We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best atmosphere ever!”
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #76 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location, great atmosphere, excellent room service and beds!!!! This hotel helped us to have a dream holiday!!!! Don't miss it!!!! The restaurant has everything you need, including a veggie menu. The rooms and the hotel in general are very clean. The best of this pearl in the value between quality and price. It wil me my choice next time I come back to FL. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuciM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

What a heartwarming review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We are so happy to know you enjoyed our location and accommodations. We always like hearing from our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had a marvelous stay in Miami at the Penguin Hotel. It has a winning combination of location, price, amenities and service... It's a great place to come back to and relax after a long day of meetings, must recommend the hotel's new beds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

What a great review! Thanks for taking to share your thoughts with others here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and the service during your stay with us. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hidden gem may not be a five star hotel but it has amazing staff, at both hotel and restaurant, and it has a very cozy atmosphere to it. The location is unbeatable and to our surprise they have just upgraded their beds and wow! what a pleasant surprise this was! This must be one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Another good point is that this hotel is located almost at the end of Ocean drive, therefore not as loud and crowded as the rest of the strip. We really enjoy our time at the Penguin hotel. We'll probably be back in December for our anniversary. Front desk clerk told us they have a Repeat Guest discount so I will most definitely take advantage of that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

It's always nice to hear praise for the staff! I'll pass along the thought. We're all happy to know you enjoyed the convenient location and the comfortable beds. Come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent trip thanks to the Penguin hotel. The accommodations were very nice and the ambiance just perfect, step out of the hotel and right on the strip! Amazing views will absolutely be going back and recommending to my friends. Service was great!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, PLUS took the time to share your thoughts with others here on TripAdvisor. Thank you! We're happy to hear that the views were amazing and the service was great. Come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My logic was, 'perfect location on Ocean Drive, on the water....how bad can it be?" It's miserable. They tried to upgrade the rooms, but as cheap as possible and failed miserably. They actually use beds with rolling feet and spring base. The night stand is a clear-yellow acrylic box they could not have spent more than $3.99 from IKEA on. Broken floor tiles that had corners missing, and the tub?!! If you stepped in it it creaked so loud I was certain it could be heard three floors below in the lobby. And the rooms were the nicest part of the hotel. The rest of it has been painted over so many times you couldn't tell the cast-in-place penguins from a bear. This place is too far gone to renovate, it needs to be torn down.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks for your thoughts – it’s definitely true that our location is ideal. We are in the process of replacing all the beds and will be replacing other room furniture as well such as the acrylic night stands you mentioned. We just finished a full exterior repair and paint job as part of our month-long project. We hope that you’ll give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I thought the breakfast here was very good. I had the American style, two eggs, bacon and toast, along with great jelly and butter, and good coffee! The price was very good and the Penguin is right on Ocean Drive. The location was far enough down the strip that the dining experience was very pleasant. I would not hesitate to go there again and hope to go back if I am ever in South Beach again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MavisJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're so glad to hear you like where we are and the breakfast. We hear that a lot and never tire of it. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Was in South Beach last Febuary and ate and drink at this place and loved it!!!! Spoke to the desk and got info on the rooms, and booked it for 9/15/2013 for 4 days. Wonderful service in hotel dining and bar!!! loved the Penguin Drink. I was on beach side with a nice view, very clean for an older hotel. When I wanted to book a day trip to Key West I met Florencia at the desk who was so sweet and helpful...and was helpful for the whole stay. So for the money...this is place to stay will be back after New Year!!

Room Tip: get beach side!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 635Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice time with us. We will certainly pass along your kind words to Florencia, as well as the rest of the staff, especially those at The Purple Penguin Café. We are happy that you enjoyed the view from your guestroom and that our housekeeping staff did a good job of cleaning your room. It is so nice of you to take the time to share your experience with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#95 of 212 in Miami Beach
798 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#181 of 212 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#77 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,578 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
The Kent Hotel
#98 of 212 in Miami Beach
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £92 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing