We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viscay Hotel
Ranked #131 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is small hotel right in the middle of everything. Ocean drive and so the beach is 3 minutes walk away. So the location is perfect. The decoration, furniture in the rooms are very old. This could have disappoint some people. But clean room is more important than anything and I could say that the housekeeping staff does the job perfect. the sheets, towels smell fresh. For this price category, i don't think there is another hotel in south beach with the same standards. The front desk was helpful. The parking is a problem in miami. The hotel provided us parking permit but valet parking worth extra 10 usd per day. Especially, for people outside of USA should consider valet parking. We are not familiar with rules and signs so one night ended with a disturbing story. Our car was towed away and we had to run after it in the middle of the night. Moreover, that cost us USD 300. Again, I would like to thank to Viscay hotel. Even the hotel closes the reception at 10.30 Pm, somebody came to help us to find our rental car. We really appreciate their help.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom suite, room 15, it was quite. The fridge makes an incredible sound so ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Booked nine months in advance for yearly tri in south beach. Great location, block from beach , very roomy suite, and continental breakfast included. Only problem is very noisy . Kids slept, but definitely sleep deprived. If you not need to sleep perfect location,but it is south beach and bars close at 4-5 am..

We will return as Very clean, newer rooms and spacious for family of four.closet even walk in!
Only aspect I would add would be tissues, none in room and paper towels or something in kitchen. Very minimal utensils ; two plates, not matching,spoons, fork. Refrigerator good size, sink and microwave. No ice machine either.

Room Tip: Not facing Collins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin34986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel room was very spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. The bed was really comfortable and bathroom was clean. It's very very close to Ocean Drive but you don't hear any noice from night clubs. There's free croissants, toasts and danish pastry in the lobby every morning..they didnt tell us about it but we knew from the reviews on trip advisor. The staff were helpful and polite, they arranged for us car rental from a nearby office which was very smooth and I had no issues after using my credit card with them (70$ per day incluidng insurance). Would be my number one choice if I come to SoBe again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipa_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I chose the Viscay based on reviews on Tripadvisor and other sites. I compared hotels in this price range, and the Viscay definitely did not disappoint!
All of the Hotel, the lobby, stairs, hallways, the room, the bathroom, were spotless. The beds were very comfortable, and the large screen TV worked very well. There was a small kitchenette area with fridge, microwave, dishes and utensels.
The hotel was conveinetly located on Collins Ave, (at 10th) close to a great area of the beach, and right in the middle of shopping, restaurants, and Lincoln Road.
The hotel staff were very friendly, and when we first arrived, they immediately arranged valet parking for our car. This helped a lot considering the traffic on Collins Ave. (The charge of $30 was very reasonable, because $30 is what the parking garages get, without the valet service.)
Later, they offered their expertise on area dining options.
The complementary breakfast in the morning was refreshing, and offered a variety of breads and juice, along with coffee.
I was very satisfied with the Viscay, and on our next trip to Miami, we will be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djpatruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at the Viscay during the SoBe food and wine festival, the location could not have been better. The Viscay is clean, the rooms are large for a boutique hotel and the cost is below all of the other hotels in this area. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, the valet service $30.00 per day work great for this busy weekend. The Viscay does provide beach chairs and towels for the beach. The room was very clean and surprisingly quite being that close to Ocean Drive. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in SoBe.

Room Tip: ask for a superior room on the second floor in the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnyirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great value hotel large rooms although bathroom a bit small but everything in room you could want fridge microwave coffee maker with lots of coffee. Liked the walkin wardrobe. Great location near to beach and restaurants. We used the garage across the road to park the car which we found expensive as we left car there for the 3 days we stayed there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaydockNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I did a lot of research for a hotel in Miami and found that a lot of the hotels were very expensive. I spent 2 nights in Miami and decided on Viscay. Hotel is in a central location, within walking distance of South beach and a few blocks from the main shopping streets of Lincoln Road.

Rooms were large and spacious, very clean. Hotel is quite basic which is fine for a few nights in Miami. The hotel offered a basic complimentary breakfast toast, pastries, coffee and orange juice. A nice added benefit.

The negatives of this hotel is that there is no lifts so if you are travelling with heavy luggage be prepared to carry these up 2 flights of stairs. Our room was facing the back of the hotel, therefore not on the Main Street. I found it really noisy at night. People talking, loud music from cars and rubbish collectors early in the morning.

I did read previous reviews about the noise but decided to go ahead with this hotel. I found the noise at night to be the biggest problem with this hotel but it was fine for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a too on the main road, not the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
4.8 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#100 of 212 in Miami Beach
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#95 of 212 in Miami Beach
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Julia Hotel
The Julia Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#101 of 212 in Miami Beach
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#82 of 212 in Miami Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Address: 960 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £85 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing