We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penguin Soth Beach - Good Location”
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Ranked #77 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Penguin Hotel at the end of April. The hotel is right in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Upon checkin you are required to leave a deposit even though our room was paid in full and on check-out an additional $19 a day is charged as a resort fee (This was noted when we booked but not sure what we got for that $19). The room was comforatble but is in need of an major update. The hallway to the room was like something out of a horror movie. The front desk staff were great, especially "Florencia" (I hope I got that correct). Housekeeping is problem. I think they have only one housekeeper so if your room in not cleaned when you return from the beach it goes uncleaned for that day. We came back at 4 pm for a rest after spending the day at the beach and our room was still not cleaned. Since we wanted to rest for an hour or so our room was not serviced. Breakfast is provided but you have to walk around the block to another hotel and if you want hot food you have to pay for it. coffee, juice, bread/toast, cheese, pastry, orange slices, cereal and yogurt are complimentary. Lunch and dinner are available at the hotel's restaurant and a small discount is given but the service at the restaurant in the evening was very unfriendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aafranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Our fun location always keeps us smiling; we’re thrilled you enjoyed it! Thank you for your praise of Florencia, yes- you remembered her name correctly! We will pass your compliments onto her; we know it will make her day. We are sorry to hear that you were under impressed with your room and breakfast. We also apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to your room not being cleaned. We are always striving to improve, and your feedback is invaluable to our reaching that goal, thank you. For future reference, our resort fee can be found directly under the nightly rate on all online travel agents and includes; 2 bottled waters each day, breakfast for 2, Wi-Fi, welcome drinks, a discount at The Purple Penguin Café, in room safe and local phone calls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

My cousin n I came to Miami beach to enjoy the nite life n we decided to stay at this hotel n it was the best chances we made.. The hotel is right in front the ocean n on strip that ppl talk about.. We walked up n down n u have everything u need clubs, restaurants, lounges,bars, dancing, music n ocean..
The front desk clerk I think her name was Carmen was awesome.. She answered all our questions n gave us a little more info about the hotel n wht they can help us n service us.. Also the rooms r great.. Yes they r a little small but it's big enough to relax n enjoy ur sleep
on ur vacation.. Also the employees r helpful.. I would differently stay again at this hotel..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45swlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for the awesome review! Your praise of Carmen is greatly appreciated. We will be sure to pass your complements along; we know it will make her day. It sounds like you and your cousin had a great beach vacation, and we can’t wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend flew down from Boston for a getaway on sunny Miami Beach. Over all we had a blast. We chose a great hotel friendly staff and clean which is my pet peeve. Upon checking in it out front desk agent Carmen made our check in a breeze she was friendly very nice and quick after a long trip who wants a fussy check in that to me was a plus! Over all I would definitely return for some more fun and the sun. Thanks to the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsMelyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

It’s great to hear that you and your boyfriend had a great stay with us! Carmen is fantastic; we fully agree! We will be sure to pass your praise along to her; we know it will make her smile. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Ultra Chic boutique style rooms, great amenities two free drinks upon check in. Dan at the front desk is a helpful guide to your Sobe vacation. good food cool murals in the rooms with a dominate white color scheme. Steps away from my favorite beach. The American Riviera.

Room Tip: Worlds largest salt water swimming pool just steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyRadical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

You’ve made our day, thank you! We are very happy that you loved your stay with us, and that you appreciated our fun décor. We hope to see you again when you next want to enjoy the South Beach fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Comparing to other hotels in Ocean Drive this hotel is cheap. Right when we got there they offer free drinks. We stayed for 3 nights so we had to pay an extra $150 for accidental but got refund 3 days after check out. Staff is really friendly. They offer free beach towels and since our flight didn't leave until 5pm and check out was at 11am they take care of your luggage while you go to the beach or shopping. The free breakfast is only cheese, milk, yogurt, cereal, and toast at the President Hotel. We decided to have breakfast at the Penguin. We did get 50% off breakfast but that does not included drinks. Rooms are a bit damage but not horribly, Wifi is okay. Our room was on the first floor which I kind of regret since you can hear everything going on the streets and on the top floor. The hotel is right in front of the beach and walking distance from the mall. Overall our stay was great!!

Room Tip: Don't get the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airany92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It sounds like you had a fun beach vacation; we’re thrilled to have been a part of it! We are very happy that our location, cleanliness and fantastic staff all lived up to your expectations. We are sorry for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from outside the hotel and from other guests. We will take all your comments into careful consideration as we strive to always improve. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As common things for most of the "3 stars" Hotel in South Beach, this is a MOTEL which has been slightly embellished whit a creepy cheap taste. I 've spend $100 a night but I could have stayed at a much better quality place for that amount. Not considering also the extra $30 a night for parking (impossible otherwise).
They give you free breakfast but is really nothing to eat.
WIFI is ok unless you need to download file.
I waited 35minutes!! To get my car.
The room show wear and tear as the cheapest Motel.
Cleaning lady did my room ...but not the bath tub????
I've slept in Motel which compare are fantastic....and much cheaper!!!

Room Tip: choose an Hotel away from south beach, you will pay much less and you can always visit south beach w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pottone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We’re very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at our hotel. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to hearing from you and for the opportunity to make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff is really excellent and make you feel at home. It was the first time for us to stay in miami but thanks to the warm welcome of florencia and to her precious suggestions our staying has been fantastic

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giadacopersito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and a great visit to Miami. Your praise of our amazing staff is appreciated. We will be sure to pass your compliments on; we know it will make everyone smile. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach and enjoy some more fun in the sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 212 in Miami Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £79 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing