We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do they get away with it in the US”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
International Inn Underbay
Ranked #191 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had trouble finding somewhere to stay. Price very expensive for the poor service. Hotel receptionist (Jennifer) was lovely and helpful BUT until now I've never been to a USA hotel who DO NOT provide, shampoo, hair dryer, coffee in the room for the price we paid.Also only provided hand sized towels. Had to stay 2 nights because of lack of hotel rooms elsewhere. The "maid" went in our room and didn't even make up the bed!!!.

Only if you are very very desperate would I recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for poolside but LOOK FIRST
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TreeFrogFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel one nite because of the price and could not find another hotel that as available as a cruise ship sailing the next day assured 100% occupancy from Miami to Fort Lauderdale.

Everyone has said what needs to be said - and more. This skanky place reeks. At some point, it could have been a real gem due to the architecture and location of the hotel with the pool right by the bay. Of which, the pool was inhabited only by dozens of pigeons - so you never ever want to get in the water.

Not sure how safe or dangerous the surrounding area is. I went for a walk to a nearby store and had no issues.

Probably better to stay away - unless you just have to.

Even then, pull a Dexter and make sure you have plenty of plastic sheeting in the room.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Let me start by saying that we did not have a lot of choices when we stayed here. It was Christmas Day and we were in Miami Beach. Being that we were in Miami Beach and @ $79, it was the cheapest we can get. All we want is a place to rest. The neighborhood was a bit sketchy as we saw people/guests who seemed to look like on pills. The room really was so outdated, with rust all over the bathroom. Again, for the price that we paid and given that it's Miami Beach, it's okay.


However, the girl in the front desk was always polite. They don't have free breakfast but they have coffee which is in the lobby. The lobby is also worth mentioning. It looks nice and you can also just hang out on their sofa. But if you keep walking towards their pool, they a "storage room" that you can see all the crap. They could have covered it with curtains so you can't see what is inside.

Try to ignore the ugly storage room and keep walking and head towards the pool, the view is spectacular.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Had a coupon from Florida's hotel travel guide coupons for a room for $51.99 for $10 more you can get a bay view, beautiful, plus tax was $70.00! Super value with an incredible view! I did see a little water bug, but I killed it and didn't see another! Water pressure and the temperature kept changing as people were flushing and spreading, but nothing horrible. They offer fishing from their dock, boat rentals and more! The lady that checked me in was super nice and accommodating, the man in the morning was a jerk and lazy! They supposedly offer tea and coffee 24/7, but there was no coffee when I went to the office.. checked out a little unhappy.... the guy said he hasn't had time to make any, but when we were checking out, he was sitting watching tv.... told me he was busy and hang had time.... sure, whatever guy. Aside from him... stay was great, value excellent, service could have been a little better, overall.. great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eamai71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Please for the love of god PLEASE stay away from this dump! we called in advance, mind you never seen the place, and lady over the phone saied she couldnt take the travel saver coupon of $65 so it would be $80. Ok fine we will be there in 20 min, why they have the coupons i dont know travel saver should yank them out of there books but thats another story. Anyways when we get there there is a man behind a bullet proof glass telling us, as rude as he can be, that it will be $106 dollars so i told him we just called 20 min ago and was told it would be $80 and his responce was that was 20 min ago we should have gotten here faster! WHAT!!!!! GRRRRRRR! So it was late and we were tired so we forked out the money, bad mistake! He gives us a room and when we open the door it seemed like miami vice, the ols 80's tv show, had thrown up in there. It was very out dated and nasty! There were cigarette burns on almost everything, rust, dirt, dust, bugs, and the bathroom looked like a handicape's flee market! so i tried to turn on the ac and it did not work and staying on miami beach and no air conditioner is a very bad idea it gets very muggy and nasty so we go up to the front desk and talk to this nasty man who ends up giving us another room and finally......Yeah right it was just as bad as the last! I would have taken pictures but i coul not bear to stand in such filth any longer. Please people please stay away from this place. you can find gas station bathrooms cleaner then this motel.

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 2TravelingBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in February of 2012 and loved our stay, however we were very disappointed this time. Although the room was clean and location is excellent I can't recommend this place any longer.
The service was terrible. Employee at the front desk was incredibly rude. We were not allowed to use our coupon. Upon check out we took our luggage to the car. My husband was going to go back and double check the room. He was told if he didn't turn key in at that time we would be charged for another night. My husband turned in the key because replacing anything left behind was much cheaper.
I will never stay here again and since we are relocateing to the area will make sure no family or friends visiting do not stay here either! Do yourself a favor and keep driving. Don't even stop here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank phovdet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This motel is the cheapest in the area, so you can hardly be shocked that it isn't the nicest. The bed, furniture, linens etc are in desperate need of replacement but they're no better, no worse than the cheaper Interstate motels. If you're looking for luxury, don't go, but if you're on a budget and don't mind a few rough edges it's not so bad. The pool is nice, parking is free, the view is nice if you're on the bay side and it's relatively quiet. It's a short drive to South Beach and it's only $60. You get what you pay for and for that price it's a deal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moethechairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#128 of 212 in Miami Beach
484 reviews
Beach Place Hotel
#113 of 212 in Miami Beach
516 reviews
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#199 of 212 in Miami Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#93 of 212 in Miami Beach
114 reviews
Collins Hotel
#101 of 212 in Miami Beach
983 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Inn Underbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Inn Underbay

Address: 2301 Normandy Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4410 (Formerly International Inn on the Bay)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £29 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You won't find a more conveniently located hotel or motel anywhere in the area. International Inn offers the most amazing accommodations in Miami Beach, with the quality, service and amenities you expect at a price you can afford. We’re conveniently located near many of the area’s most popular restaurants and attractions, and Miami’s most beautiful beaches are just steps away. At International Inn, you can relax and unwind at our sun-kissed outdoor pool, or spend time in the game room. We offer complimentary docking on the Bay, parking and local calls are free, and we’re happy to provide airport shuttles for your convenience. Our fully-equipped rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet, with queen sized beds and cable TV with HBO. We have great weekly rates for guests here on an extended stay, and if you ever need any assistance, our friendly 24-hour front desk staff are always happy to help. For a great Florida getaway, enjoy your stay at International Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
International Inn On The Bay Hotel Miami Beach
International Hotel Miami Beach
International Inn Underbay Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing