We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Ranked #22 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is ideally situated in South Beach. It is clean and modern and the accommodations are great. The service is very good and the facilities are excellent. The pool area overlooks the beach and all the major attractions are in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngmontrealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach ! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    684
    204
    85
    58
See reviews for
527
816
79
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've stayed at numerous Marriott hotels all over the country. In fact, I stay at Marriott hotels whenever possible in my travels for work and leisure. I was really disappointed with this hotel. It is by far, the worst experience I've had in a Marriott stay. I spent the entire day on the beach and when I returned to my room for the day at 5 p.m. the room had not been touched by the cleaning staff. Within five minutes of walking into the room, the cleaning staff knocked and wanted to clean while I was in the room, after I had called the front desk about it. The floors in the hallway were disgusting and in the two days I stayed, nothing was done to clean/vacuum them. The ice machine was broken and there were no plastic and/or coffee cups in the room. The carpet in the room between the beds was dirty - I found a long piece of hair on it so I guess it also (like the floors in the hallway) were in need of a good cleaning. Overall, this property needs better management.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

As a good point this hotel is located directly on Miami Beach, but that's about where the good news ends. When we arrived we handed the car over to the valet parking and tried to get the lift up one floor to reception. This is were the issues started. The lift basically refused to recognise that anyone was calling it. After about 10 mins waiting an ambulance crew arrived to help someone in the hotel and they couldn't get the lift to come either. In the end a member of staff climbed the 30 or more stairs to lobby and brought the lift down to them. We then had to wait as they needed the lift. Given we had two heavy suitcases it was quite frustrating. That parking attendants said that this was quite common but didn't really do anything to help.

We were able to check in fairly quickly and then went to our room. The room it's self was very disappointing. The whole room was painted a bland white and the fitting were in thin white plastic coated chipboard. It's was like being in a very cheap 70's kitchen. The bed was narrow compared with usual US standards and had a very thin mattress. It was the hardest bed we'd had on our trip to Miami and the Keys.

The balcony on the room, for which we paid extra was located on the side of the hotel and angled to one side so we got a limited view of the beach and the park next to the hotel. We were kind of expecting a full sea view from the hotel writeup of the room so that was pretty disappointing. Also, due to the nature of the balconies they all looked into one another. Not only did this remove privacy it meant that there was quite a bit of noise from the other guests, some of whom where getting ready for a "night on the town" and so quite boisterous.

Given we paid £250 for a night it was all in all a disappointing end to our wedding anniversary trip to Miami.

Room Tip: If you want a proper ocean view then you will have to pay an awful lot for your room. Most ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here at Marriott Stanton South Beach our aim is to exceed your expectations, which is why I am disappointed to hear about your experience while staying at our hotel. While I am regretful of your troubles, we take your review very seriously and will share your comments with our team in an effort to better our services going forward. The room design is an exclusive and well renowned Jeffery Bears design. I am sorry it was not of your taste. We have ocean view rooms and ocean front rooms, both offer views of the ocean at different angles. Some people prefer one over the other, this is strictly an individual choice. Once more. our sincerest apologies that the time spent at the Stanton was not to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
452 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 681 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently took a Disney Panama Canal Cruise and stayed at the Marriott Stanton South Beach the night before, which is where Disney picks up cruise passengers. Our room was beautiful with a comfortable king size bed, desk/work area, large bathroom and a balcony overlooking the ocean. Everything was sparkling clean and immaculate. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. There is a restaurant in the complex, and a Starbucks next door and plenty of other eateries within walking distance. The hotel does not offer a shuttle service from the airport, but the taxi ride took only about 20 minutes and cost us about $30 including the gratuity. Prices were posted right on the window of the cab so you know exactly what the cost will be. We booked the hotel directly and saved about $100 compared to what it would have cost through Disney Cruise Line.

If you’re taking a cruise out of Miami and need a place to stay the night before, I highly recommend Marriott Stanton South Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach ! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Due to different things we ended up staying one night at this hotel, which turned out to be a great thing. We really liked the room, which was quiet, fresh, clean and bright, with a modern bathroom. The bed was really comfortable so we slept like babies. The small balcony even had a view of the beach! The staff was helpful and nice. We enjoyed the pool very much and had lunch and drinks there. The lady attending the pool was hilarious and made us all laugh. The only negative thing to point out is that Marriott Corp. is still charging their guests 12,95/day for wifi! I mean who does that in 2014? Nobody stands in the lobby (where it is free) to check where they are going to go for dinner that evening or what not. Wifi should always be included/free, end of story. However, I am very fond of SoFi and if I needed to stay at a hotel in that area, Marriott Stanton would definitely be the place, as long as I get free wifi!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingFinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach ! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments. In regards to your comment about the internet fee, you can be rest assured that we take all feedback we receive under serious consideration and use it to improve our guests' experiences every day. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here as I was in town for business. From the moment we stepped onto the property, every staff member we encountered went our of his/her way to make us feel like we were the most important guests at the hotel. We arrived early, and instead of making us wait while they got our room ready, they searched and found a better room (with a beautiful ocean view) and got us right in for no additional charge. The Event Manager, Susannah, heard that it was recently our anniversary but we had been unable to celebrate it, and on our last night she had champagne and strawberries sent to our room. This was a wonderfully unexpected surprise. These are only two of the many examples of the friendly, attentive, warm and professional customer service that we experienced without fail during our stay.

The hotel itself is older, but renovated, modern, clean and comfortable. There are two pools, a decent workout room, an ocean-view bar and restaurant and a SB coffee shop. The location is excellent, and within walking distance of the attractions of South Beach. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJG9486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach ! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for a few days on a business trip and was delighted with the friendly and efficient service. The staff here can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. The hotel is bright, clean and modern, yet has the classical features of the Art Deco period as does the surrounding area. A great pool overlooking the white sand and blue sea make this hotel a breath of fresh air. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Marriott Stanton South Beach ! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Property: Marriott Stanton South Beach
Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7212
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott
Marriott Stanton South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing