, the pool area great (we loved Remi the black sheep), and the access to the beach easy. As in all Kimpton hotels, the beds are so comfortable.... and the bigelow bath amenities are always a great plus!
We can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alphabrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Alphabrune,

We are glad that you chose to stay with us at Surfcomber! We appreciate your continued loyalty to Kimpton Hotels and look foward to welcoming you back again.

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,483)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I just returned from a short week stay at the Surfcomber and it was perfect... We come down very often since we have lots of family in the miami/ ft. lauderdale area..We have stayed at many of the hotels in Miami, hollywood & ft. lauderdale and this one took us by surprise as to how perfect it was.. The pool was beautiful and never overly crowded.. The beach was the same there was always plenty of chairs & umbrella available.. Rooms were very clean.. Hotel smelled amazing the entire place smelled like fresh flowers.. The staff was on a personal first name basis with us after day 1 and provided us with everything we needed.. There was actually an individual at the pool one day who was staying at another hotel next to us who could not believe how friendly the staff at the pool was.. Gia at the pool was the best she gives a good vibe and keeps your drinks full all the time.. Leslie at the inside bar made these amazing drinks that you can actually take to the pool which was great.. I dont remember the mans name that worked the valet but he was a complete gentleman with my wife everytime we went in and out.. I can keep going on forever!!! We booked this hotel last minute because we were going to stay at the Eden Roc where we have stayed before.. We decided to try something new strictly on tripadvisor ratings and it totally paid off... We were within walking distance to everything!!! They had free coffee in the morning for us in the main lobby & a free continental breakfast everyday or complimentary drinks at the pool or bar.. Free wine in the main lobby from 5-6 everyday with 3 different selections and some finger foods.. The only thing i can say is that you would be foolish not to stay at this hotel.. We came down as a couple to get away but next time we will bring the kids it was perfect for both...We always like to try new places but i think for sure the next couple times we come down we will be staples at the surfcomber!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor with a garden view.. the room was perfect for us but we didnt really sp...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cmenduina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

cmenduina,

We are very happy to hear you had such a great stay! Thank you for sharing the detailed experience with the world. We will be sure to share the incredible comments with the entire team! We look foward to making your next stay amazing!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I must say that I enjoyed my stay and as soon as you arrive you're greeted with smiles and willingness to assist. My experience with Surfcomber was wonderful from the time I drove up to my front desk check in, my towels brought to me for my midnight swim, to my lunch by the pool in a cabana and all the way to checking out . great service and wonderful place to relax and be revived. Beach was excellent too. I loved every moment there..... Thanks Surfcomber's Staff

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Tonya L,

Thank you for sharing the great experience with the TripAdvisor community! We appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you again!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the best hotel that I have stayed at in a long time! From the moment we walked in we were greeted by Leteef and felt welcomed right away. We got one of the rooms with the balcony and it was nice to wake up and fall asleep to the views of the ocean. Everything is in walking distance and if not then a quick taxi ride. There is even a 24 hour Walgreens down the street just in case. The social hour was enjoyable and use of beach cruisers came in handy to explore South Beach.
A few unfortunate things happened during our trip (outside of our wonderful hotel) but Alex, the front desk manager was the first to help. He did everything he could to make sure things went as smooth as possible. Adrian was also quite the gentleman and helped out above and beyond. Also Ivan the houseman was a huge help!
This is the only hotel I would stay at when I come back to South Beach. Thank you, to the entire staff, for everything! You made the stay worth it ☺

Room Tip: Ask to reserve a room with the balcony:)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cortney2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Cortney2113-

We loved hearing we were the best hotel you stayed at in a long time. We are hoping next time you can leave saying it was the best hotel...ever! Thank you for highlighting the excellent team that made your stay great. We look foward to welcoming you back again!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The worst hotel. I come to Miami 3-4 Times a year and I allready was in the National, the Sagamore, the James and the SLS in south beach. So if you want the most unqualified staff go to thist hotel. Not only the staff is unqualified but the rooms are horrible. First room was just in front of the main street and really noisy so we asked friendly to change. The second room was smelling like garbage (seriously like garbage), the third room the air conditioning made vibrate the room in such an intensive way that you thought it was kind of a massage function. The fourth room in which we are now is ok. It's only smelling like a sewerage. In my opinion the good reviews are 100% fake. Go and look at it by yourself ;).

Room Tip: Ehrlich die Zimmer sind alle schreklich und ich war schon in backpacker hostels in Myanmar.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Matthieu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Matthieu T-

I am very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. Your experience is not typical; I am shocked and embarassed at such a dissapointing start to your stay.Please reach out via private message so we can discuss further.

Warm regards,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great Location! Staff was super friendly and helpful and I would stay there again and again. The pool is clean and the best part were the free flavored water, lemonade, coffee, and wine. The lobby is chic but down to earth and the rooms are simple but trendy. Loved the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

midwest2nyc-

Thank for the recent stay and great posting. We look foward to welcoming you back again!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week in July and enjoyed ourselves. As with many Miami Art Deco hotels the rooms are smallish but they have everything you need and are well appointed. The open areas, including the courtyard, were comfortable and perfect for lounging and reading or just people watching.

The hotel is very centrally located, we used taxis very sparingly and were able to walk just about everywhere like Lincoln street, terrific restaurants, movies, and tons of shopping. Four stars rather than 5 due to room size and views. Most rooms don't have much of a view, not that we spent much time indoors.

Especially nice when enjoying the Free coffee and ice coffee each morning - and if you like wine, a wine and sangria they serve that free for an hour every evening.

The pool is 24 hrs and beautiful, never too crowded. Easy beach access w beach chairs incl in room rate. Both have chair-side service. The service at this hotel is excellent - very attentive staff, the kind of staff that recognize you and anticipate what you may need.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank dbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

dbt-

Thank you for the recent stay and great review. Next time book our ocean view luxury suite and I can promise you that your next review will be 5 stars! Thank you again for your business and we can't wait to welcome you back again.

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,917 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,187 reviews
SLS South Beach
#41 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,461 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £155 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing