We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location”
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #83 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“location location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We got in to early and the front desk told us she will help us get a room and we go ahead and have breakfast at their hotel, so before we got serve our breakfast the front desk told the waiter that she have a room for us, my partner got up and did all the info and stuff and get back to eat his breakfast, then after that we went to the room shower and relax and when out shopping. Have to tell this a very simple place but so close to everything it was clean and great service. Specially Carmen Guzman she was so awesome with us great service and clean rooms girl you rock .She offer to hold our luggage until the room was ready after a red eye flight we were tired location location so close to the beach

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herenio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are thrilled that you loved our location and that you felt so well taken care of! Your praise of our staff, especially Carmen, made our day! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to her. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    348
    235
    94
    143
See reviews for
155
468
98
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

+Check-in was fast simple and easy

-Hallway to room didn't smell great

+Room itself was a good size, overall clean, view of the ocean

-Mini-fridge was off when we got there, though i wouldn't say this was entirely their fault. The plug was just loose from the socket and just needed plugged all the way in.

-Turned a/c off for a second and it would not turn back on. Tv remote didn't work either. From the time i called the front desk to the time it was fixed was about 90 minutes. Whites on the tv were way blown out as well, but i just wanted to get on with the stay instead of having maintenance there for most of it. Tv was watchable, just not ideal.

-Could easily hear someone in the next room through the wall on their phone.

+Location was great, right down the road from every bar and right on the beach.

+We got 2 welcome drinks on arrival. ordered 2 Cuba Libre's (coke and rum). It was pretty good. Wasn't watered down or cheap.

-only 2 outlets on the entire room, 1 had the tv plugged in, the other was by the bed with the fridge plugged in.

+Overall stay was comfortable. Still cheaper than most hotels on the beach.

-They were charging $30 to valet park my car. Parked it myself in the parking garage down the road for $20.

Didn't have breakfast, so no opinions there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lochinvar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are very happy that you loved our location and the welcome drinks. We apologize for the maintenance and noise inconveniences you encountered. We are always striving to improve and your comments help us know what we need to focus on, thank you. We will take each of your suggestions into careful consideration. We hope to see you again the next time the beach calls to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed on our way to a cruise. Our room was on the first floor right next to the kitchen. Nice room but noisy until after midnight. Free continental breakfast did not look very good, we ended up dining at the Penguin instead of the offered freebie. Overall the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We hope you had a great cruise! We are very sorry for the noise from the kitchen and any inconvenience it caused you. It sounds like you enjoyed the Purple Penguin Café! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Carmen @ front desk was very personable & friendly! Went out of her way to accommodate me as I needed 2 beds as was traveling with another adult. She did some rearranging & came up with an a fabulous solution! Live in Ft. Myers, FL & go to South Beach 4-6 times a year and really appreciate Carmen's friendly welcoming personality. Room was clean, airy & bright. Welcome drinks were great & bartender very friendly. Complimentary breakfast was okay. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Dave. We’ll be sure to let Carmen know you appreciated her help and thanks so much for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor. Friendly and welcoming is always the goal and it’s awesome to hear we achieved that. Please come stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongIsland, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Located in the heart of the busy Art Deco district, as expected, this old building has small rooms, small bathrooms, and narrow hallways. We had two 3rd floor Ocean-view rooms, one with a corner view. Both rooms were updated with great beach and Ocean Drive views.

The staff is very nice, helpful, and friendly. Have a long lunch on the patio and get to know everyone, it's part of this hotel's charm (and the food is very good.) While you're there, order the unlimited Bellini's (Champagne w/ peach puree) and people watch! Great location for that!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to corner ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvclita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Cheers to you, BeachingItAgain! Thanks for the helpful tips and the kudos to our staff. We’re so glad you liked our updates. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The front desk personnel were all very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean and an awesome value for its perfect location. Nothing fancy, but I had a good stay here. I didn't even get to take advantage of the freebies-wifi,breakfast, welcome drinks, but I have a feeling I'll stay here again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachyKeen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It is always fantastic to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us! We can’t wait to see you again when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This is by for the best location in South Beach! It is worth it to stay here. This place is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean.

Just a wonderful staff, excellent rooms, and walking distance to all major attractions. Just be warned that parking is a bit tricky, as it is anywhere in South Beach.

I truly look forward to my return!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed our location; we love it here! For your next visit; we do offer valet parking if you’re interested. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Cavalier South Beach
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#162 of 208 in Miami Beach
13 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Property: Penguin Hotel
Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing