We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Ocean Reef”
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #129 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at the Ocean Reef”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at the Ocean Reef Suites Hotel in Miami Beach for one night. The location is great, bear the beach, shopping area, restaurants and bars. The lobby of the hotel promises a far better experience than the roomi had, a studio, which had worn out carpets, broken tiles, stains on the furniture and had hairs on the bed linen and on the shower walls. With a little cleaningup, this could be a better experience and worth the cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulpje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we wish you can stay longer with us next time you are around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    262
    149
    49
    42
See reviews for
193
225
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

No ice machine...? Where am I, the Gobi desert???

I read a review of this place prior to going on the trip... "no hot water".... and I figured they HAD to have that fixed by now. Guess what... they hadn't.

There was hot water, actually, but you needed a very fine, surgical touch on the cold water tap in order to turn it on just a little teeny, tiny bit, so as not to end up with COLD WATER! Looks like a problem with not enough water pressure on the HOT side, so the cold always "wins" when it meets the water-saver in the shower head.

The end result was a very weak, temperature-mental shower... I could be more graphic, but then you wouldn't see this review, I bet...

Staff was nice, but obviously clueless, since they didn't warn us about the shower techinicalities - you'd think they'd be all over that, given the # of unhappy campers they must have hosted.

Room Tip: book one somewhere else. You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Perth,

We are sorry to read that we did not reach your expectations, we hope you give us the opportunity to work with you again, we will made amends to change the opinion you have from your first experience with us. Plus, return guest get 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a great place to stay at in south beach. I have stayed at 3 other hotels in south beach and honestly speaking this is the best one. The room was clean and the staff had excellent customer service. The pictures you see online are exactly what you see at the hotel. The hotel location is close to everything and just a short walk to the beach (and they provide beach towels). I found my new favorite spot in south beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Shakira,

We are delightful with your comments about our hotel and customer service, guest like you make us work beyond our limits towards a complete customer satisfaction. We wish you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

great service, comfortable beds, clean rooms, kitchenette, mini fridge, no crazy additional charges, great location, 1 block from mansion nightclub, 1 block from the beach. great prices. only complaint was a little noisy due to construction, but that is not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: suites were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISBELLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for you wonderful review! We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I first stayed at this hotel last year and was very happy so booked it again this year. After a day full of hectic meetings, I need time and peace to relax and at the same time I don't want to be far away from the night life and attractions the city has to offer. This hotel fits the bill perfectly. Its one block away from the beach and all the famous and lively bars, clubs and restaurants on the road next to the beach. Being a block away makes it peaceful and at the same time near everything i want. There are more than 3 public parking facilities within a 5 minute walk. Hotel and rooms are clean and good. Every room is a suite with a kitchenette, microwave etc. The only negative for me was the lack of a restaurant to serve Breakfast. I have been staying there for the last 2 years and plan to do so again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat_BVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Rajat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, for us, customer satisfaction is our goal, and we work hard as a team to reach it. We certainly loved having you here and hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The location is perfect if you are looking for hotels in Miami South Beach.

The rooms are decent for the price with all the facilities. But, the bathrooms need some renovation.

Might stay here again if i do not get anything better.

Room Tip: parking is always a pain in this area. so check for some street parking before you park at one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirankls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We appreciate your review. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenduine, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Ok, the location is a plus, agreed, that's the only reason we rate 'average'.

Nothing else? Yeah, sure:
* worn out ikea-furniture
* one day very clean, the other day...omg...
* nightly fights with police running down the hallway for a few hours
* never again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickster-be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We looked into your comment about the police but we did not have any incidents reported, furthermore, we have never had the police running inside the hotel' hallways during the day or at midnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Kent Hotel
#118 of 208 in Miami Beach
854 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
440 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#82 of 208 in Miami Beach
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 208 in Miami Beach
591 reviews
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#168 of 208 in Miami Beach
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Suites Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing