We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not marvelous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #49 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, but not marvelous”
Reviewed 2 February 2005

Just come back after spending three nights at the Blue Moon Hotel. Nice hotel, clean but rooms tired looking and very cramped. Staff very helpful and friendly. Felt it was a littel expensive for what you got, however, I did appreciate the close proximity of sea and Ocean Drive.

Helpful?
8 Thank laughtonrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    626
    172
    101
    61
See reviews for
200
700
84
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2005

Just spent a night at the Blue Moon during a whirlwind through South FL. Just got one night but would have loved more. Friendly staff. Nice Breakfast in the morning, small but enjoyable little pool (the cushions on the chaise lounges need to be replaced soon.) The room was small but clean, well air conditioned, well appointed, with a fairly large bathroom. I will be returning again. I have stayed in some scary places in South Beach. It is nice to find a bright spot at a good price.

Helpful?
6 Thank Highclasslowrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2005

Pity the poor people who chose to stay on Ocean Drive. While it is where the action is, you don't want to stay there because it is crowds 24x7 and absolutely no parking, let alone a place to park for a few minutes and drop off all your stuff. Blue Moon is one block off, but you feel like you're right in the action, and not too far away so you're in the scary part of South Beach. We got the suite on the 2nd floor - be sure to ask for it. It used to be two rooms made into one so you've got two bathrooms and lots of closet space, plus a separate sitting area. Be sure and ask to stay in the main building.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnniversaryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 January 2005

If you are looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep close to the action of south beach with reasonable prices, this place is great. It is around the corner from the Clevelander and the beach. I have no complaints about the hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2005

Stayed here for two nights early January 2005. Never again!
The brochure looks good but this isn't Art Deco, this is tatty. The noise from the air-con, other rooms and alleyway made sleep impossible.
The small room features a bathroom with a glass door next to the toilet so only go with someone you wish to know better! As the toilet soon blocked along with others who were complaining at the front desk, you shouldn't be using the bathroom much anyway.
The room had a metal window frame that didn't close properly. As we were next to the darker side of South Beach life, the noise all night sounded like we were extras in a bad movie.
Unfortunately, this was not a movie, just a nightmare that the manager was not interested in, once he knew we had booked on Expedia.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Ream_T2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 January 2005

I stayed at the Blue Moon Hotel in November 2004. Part of the deal was the use of 2 Bath Robes (did I really want them??) which were not in the room on arrival. The staff didn't seem to care whether they were there or not, but guess what, after I left they decided to charge $100 to my credit card for them!! My e-mails were not returned and only after contacting my tour operator (who acted on my behalf) did I discover what the charge on my Credit Card was for. Reading other people's review comments - this seems to be a common practice by the Hotel.

The sad thing is that I had a good time and thought the hotel OK (even if the room was rather small). I won't be returning or recommending this hotel to anyone

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2005

Our stay at the Blue Moon was first class. Fantastic location, friendly staff and there was even a pool (which many of the middle priced hotels lack). Our room was very comfortable and we spent a great night drinking cocktails in the bar.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roseymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,703 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
Dream South Beach
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,237 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 944 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5010
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection is ideally located on Collins Avenue, combining two historic hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool or on the sky-lit patio with breathtaking views of South Beach. Enjoy our fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing