We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Surfcomber during July 2014. Fantastic location. Fantastic staff. We really enjoyed the wine tasting in the afternoons. If ever I have the opportunity to visit Miami in future I will look no further.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Janneman B,

Thank you for the stay and great posting. Wine hour is certainly much needed after a day of exploring or even relaxing. We look foward to welcoming you back.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,933
    901
    284
    105
    70
See reviews for
735
1,111
135
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nicely Renovated Hotel on the Beach in the Center of South Beach
Reasonably Priced and excellent Services , great Value.
It has come a long way since my first Stay at this Hotel Since 1969
The Location is just off Lincoln Road, an area of Great Restaurants, Art Galleries, and Shopping

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Shrothman,

Thank you for the return visit! One of the things I love most about South Beach is the history We would love to see some before and after pics of your visit from 1969 compared to today! We really appreciate your business and hope we see you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Surfcomber in mid July 2014 on my way to Curacao. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to nightlife, food & the beach. South Beach is known as a party town so I was worried about whether it would be appropriate for for my 9 year old daughter but the Surfcomber staff made her feel right at home. The Surfcomber is very trendy, impeccably clean & the staff is friendly, professional & knowledgeable. Beginning with arrival the Bell staff greeted my family with umbrellas in the pouring rain & assured us that the rain would stop shortly. Jorges hipped us to all the great local spots. The Front Desk staff was very accommodating & the food at the Social Club was amazing. The hotel has a path directly to the beach, however it rained the entire day. BUT to my surprise our poolside cocktail waitress offered my family a complimentary poolside cabana to enjoy the WorldCup because management felt bad that it had been raining all day. Talk about customer service! The fun began with Wine hour & lunch @ the Social Club. The General Manager was very engaging during wine hour & even poured a few glasses. We also decided to visit a recommended spot for pizza & brought it back to the hotel. To my surprise again, Foxie offered my family plates, linen napkins & told us to sit & enjoy our pizza together while it was still hot. When we finally returned to our room that evening, to my 9 year old daughters surprise in our room was the best red velvet cupcakes that I've had & a chilled bottle of champagne. I've been a Kimpton InTouch member for years & I hold Kimpton in high regard. Although my stay was short, the Surfcomber exceeded my expectations. Upon departure the GM was in the lobby greeting and wishing guests farewell. What a nice touch! Needless to say... I'm getting back to the Surfcomber ASAP. Kimpton 4 LIFE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Danielle M-

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great time with us. We do our best to keep the fun going even when it rains! We appreciate you taking the time to call out the hard working team that helped make your stay memorable. For our GM, there is nothing more important but to make sure every single guest leaves happy! We cannot wait to welcome you back!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Surfcomber from July 18-23 with three of my friends for a bachelorette. We absolutely loved the hotel, it's location, and the customer service received. We are not from Miami, which is why we wanted to get to do as much as possible. Brad Low in concierge was extremely helpful and patient. He helped us plan all of our activities and gave us a lot of really good recommendations. He works hard and tries to ensure that you are having the best experience possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
valerie P-

We couldn't agree with you more; Brad is incredible! He enjoys making sure our guests have the best possible experience while visiting Miami Beach. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look foward to seeing you again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENVER COLORADO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our second time visiting the hotel. We love the location, pool, beach and their staff is amazing. Kenneth at the front desk is wonderful, always a smile and a "can do" attitude. Enjoyed their new restaurant, and the cabanas by the pool are comfortable and beautiful. Highly recommend, and make sure you are a Kimpton Karma member, their properties are awesome.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are great
See more room tips
Green Features: Their properties are certified by the Green Key Eco-Rating system.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELICASTLE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
ELICASTLE09-

Thank you for your return visit to Surfcomber! We are happy that you took advantage of all of the perks of being a Kimpton Karma Member. Free wifi, room preferences, raid the bar, and free room nights. We can't wait for your third stay; come back soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Surfcomber in May 2013, for our first time in Miami Beach. It was quite difficult to choose a hotel but we relied on the other reviews and our previous Kimpton experiences, which were always a success. And we definitely do not regret our choice! The location is great, the staff is, as always, extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel stylish, the pool area great (we loved Remi the black sheep), and the access to the beach easy. As in all Kimpton hotels, the beds are so comfortable.... and the bigelow bath amenities are always a great plus!
We can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphabrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Alphabrune,

We are glad that you chose to stay with us at Surfcomber! We appreciate your continued loyalty to Kimpton Hotels and look foward to welcoming you back again.

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I just returned from a short week stay at the Surfcomber and it was perfect... We come down very often since we have lots of family in the miami/ ft. lauderdale area..We have stayed at many of the hotels in Miami, hollywood & ft. lauderdale and this one took us by surprise as to how perfect it was.. The pool was beautiful and never overly crowded.. The beach was the same there was always plenty of chairs & umbrella available.. Rooms were very clean.. Hotel smelled amazing the entire place smelled like fresh flowers.. The staff was on a personal first name basis with us after day 1 and provided us with everything we needed.. There was actually an individual at the pool one day who was staying at another hotel next to us who could not believe how friendly the staff at the pool was.. Gia at the pool was the best she gives a good vibe and keeps your drinks full all the time.. Leslie at the inside bar made these amazing drinks that you can actually take to the pool which was great.. I dont remember the mans name that worked the valet but he was a complete gentleman with my wife everytime we went in and out.. I can keep going on forever!!! We booked this hotel last minute because we were going to stay at the Eden Roc where we have stayed before.. We decided to try something new strictly on tripadvisor ratings and it totally paid off... We were within walking distance to everything!!! They had free coffee in the morning for us in the main lobby & a free continental breakfast everyday or complimentary drinks at the pool or bar.. Free wine in the main lobby from 5-6 everyday with 3 different selections and some finger foods.. The only thing i can say is that you would be foolish not to stay at this hotel.. We came down as a couple to get away but next time we will bring the kids it was perfect for both...We always like to try new places but i think for sure the next couple times we come down we will be staples at the surfcomber!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor with a garden view.. the room was perfect for us but we didnt really sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmenduina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
cmenduina,

We are very happy to hear you had such a great stay! Thank you for sharing the detailed experience with the world. We will be sure to share the incredible comments with the entire team! We look foward to making your next stay amazing!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,611 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,574 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#31 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,046 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,141 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing