We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good for SoBe..”
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #81 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Room was clean & breakfast served across alley at The President Hotel. Beds just ok for sleeping but extremely noisy(Rm 317). The staff friendly & entertaining. Ice machine at President Hotel. They ran out of fruit at breakfast on Saturday...bummer! Hotel at the quieter end of Ocean Drive but if you're staying closer to alley side..bring earplugs..trash truck comes early am. Would stay there again in a pinch but prefer a hotel with rooftop deck. Be advised that most hotels in SoBe charge a resort fee. Check to see how much that is. The Penguin was @$20/per day(for 2) which included continental breakfast & as many towels as you liked for the beach. Right across from Lummus Park & the Miami Ride/Share Bicycles are 1/2 block north in front of the Starbucks & Haagen Das. Nice path to walk on or bike on across the street.

Room Tip: Seemed they were redoing the 2nd Floor. Ask for updated mattresses..if available! Ice machine at s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skj911op
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

We are glad that our cleanliness met your expectations. It is great to hear that you found our staff friendly and entertaining. We will pass on your kind words to them, we are sure it will make their day. We are sorry that outside noise disturbed your morning. We are always striving to improve our hotel, and your comments help us know what we need to focus on. We know that future guests will greatly appreciate your location tips, thank you. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

The location was very convenient, close to everything and there was always parking available right in front for me. We checked in and came to our room on the top floor. We asked for a double bed room when we first booked the reservation and we came to a one bed room. it was very spacious but we needed the extra bed. They sent us a cot, it was comfortable but still not what we wanted. We were charged $25 extra for the bed. we were told to check the next morning to see if there were any open double bed rooms available so we did. we were told no. But as I was headed back to the room I saw 2 rooms on my floor being cleaned out for another guest, so I went back down to check if i could take them and they said they had other priority and special guests that will check in later on. I thought that was not fair since I booked a double bed room and there were a few available which wasnt given to me in the end. The hallways seemed very outdated and a little scary but once inside the room it was more modern and beautiful. it had chandeliers and the whole wall was made of a mirror which i absolutely LOVED! the bathroom was nice too. The staff was very nice and I loved our waiter at the restaurant downstairs, what a sweetheart! YOu are also charged a $200 deposit when you check in so make sure you have that available!

Room Tip: ask for the front beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa_Duang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

We love our location, and we are glad that you enjoyed it as well. We are very sorry that you didn’t receive the room with double beds that you reserved. It is surprising to hear that you were then charged for a cot. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We welcome the opportunity to make things right. Our guests’ comments about our hallways have been taken into careful consideration, and we are currently renovating them. The transformation is exciting, and we are anxious to see the final results very soon! It is great to hear that you loved the décor in our rooms and bathrooms. We will be sure to pass on your praise to our staff. We know your kind words will make them very happy. We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at The Penguin Hotel for 2 nights. I want to thanks the Manager for having employees like Kenny a very young guy nice friendly humble and hard worker. Erez funniest jewish ever haha and Holly very friendly and such a sweet woman. Carmen and Aneesa were very professional and very helpful all the time. I would stay there the next time i visit Miami. The prices of the rooms were expensive but the experience of enjoying the beach, clubs and the service of the staff made me feel satisfied! Thank you guys for everything hope i see you guys soon. Appreciate your employees they are the reason i stayed at The Penguin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armando504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

: We are thrilled to hear that you think so highly of our staff, they really are great. We will be sure to pass on your praise to each one of them. We know your kind words will make them all very happy. We are glad that you felt our rates were worth our location and amazing staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights - great location (Not too close to hear Friday night activity) - friendly staff - good room facilities - good value for money.

Bed was very comfortable!

Included breakfast is at a hotel behind Penguin, not bad, but would have preferred to eat in Penguin table service restaurant ;-)

Would have no hesitation in recommending Penguin Hotel to any visitors in Miami Beach.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Frankmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Your review made us smile, thank you. We are thrilled that you loved our location. It is one of our best features, and it always makes us happy when our guests appreciate it. We are glad that our staff, breakfast and rates met your expectations. We recently replaced all our beds and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade. Your comments about the location of our breakfast will be taken into consideration. Thank you for recommending us. We can’t wait to see you again the next time you are in South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room was small but clean and well-equipped. Loved the mirror covering one whole wall. Also loved the dollar bills of various denominations painted on the ceiling of the hallway leading to the rooms. And it's very well located. Friendly receptionists. I would have ranked it higher except that we were charged a resort fee of $19 a day, even though we were told on checking in that the resort fee was just $19 for the whole stay. We were also charged a $10 late fee for staying an hour past the 11am check-out, which was surprising.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay as our guest. Our décor is fun and fresh and we love it when guests appreciate that, thank you. Our location is one of our favorite features, who could not love being on the beach! We are very sorry that you were disappointed with some of your costs. Your honest review helps us know what we need to improve to make our hotel even better. We will take your comments into careful consideration. We are glad that our receptionists were friendly, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Was there for Art Basel Miami Beach, a small Hotel at ocean drive very close to the beach. Nice, friendly staff and great service. BIG BIG BIG thanks to Carmen & Leo at the reception, you are great! Very central hotel and clean. Will come again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Leyla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. Art Basel is always wonderful and it is great that you were able to enjoy it. We are very happy that you found our hotel nice, clean and that our hotel staff was great. We will be sure to pass on your praise to Carmen and Leo. We know they will smile when they hear your kind words. We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel location was perfect. It's across the street from the beach in the heart of everything in South Beach. It's walking distance to the Clevelander and lots of great restaurants. Customer service was great. Even the brunch was really good. The hotel itself is old and a little run down, but the rooms were clean, bright, and comfortable - the bed was really comfortable too. It was such a good value for the money - I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We are thrilled that you loved our location, we couldn’t agree more! We are very happy that you found our staff great, and that you enjoyed your yummy brunch. We are always striving to improve and you honest opinion of our hotel itself helps us know what we need to work on. We’ve recently replaced all our beds and it is great to hear you appreciated them. We love that you found us a great value and that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again the next time you visit South Beach for some more night life fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#85 of 214 in Miami Beach
213 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#157 of 214 in Miami Beach
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,131 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#83 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £116 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing