We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economical, clean & in perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viscay Hotel
Ranked #130 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Economical, clean & in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Like many other travelers, I was simply in need of a decent, clean place to crash which was centrally located and cheap. Viscay is that and not much more. Very polite and helpfull staff and the rooms are small but clean. The Clevelander is a block away and there is a bike & scooter rental around the corner which the hotel will give you a discount on if you ask. Beach chair & towels are free and they are always willing to provide you with information on local places to shop & eat.

For this price, don't expect any special services. I enjoyed my stay here and will use them again in the future.

Room Tip: If you aren't satisfied w/ your room, simply ask them to move you. Be patient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    113
    45
    15
    6
See reviews for
31
122
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

First of all, location is great just a block from Ocean Drive and short walk to all the fun places and the beach. However, this place is in great need of renovation and better staff. We had a room on the first floor and, as soon as we entered, we noticed the noisy AC unit, the old and not so clean bathroom, the very weak lock on the door. The only thing purchased for this room after 1980 has to be the TV. One day we left to go to the beach and when we came back at around 7 pm, the cleaning maid had left our room door wide open, fortunately we were the last room on the corridor and we didn’t lose any of our belonging but this is unacceptable and when we mentioned it to the front desk clerk, he didn’t even offer an apology. There are many other hotels in this area that we will try any other place before we come back to this one. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Book on Collins Avenue (between 700 and 1100) if you want to stay close to the action but also be ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yurubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stood in the suite room. It was large, clean had a seating area and a kitchenette. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It is in a busy area of Collins avenue and we were located on the second floor so there was a lot of outside noise.
The hotel provided beach towels and chair s for our use during our stay. The front desk was helpful. Hey have a computer you can use gratis in the lobby. I would definitely stay again if I return to South Beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Good, decent, and it did its job. The staff was friendly. Small issue with cleanliness, which they immediately fixed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fati_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Clean room, great service, reasonable price and a block from the beach and Ocean Drive. I loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deacon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hotel is in a great location if you are looking for close to Ocean Drive and South Beach but not at Ocean Drive prices. It is 5 mins from the beach, and very close to the entertaining Clevelander Hotel if you want nightlife. However, this is far enough from the noise to be a really very quiet hotel.

The rooms are huge and very clean. It is not a luxury hotel but doesn't pretend to be. However it is well equipped, free wifi, large flat screen tv, small but very useful kitchen area and a wonderful large comfortable bed.

Staff are helpful and responsive to any requests which were dealt with very promptly.

The fridge is restocked with fresh orange juice, crackers, cheese and muffins daily and also fresh coffee is provided as standard. Tea lovers - you need to bring or buy your own.

There are plenty nearby stores to purchase food basics to keep you going and to keep costs down as Miami prices are high.

For a place to crash out after a busy day of sightseeing or just lazing on the beach - this is ideal. You pay for what you get and it is great value for money for those on a tighter budget.

Room Tip: Avoid Collins Ave view for quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katheross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steubenville, Ohio, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Did not like this hotel at all. We stayed here for our honeymoom based on the location. The hotel is not handicapped friendly at all and they put us on the second floor based on our stay being lengthy (4 days). They lock the front door after 10:30 PM so you have to have an additional key to access the building at night. The one positive thing that I can say is that it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinleighperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#51 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#97 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Property: Viscay Hotel
Address: 960 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing